We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The effect, sublime like a pearl.”
Review of Foresteria Levi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Foresteria Levi
Ranked #90 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed at 5 different properties on our recent trip to Italy, all were excellent, but Foresteria Fondazione Levi was the most perfect of all as it is "right there" in the middle of "what" we were visiting. And it is "hidden away, " although in the center of the city! Protected, secured, private, and our room--quiet, quiet, elegant, "removed" from Venice's bustle (realize, 150,000 tourists per day now--see the gigantic tourist ships).
Of course, we knew, with Venice, that we would have to garage our rental car. In other cities,
"what to do with the car" did affect the accomodations we chose.
We chose a safe garage, and left our luggage in it. We carried only a few hand-bags into Venice (so think carefully about this, even check your luggage at the station. It is not easy negotiating weighty luggage).
We had requested a quiet room, and were given one. A spacious refuge. Lovely bathroom, too. Excellent bath towels and linens, changed each day!
The location is excellent. Pay careful attention to the directions. Go to Accademia vaporetto stop. Go over the Accademia bridge. Choose the 2nd bridge on the left (1st is chained off, and is private) and keep going straight and the door is right ahead of you. At night it can be darkened, just ring the bell, it is opened, and you are in a courtyard. 24 hour desk.
Free WiFi. They'll watch over your luggage after you check-out and want one last look at Venice.

Room Tip: We did request a quiet room. Our room number was 28, and I would request it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sprattmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

Exellent location tucked away near the Accademia Bridge, nice and quiet. The staff were very nice, the room was basic but suited to our budget.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Fondazione Levi has some limitations, but the benefits outweigh the downsides. First, it is about as close as you can get to the Accademia Bridge without actually sleeping under it - perhaps 50 meters. We found it in the dark with no problem. A vaporetto stop is just across the bridge, and for those so inclined, there is a taxi stop at the hotel. It is also about 5-60 meters from San Stefano Campo. The former church there has Vivaldi concerts almost every night. A short 10 minute walk takes you to La Fenice [we listened to a wonderful concert of Mozart there], and a few short minutes more and you're in San Marco Piazza.
The staff [in particular Jenny and Giorgio] were very helpful and quickly responsive to our requests, with none of the issues mentioned in other reviews. Breakfast, well, it is enough to get you going in the morning, but nothing special. Coffee, cereal, some nice dark bread and cheese, but no big spread.
Our room was about as large as any we've had on our trips to Italy - plenty of space that could be more efficiently utilized. A table/desk in the room had no light on it - in fact lighting in the room was a problem. The garish chandelier could be replaced with something that would provide more light.
It wasn't hot when we were there, but not having air conditioning could present a problem with bugs since you need to leave the windows open for some air.
Ah, the shower; it was about as small as any I've ever fit into. Anyone taler than about 6'2" and/or 210 pounds would have some trouble with it. As it is, there is enough room on both sides of it to enlarge it about 4 inches which would provide a more pleasing experience. Apart from the shower the bathroom was more than adequate.
Expensive? Sure, but it is Venice, the location is great, with the Accademia and Peggy Guggenheim museums just across the bridge, and access to all of Venice with the Vaporetto. It is also very quiet. Want something less expensive? Try Venice California, but don't look for San Marco or the Doge's Palace.

Room Tip: We were in room 26 which looks out on a small courtyard and is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank efband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The Foresteria is wonderfully located in a historical palace near the Accademia bridge , but is a bit shut off from the surrounding views The style is that of a dorm or youth hostel . The rooms have no air conditioned , no safe , no minibar , a narrow shower and we had to protest to get a telephone . Yet the rooms are pleasant , sober , clean and the personnel is friendly . On the whole, the Foresteria is nice but expensive for what it offers .

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParisProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

I stayed there for 3 days with my parents and had a great experience. The location was perfect, a few steps from academia bridge and walking distance from piaza San Marco, restaurants and stores. The service was excellent, they were always available to give us information and help us with our needs. On the last day we had to leave very early to catch the train and they prepared a bag with a few breakfast items for us to take on the go. Room was very comfortable and clean. Since the weather was still cold in the beginning of April, we didn't open the windows and had no issues with the bugs as mentioned by other reviews, but I must say the room got a little warm, which may be a problem in the summer. It may be a little difficult to find, but from the Academia waterbus stop, just cross the bridge, then cross the little bridge on the left called Giustinian and walk all the way to the end of the street. The hotel is that building in front of you.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolina-SP-Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

This was a last minute call to get a room, as our trip to Venice was unplanned. So part of me was happy to have anything. We only stayed one night, arriving very late and leaving early in the morning. It is near the Accademia Bridge but most ppl like to hang out near the Rialto. The hotel is very close once you get off the vaporetto. We arrived quite late, close to midnight and after crossing over the bridge and wandering quite a bit, we found a pizza place. So finding late night food might be tough. The place is really quiet and is next to the school of music so you can hear some ppl practicing the piano but it's lovely. The room is kind of dated and dark. But everything was clean. There were two of us but they only had a quad, but charged us the double rate, 105 Euros. There is continental breakfast in the morning. You must leave your key whenever you leave but someone is at the "front desk" all the time, and speaks English well.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CollectingMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

My family (middle aged professional couple and 2 boys aged 11 and 8) spent three nights in Venice at this hotel 24 25 26 July 2008. We had read about the place in Rick Steeves as a budget but clean place to spend time in Venice. As we were on an extended tour of Italy (six weeks) we had been staying in residences and agritourismi across the country, so we were looking forward to a bit of respite from do-it-yourselfing, by spending three nights in a hotel.
We were disappointed. But let's start with the good things.
The location is great. It's across the bridge from the ACTV Venice city water bus stop (Accademia) and easy walking distance (2 minutes) from the stop. Carrying a couple of heavy suitcases means this was a benefit. You can drag wheeled ones up to and down from the bridge and right into the hotel.
Surroundings are good. The hotel is just off a picturesque square around a beautiful church from several restaurants, shops, an internet cafe (!) and a newspaper stand, as well as bancomats (ATMs). At the Church they put on Vivaldi concerts every night. So location is good, and you can walk to St Mark's Square and the other attractions without having to cross back over the canal.
The breakfast they offer is very good with ample cereal, breads, rolls, juices, and the best cappuccino in the country (really!) Befriend the Cameroonian waitress. She speaks English. They also have low fat yogurts and whole grain breads as well as the usual assortment of store bought cornetti.
The palazzo which the Fondazione is in has an interesting internal cortile courtyard, and interesting offices for art exhibits and is involved somehow with the Biennale. We didn't have time to investigate further. There is also a free giveaway daily newspaper stand there. It has an exit onto the Grande Canale all its own, although you need a boat of your own!.
The night manager Franco is friendly, has a gravelly almost bad-guy movie star voice, and smokes while he watches t..v. in the breakfast room. He likes kids.
Yes you have to pay in cash for the room, but they make that clear when you book and send you repeated warnings about this before you come so we were prepared.
The bad thing is, the palazzo rooms have no screens, so the rooms get full of mosquitos and the 2 small VAPE liquid bug killers that they provide you to plug in (two storey room) are useless.
The two fans they gave us also did not have much strength, and so needless to say, we had to keep the room windows open at night, as we were suffocating. There was no air coming in.
Keep the windows closed during the day and the shutters drawn in order to keep the bugs out when you are away. But the whole place gets invaded when you return to your hotel at night.
Also, one of the windows in the room (the upper floor where the 2 other beds were) opens onto the roof, and we were afraid the pigeons were going to fly right into our room.
Also, the hallways of the hotel have peeling paint, and the whole room smells of wood. We were on the top floor, right under the wooden roof, and perhaps this was part of the problem (heat rises) but I didn't sleep the whole first night, and spent most of the night and the subsequent two nights covering up my kids with sheets so they wouldn't get bitten alive. We all were covered in mosquito bites and couldn't wait to get out of there in the morning.
The next hotel we stayed in, in Trieste, had a scorpion in the room but at least they had screens so we could keep the windows open at night and breathe.
Moral of the story: in Venice, in the summer, either save money and use bug spray. Or spend the extra money and stay in an airconditioned hotel or at least one with screens.
We paid 140 euros per night for a quadruple room, which was what attracted me in the first place, because Venice is so expensive. But the hotel made me long to leave Venice as quickly as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Italymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Ca' Pagan
Ca' Pagan
#130 of 385 in Venice
551 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#137 of 385 in Venice
626 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#73 of 385 in Venice
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#36 of 385 in Venice
1,607 reviews
Castello
Relais Venezia
Relais Venezia
#101 of 385 in Venice
529 reviews
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#47 of 385 in Venice
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foresteria Levi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foresteria Levi

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2893 - 2894, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: £51 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Foresteria Levi 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Foresteria Levi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foresteria Fondazione Levi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing