We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable for its price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni
Ranked #249 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We did not stay overnight in the hotel but booked a room here to store our luggages for 9h while we explored venice before leaving on a night train. We chose this hotel due to its proximity to the main train station and its affordable price of 27.50 Euro (it is cheaper than leaving 4 pieces of luggage at the luggage store at the train station). Its also acts as a rest stop for us to bathe and freshen up before leaving Venice on a long train ride.

Was apprehensive because of the previous mixed reviews but the hotel is actually ok for the price paid. Firstly, the hotel is located on a busy main tourist street so there is no lack of activities once you step out. It is 5 min walk from the train station and there is no lift. Yes, like what previous reviews mentioned, the entrance is actually located in a small alley (<1m width) between 2 buildings. We had large luggages with us but managed to get through the alley. We only need to walk 10 steps in that alley to reach the hotel entrance so it is really not that bad as mentioned in other reviews.

The room itself is basic and adequate for the price paid. The toilet facilities are good and even comes with a hair dryer. There is ample hot water with good pressure in the shower. Security wise is ok even with no reception (reception is in another building) as there are many security cameras at the corridors. I think there is no hot water kettle in the room.

For the price paid, I am satisfied with the room and location of this hotel. I would recommend it for budget travellers and day-trip travellers like me with lots of luggage to store while exploring Venice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerietoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moderno154, Direttore at Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for sharing your experience on our TripAdvisor page.
Really, a price of euro 27,50 for a room in the main island of Venice is something unique, also in the low season.
As you reported, it's even more convenient than leave luggages in the train station deposit.
Moreover, you noticed that our basic facilities are all properly working, even the baths are new and not lack nor hot water nor good water pressure, for a relaxing shower after a long day sightseeing.
Actually, there isn't a hot water kettle in the room: but we want to remind you that Hotel Moderno is a two star hotel equipped with basic facilities, while this kind of room facilities are available on higher category hotels, and for a more expensive deal.
Renewing thanks for your kind review and for the recommendations, we wish you to spend another visit at our beautiful town, maybe still at our hotel.
KInd Regards.

Hotel Moderno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

I've choosed the hotel by the location and price and before our arrival i was a little afraid of what to expect because of the reviews.
However there was nothing to worry.

The hotel is located in one of the main streets so it has lot of movement but because its turned to the back of the building the noise of pedestrians doesn't get there.
Yes there are some noise from the people outside but nothing that takes away your sleep and be aware that you are in a city so it's normal.

The fact of being in located on this street is very goog after a few bottles because it is very simple to reach and if you take some visual references like the market/takeaway pizza near it will be mutch easyer.

The fact of the reception and morning coffe on another hotel near by is not a problem,people are very kind and show you where is the Moderno after you do the chek-in and yes it is in a very very small street with maybe 0.8m wide but well illuminated and near a bar and a kind of market and pizza take away open 24h call QuantoBasta and if you do a little homework you find the places in a second without outside help.

There is no lift but is no problem,you are in Venezia so you have all the time to reach the topfloor if it's the case.
The hotel is small and very clean and the same with the rooms and lets be honest you are on a trip and the only thing you need after a walking day here is a clean bed and clean wc with a fair price and that's what the hotel offers.
There is a safe but you can use your bag with a locker and for the tv we choose spend the time together and see Veneza instead of watch tv.
The A/C i think that works just above the the 20 degrees C so it maybe not so good in the summer, but in coold days it is the best.

The breakfast is normal and helps you save some coins and you can leave the bag in the reception of the other hotel when you do the check-out.

So the main question is if i recomend or if i would be back here.
Well yes for the two.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moderno154, Direttore at Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Infinitely thanks for the nice review sharing here on our TripAdvisor page; we are very pleased that you appreciated your stay at Hotel Moderno.
Thank you especially for having highlighted the strenghts of this simple and affordable place, which guarantees an interesting quality for its price, as for the daily clean service, as for the central location in Venice, as for the kindness of its staff members, available 24h at the hotel reception.
We read gladly that you have spent your trip in Venice with the right spirit: a splendid city that you have to walk during all the day, to see its marvellous buildings and charming alleys along the typical canals (not staying inside the hotel all day long).
Renewing thanks for your friendly and agreeable attitude (and for your appreciated recommendation), we look forward to welcome you again here with us, for another wonderful stay in the beautiful city of Venice.
Best Regards.

Hotel Moderno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Reserved via HolotelI site.
I stayed at Moderno for 3 nights with my wife and another couple.
The good thing: nice breakfast, great location.
The not so good: me and our friends spent two hours every night chasing mosquitoes...!!!!!!!!!!
one morning I woke up with 12 bites.....

Bedroom: I am 1.79M high and 175 pounds medium size guy. I could hardly move around the bed in room number 2. Bathroom: If I would be brushing my teeth my wife could NOT come into the bathroom.. it was just soooo tiny.
The safe could not be used...."the key just broke ..." and in 3 days nobody came to fix it. luckily our friends' safe was usable ...only after 50 Euro deposit was paid.
another 50 Euro deposit for a tiny TV hanging near the ceiling..?? never heard about a thing like this.
At first the receptionist could not find the reservation...then she did.
There was a misunderstanding in the reservation so while we were booked for breakfast our friends were not ... unless they would add 10 Euro per breakfast per person.....sorry but not worth it...
upgrade..? yes......!! sure..! ..available for 300 Euro /night per couple...thank you very much...!!!...
This hotel is not recommended.

Room Tip: 1.If you HAVE to be there DO NOT take room no 2. Room no 1 is better. 2. come only with small lugga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moderno154, Direttore at Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,
It's with great bitterness that we read this kind of review, full of hate and frustration against a place like Hotel Moderno.
We want to start repeating that our hotel is a simple, cheap and clean solution in the city of Venice: as you surely had noticed, we are one of the most convenient accomodation in the island, suitable for budget travellers without great expectations.
Sincerely, it seems that you had absurd and ridicolous expectations for a budget two stars hotel (more similar to a four/five stars hotel's suite); personally, it's your fault if you has not been able to choose the right place for your needs.
The size of the room is the standard adopted throughout Italy, the same for the bathroom.
Your request for upgrade: you asked a upgrade for a upper category hotel, and this is the normal price that usually costs that hotel.
At the end, consider your negative feedback, honestly we can't make nothing to change the things at your taste: we make a clear offer to our customers, with its the advantages and disadvantages: if you agree, you can't expect something that you had not buy for.
Regards

Hotel Moderno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Apart from the location, within a short walk of the train and bus station and also via the people mover to the port of some of the cruise liners, this hotel was clean and bright and with the double glazed windows shut was quiet.The shower cubicle in our room was a trifle small but manageable.
The breakfast was more than adequate and the coffee & tea was good.Very pleasant and helpful reception staff.
The only downside (and very minor ) is that there are approx 9 steps from the pavement to the fist floor reception.
We would quite happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carettoni, Direttore at Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting this wonderful review, which describes your pleasant stay at Antica Casa Carettoni.
Especially we appreciate the nice words on the charming and tidy hotel appearance, that actually we try to make it appear "bright and clean", surrounded by a quiet and friendly atmosphere.
A lot of satisfaction gives us our always new breakfast offer, with which we want to satisfy every guest's taste, in order to start their venetian visit in the best way as possible (and definitely it seems that is really appreciated by many customers).
Trusting on your last words, we are looking forward to welcome you again here with us, for another enjoyable stay in Venice.
Best Regards.

Antica Casa Carettoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We were ending our portion of an organized tour in Venice and had yet to secure accommodations for our remaining 3 nights there. We saw the vacancy sign and popped in to see what was available as it was so convenient to our previous hotel. We were greeted by the ever helpful Elisa, who took the time to show us the available room and guarantee it would be available for us the dates we needed without so much as our credit card.
For 170euro per night we had the most spacious room of our entire Italian vacation. Close to everything we needed. Spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated with tons of extra touches to make the room feel more like a guest room than a hotel. Shower was a little snug for my 6 foot husband but beyond that no complaints. Every morning Elisa was at the continental breakfast to serve our choice of
coffee. She was also always very
helpful in helping us find our way around with buses and to locate things like a laundromat
Would highly recommend unless you have any physical challenges as there are many stairs throughout the building which would definitely offer accessibility challenges

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carettoni, Direttore at Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Guest,
We read with a lot of pleasure your splendid review on Antica Casa Carettoni, and hear joyfully how much your experience was memorable.
Really appreciated were your compliments for Elisa, and she wants to send you many thanks for the kind words of appreciation you wrote about her and her attentive work, often underlined by our guests, trying to making special all your stays.
We hope to have again the possibility to welcome you here with us, always with the same passion and friendliness.
Sincerely.

Antica Casa Carettoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We booked, for 120 Euro each, for 2 nights..., when we arrived we were taken to a room at the Hotel Atlantide, which was nice enough. So I will review that hotel. I can say that the Moderno is near the train station and is, indeed hard to find down a side street as the other people mentioned.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank chicagoflygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moderno154, Direttore at Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Client,
Thank you for giving a vote to our structure, though you have never been here.
We read that your accomodation at Hotel Atlantide was nice and pleasant, and that the move to another place has been anything but dissatisfying for you (the location of the other hotel is 50 metres far from Moderno entrance).
We hope to have, sooner or later, the occasion to host you at Hotel Moderno, to show you that our structure can leave to you a good memory as the Atlantide stay.
KInd Regards.

Hotel Moderno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We travelled as a couple, stayed here for 4 nights (5 days).
We were really delighted by the lovely spacious room at this great location close to the train station in Venice and vaporetto. The hotel is totally new on the inside and our room was tastefully decorated with artwork,
Furniture and fabrics that gave it a elegant feel, wonderful to come back to after walking around Venice in the morning, for an afternoon sleep :)
Reception is open 24 hours and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful (Ciao Ragazzi!) the breakfast was OK, typically Italian. We arrived in the morning, stepped in at the hotel to leave our luggage and then went out for the first tour. We went back to check in in the afternoon.
Even if Venice is a bit “too commercial” these days, I would recommend you to visit Venice for at least 4-5 days but just loose yourself on the small streets (outside of the main commercial corridors – main alleys), and then take a 48-72 hours vaporetto ticket to visit all the surrounding islands (Lido – you can go to the beach, Murano with it’s wonderful glass artwork, Burano with the interesting and colorful architecture, peacefully Torcello - you can have a great lunch in one of the 2 restaurants on the way after you visited the church.
So a trip to Venice is much more than Venice itself, it’s a must for all of us at least once in a life time.
We stayed 2 weeks in Italy travelling by train to Verona, Milano, Lake Como…., absolutely beautiful trip.
Will be back, especially in Venice, after this trip we just found out that we will have another baby :)

Room Tip: open the window just a little bit when you want the air condition to stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carettoni, Direttore at Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for having disclosed through TripAdvisor your wonderful observations, impressions, and feelings on your venetian trip and on your stay at Antica Casa Carettoni.
We are more than pleased while reading what beautiful words you used to describe the interior and the atmosphere of our hotel: this leaves us simply speechless, we just can send you many many thanks for a review which fills us with pride, glad to have been able to give you a so charming and special sojourn.
Our great passion is fully rewarded by comments such this.
We trust that you will treasure the good memories until your next visit, hopefully in the near future.
Best wishes for your coming baby from staff entirely.
With the Most Kind Regards.

Antica Casa Carettoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#219 of 385 in Venice
203 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#246 of 385 in Venice
420 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#196 of 385 in Venice
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#261 of 385 in Venice
829 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Caprera
Hotel Caprera
#169 of 385 in Venice
446 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Moro Di Venezia
Hotel Il Moro Di Venezia
#158 of 474 in Venice
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni

Address: Rio Tera Lista di Spagna Cannaregio 130 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy (Formerly Hotel Moderno)
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £93 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderno Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing