We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”
Review of Residenza Castello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residenza Castello
Ranked #367 of 468 Venice B&B and Inns
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Very good location, much space, big rooms, good kitchen. We stayed in Dandolo appartment, with terrace. Good value for money. A lot of space!There is supermarket nearby so you can cook if you are travelling with kids.
Take something against mosquitos and beware of stairs.
The owner Vanny met us at the vaporetto station and it was a good idea, because it's easy to get lost in Venice. He was very helpful and friendly. :)
DO NOT go to the restaurant next door on the left hand (if to stand back to the residence door). They take 20 euro only for service and bring champinions instead of porcini mushrooms.....

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOTFLYINGCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    8
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We stayed two nights in Venice. Our room was nice (although we had more of an apartment!). It was very quiet and the bed was comfortable. The staff even met us at the water taxi drop off and showed us to the hotel (which was great since it was like a maze to find it!).

Given that venice is so expensive, I'm not surprised what we got. But for the price it did seem a little steep.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jholstea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

We stayed at the Residenza Castello 5280 at the end of Aug 2009 for a week. It is an absolute gem of a hotel. The apartment we had was the Michiel, which we were told was the largest. It was certainly quite large, with all the amenities, particularly great air conditioning. The Dandolo apartment has a balcony which would have been nice, as the view from the Michiel is quite limited (looking out on the building 2 metres away, it is Venice after all). The few interactions we had with the staff were very positive, and the hotel's central location was perfect for our interests. There is a good grocery store about 100 metres from the hotel on Salizada San Lio, so picking up wine, bread, cheese and fruit was quite easy, and the apartment's fridge and stove meant we weren't at the mercy of Venice's expensive restaurants all the time.
The one problem we had with the hotel was finding it! Neither the hotel's web site nor Google maps actually shows the proper location of the hotel. Fortunately, Venetian buildings are all numbered (5280 is the building number of the Resideza Castello) so after some trial and error we actually located it. Its current mapped location on Trip Advisor (using Bing) is close, but it is still a little off. Using Bing directly shows you the actual location. I've included the mapped location in the attached picture.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We had a great time at these apartments. They are very good value, especially for larger groups (7 of us). The location is perfect - just a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square. The staff were very friendly and particularly helpful in organising our transfer from the airport. They also left some champagne for us after they spotted the birthday cards so knew we were celebrating! The apartments themselves were spacious and comfortable. The only thing missing was breakfast... but there is a local supermarket, and having the kitchen facilities made all the difference. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Citybreaker83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark, Europe
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2008

My wife and I stayed there for 3 nights and really had a good time there.

Nice and clean rooms - with a nice bathroom.

We just missed the possibility to open the window and overlook the street - our window faced a small courtyard with a lot of pigeons.
Wells but isn`t that what to expect in Venice !

Next time we will ask for a room on the top floor.

The manager was extremely freindly and helpful.

On our day of departure we walked around for a few hours and he arranged with a water taxi to pick us up just in time to get to the airport.

We will definitely return another time.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ron-DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2007

I arrived at the Residenza Castello quite by accident, but what a happy accident! The owner of the Residenza rescued me on a Friday night in Venice in high season when I discovered to my dismay at the last minute that I did not have a room in another bed and breakfast nearby due to a miscommunication about the reservation. What could have been a tragedy turned out to be the highlight of my trip! The apartment where my husband and I stayed at the Residenza Castello was beautifully appointed and unbelievably large. In fact, the apartment was so huge that I invited friends who were in Venice at the same time to come over for a visit to share a glass of prosecco with us before we went off for dinner. We sat around on the comfortable sofa and chairs and toasted to our good fortune as we listened to the church bells of Venice. The suite also had a fully equipped kitchen, where we chose to have our breakfast both days. I would not hesitate to recommend this place.

  • Liked — Beautiful furnishings, huge space, fully equipped kitchen
  • Disliked — Lots of steps to climb to get to our room, so you must be able to climb stairs
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zelda581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2007

I stayed at this location for 4 nights in September 2007 together with my wife and daughter. It was a very good experience from the word go. On arrival we had some difficulty finding the exact location and the manager came out to greet us himself at the end of the road once I contacted him over the phone. The rooms where very clean, well furnished and enormous. The location is superb being a mere 5 minutes walk from St Mark square. All around there are plenty of restaurants and a full supermarket is just 50 meters away for those who would like to use the kitchenette facilities available in this residence. A plain breakfast is provided in the room each day and the maid service is also on a daily basis. The rooms can can be a bit noisy at night due to people in the street below but then you are in the centre of Venice and people tend to stay out late especially on nice evenings. All in all I strongly recommed this property to all who can manage a flight of stair climbing since there is no lift in this residence. Our stay was a delightfull experience and we will surely return

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, Staff
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Xalatur57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#85 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Castello
Hotel Castello
Hotel Castello
#223 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Castello
Ca' dell'Arte Suite
Ca' dell'Arte Suite
#33 of 219 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Ca' dell'Arte
Ca' dell'Arte
#44 of 468 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Generator Hostel Venice
#6 of 219 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#35 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Castello

Property: Residenza Castello
Address: Calle Casseleria, 5280, 30100 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #367 of 468 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Castello 5280 is located right in the city centre, just two minutes walking from S.Marco square. The Residence has 5 comfortable, elegant apartments, offering its guests the warm atmosphere for unrepeatable experience. Residenza Castello is completely restored each apartment has TV sat, telephone, safe, Pc connection, air-conditioning and kitchens are fully equipped. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing