We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers... Venetian Style”

La Perla di Venezia
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Perla di Venezia
Ranked #365 of 457 Venice B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fawlty Towers... Venetian Style”
Reviewed 14 April 2006

We stayed from 1/4/06 to 6/4/06 and were initially allocated a room that you could barely swing the preverbial cat!!! We had requested a room with a view and all we got was a view of a backyard and a washing line. upon expressing our dislike of the room we were moved to the loft (family) room which was very nice at an extra cost of 20 euros per night. After 3 nights in the loft room we sadly had to return to the broom cupboard! This room did not have a safe deposit box. We were promised that the hotel would look after our valuables until a safe deposit box could be accessed for us. We agreed and went out for the day believing that our valuables were safe and secure. Upon our return that evening we found the front door to the B&B open, with nobody on reception, and, after ringing the bell we realised there were no staff present on the premises and our valuables were on a shelf in full view to any tom, dick or harry! Naturally we retrieved the bag. We did not see anyone again that evening so took our valuables out with us. The hotel rooms were advertised as having tea/coffee maker, safe deposit box, internet access and a working desk. The cupboard room had none of these facilities. We mentioned this to the staff and were informed that these facilities were hotel facilities and not room facilities. Indeed the staff informed us that we could have tea and coffee any time, all we had to do was ask. Well true to their word one evening a pot of tea was provided. However, the next time that we requested a pot of tea we were told that we could only have one when hotel staff felt like making some! It was at this point that we mentioned the valuables bag incident. For which we were reprimanded for removing the said valuables. Anyway, a safe deposit box (in the hallway) was eventually accessed. We had to list all items that went in there and were refused when we requested a key. The key had to be kept by the staff. Reluctantly we agreed. Not all our opinions on this B&B are negative. The location is great, the decor is pleasant and the hydrotherapy bath was great fun. However the breakfast was appalling, consisting of cold croissants, terrible coffee and if you were very unlucky a couple of slices of white bread! Above all we found the staff very unfriendly and in dire need of an intensive course in customer service training. We were even accused of causing the slightest of scratches to the bathroom sink! We both feel that this B&B has great potential it is just a shame that in our opinion it does not have the staff to realsie it.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    1
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2006

A group of 10 of us stayed last weekend in La Perla from Thursday through to Sunday. Due to the size of the group, we took over all of the large apartment, which was great.

Rooms A1 & A2 have balconies and views over the lagoon (A2 having a large bathroom) A3, P1 & P2 are all fairly small double rooms and I stayed in Room P3 with my partner. Room P3 is a double height room with a mezanine with 2 small beds, suitable for 2 young children. This room was by far the largest with a large bathroom, but unfortunately no view :-(

There was always someone present at the apartment, but due to lack of English, it was sometimes difficult to ask for anything. Strangely, we had a fridge in each room, but no glasses, so each day we asked for glasses, and each morning, the maids removed them when cleaning the room!

The breakfast was very basic, comprising of croissants and coffee/tea, but there is a very nice cafe directly below the apartment.

Furnishing throughout the apartment is very good, bed's are extremely hard, and surprisingly comfortable, but we were very tired after all the walking, so any bed would have done!

Bathrooms were well fitted with jacuzzi bath's in A2 and P3, and shower's with jets in each room, but the pressure wasn't the best. Another disappointment was the very shabby and not matching towels/bathrobes provided.

Located just a 5-10 minute walk along the lagoon to St Marco, a good base for any tourist.

Overall, we had a good experience in La Perla and I would recommend it to anyone else wanting to avoid the large hotels and definately a great idea if you are travelling in a large group.

If you want good food, don't miss Oliva Nero, a small restaurant a short walk from La Perla. Fantastic food and run by husband and wife team. One of the best for quality and friendy service.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank MarcusT75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 March 2006

my fiance and i booked to stay here for 3 nights to celebrate our 2 years together. we are getting married in may and were thinking of booking venice for our honeymoon so thought this would be the perfect excuse to see it. our celebrations ended in a nitemare when on our 2nd day we went out to view the sights and i returned about 20minutes later to get my hat and happen to find the owner mario in my room and going through my bags!!! this disgusting old man was caught red handed and tried to explain himself but it was no good. i felt sick to my stomach and could not wait to leave. what makes matters worse is that my purse was sitting on top of the bag he was searching so it definitely wasn't money he was after. we had to get our stuff and walk around a city we didn't know to try and get somewhere to sleep for the rest of our break which was now ruined!! luckily we did and made the most of it but it was always in the back of my mind. and i now regret not going to the police. while checking out of our new hotel the receptionist happen to tell us that he heard that mario had did this before and that he would have went straight to jail had we went to the police. this horrible old man comes across soo nice but please do not be fooled. and needless to say we will not be going to venice for our honeymoon!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2005

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by Mario, who is a wonderfully sweet man.

He doesnt speak much english, and we didnt speak much italian, but we were able to check in without any problems.

The room we were in was the smallest of the rooms in the B&B, but it was just as beautiful as the other rooms, with an ensuite bathroom (including a spa/massage shower).

In the mornings breakfast was served at the open windows of the balcony looking out onto the water, the perfect way to start the day.

I could not reccommend this place more, the location was even perfect, over one foot bridge from the nearest vaporetto stop, and a 10 minute walk from San Marco square.

Next time we are in Venice, this is where we are staying!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iain_darkflare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 August 2005

This B&B would have to be one off Venezia's best. Perfecty located, with fanatastic views, and beautifully decorated rooms and above all a fantastic host! Mario makes your stay that much more enjoyable.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2005

As a seasoned traveller, I have been pretty lucky so far with all my independent travel arrangements. However, not this time.

I too often find other people’s experience very useful and reassuring when choosing hotels on line, so I am doing my bit now.

If you value your precious holiday time, especially on a city break, may I advice you not to stay at the La Perla di Venecia.

The review of this B+B was excellent from all eight on-line reports and its web site was really good, showing the quality of rooms to be of 4 stars standard. So I went ahead and booked from Lastminute. (Paid £208 for 2 nights stay). I got the confirmation through and I rang La Perla a few times to confirm my booking.

All was looking pretty good until we arrived to check in. The place did look the same as on the web site. Mario, our host receptionist greeted us upon arrival. He spoke very limited English, but managed to convey that there was a problem with our room/shower. But indicated that the problem will be fixed tomorrow.

Under the midday heat we were led to another hotel 200-300 meters away, over 2 sizable bridges whilst carrying our heavy luggage.

When we got to Hotel Al Nouve Teson, we were pretty both exhausted and suffering quite badly from the heat. We were checked in and shown to our room. The room was no actually inside the hotel, it was off site, some 100 meters away through a few twisted little alleyways. It was right next to a rubbish tip and a public toilet facility. The room has no air conditioning, a filthy metal grid on the window etc. (see attached photos). It also has a broken toilet! The place stank of stale urine and festering waste.

Not a romantic hotel stay with panoramic view that I have purchased and hoped for. At this point our patient ran out and we checked in another hotel within walking distance (considering carrying luggage through the main road with a million other tourists in the middle of the day.) where we felt safe and comfortable. After spending a couple of hours trying to sort out our accommodation, we were eager to start our romantic holiday and to experience the Venice sights. We returned to La Perla to tell them we’ve moved and the other English-Speaking host, Tamara was there so we explained our situation and shown her the digital photos we took of the rubbish tip and our room. We asked for a refund of our outlay and she said we could come to some arrangement tomorrow when we return for our second night stay.

We returned the next day at 10:00 am (as arranged), but could not gain access to our room as Mario gestured to us that someone was sleeping in there!!!! So it seemed clear to us that the root of our problem was that they over booked us!!!

Determined to make the best of our holiday, we left our bags there and arranged to come back to the hotel to speak to Tamara later in the evening. When we returned, we saw Tamara at the reception and went to our room to drop off our bags. When we went back out she was gone!!! Left work early apparently!! She knew that we needed to speak to her! However we managed to contact her via the telephone later and she refused to acknowledge the inconvenience we suffered and would not prepare to refund us for a full night stay (£104). She was completely uncompromising and when we explained that the replacement accommodation they placed us in (Hotel Al Nouve Teson) was unacceptable, all she could say was “This is Venice Not London, rubbish are everywhere”!! To our horror, she said that they regularly placed guests there if there was a problem!!! And nobody has complained!!! SO BE WARNED!

There was also an American family staying at La Perla, and what they told us was much more alarming! They had the Suite that has a mezzanine level. On their last night stay, the couple went out and their two teenage girls were on the mezzanine floor reading. About ten o’clock at night, they saw the receptionist letting himself into their room. Later the couple found one of their bags were unzipped but nothing went missing. They were very glad to be leaving to continue their Italian trip to Florence the next day. This family advised us not to leave any valuables in our room unattended.

In conclusion, La Perla was unwilling to acknowledge any liability of our accommodation problem and inconvenience that they’d caused us on our romantic holiday. There was no customer service when things go wrong and their response to any of our complaints seemed to be “This is Venice Not London, rubbish are everywhere”!

We were fortunate enough to find the last room at another hotel but in peak season you might not be so lucky to find an alternative room and your holiday might truly be spoilt.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank FrequentTravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
No photo provided
In Centro - Grandiben
#312 of 385 in Venice
1 reviews
Castello
No photo provided
Marina
#275 of 385 in Venice
3 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bucintoro
Hotel Bucintoro
#23 of 385 in Venice
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ca' Formenta
Hotel Ca' Formenta
#131 of 385 in Venice
626 reviews
Castello
Casa Favaretto Guest House
Casa Favaretto Guest House
#205 of 457 in Venice
46 reviews
Castello
Al Tramonto Dorato
Al Tramonto Dorato
#227 of 457 in Venice
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla di Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla di Venezia

Property: La Perla di Venezia
Address: Castello 2143, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #365 of 457 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing