We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ranked #29 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Quiet Elegance”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

First visit to Venice & have to say we struck gold with this hotel. Situated about as far away as you can be from St Marks Square, in the quiet and relaxed Cannaregio area beside the original ghetto. It matters not that it is 30-40 stroll away from the opposite side of the City, as this place is an oasis of tranquility and peace. We walked for 3 days non-stop and it was just great to get away from the thousands of poeple that come into Venice by cruise ship everyday and get back to the Ai Mori d'Oriente. A big plus is that it is quite easy to find and convenient when you arrive via water bus, as it is only 5 minutes simple walk from the Orta stop. Believe you and me, all we seemed to see was tourist dragging big cases down alleys looking for hotels! This is not a business hotel in our opinion. Don't expect brilliant free wi-fi access or a business centre. It is a place to base yourself when exploring this brilliant and unique city. The rooms are perfectly big enough and well equiped. We paid a bit extra for a superior room (201) and it was spaceous, elegantly decorated and furnished. Our only one gripe was whilst the bath room was equiped with a bath, the shower (attached to the bath) was impossible to stand up in, as the bath was slotted in to the room, at the pitchof the roof. But other than that, the staff were polite and extremely helpful, the breakfast typically continental, of excellent quality and was made even more enjoyable by eating it in the lovely courtyard. Also suggest having a pre-dinner belini outside by the canal in the evening, really sets things up nicely.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigTaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,602
    526
    66
    32
    23
See reviews for
285
1,491
42
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We arrived in Venice as the first stop on our honeymoon and were blown away with the unique and beautiful city.

The hotel is located the quiet Cannaregio district and provides a great base for exploring the canals and bridges. We were able to walk from the hotel to St Mark's Square in approximately 25 minutes and there are a number of local restaurants and bars in the local area.

The room was very comfortable and clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend the hotel for anyone visiting Venice and would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flanntronix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Tranquil location in Cannaregio, behind the "Ghetto". Spacious room & bath, friendly staff, good bfast in the outdoor "cortile". Pet friendly. 10% discount at San Marco Pking Garage should you drive to Venice.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the quiet canal in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camponuevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gandia, Spain
Level Contributor
181 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here for three days and did not like it at all. There are no facilities provided and no restaurant. Wifi is charged for as is everything else. The staff seemed only interested in selling you things until you said you were not interested, then they lost interest. We arrived (late) at 9 am to be told our room was not ready. I appreciate that check in is usually much later but they did know we were arriving early. Indeed we should have arrived at 7.15 am! We were left waiting in reception until 9. We were not offered a drink, breakfast or anything else. Not a god start. It did not improve and we were glad to leave. We would not choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Easy transfer from the airport via water taxi. Quick n& efficient check-in. Very helpful
with information about the city.Breakfast was generous in a lovely breakfast room.
Room very clean and the bathroom was spotless.
Would enjoy returning to this hotel for a longer stay. 20 min walk to San Marco Place..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachdog08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemgo, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Go to Venice? What do you expect? Expensive rip-offs close to San Marco or cheap Bunkers out in the nowhere on the mainland? The Ai Mori d'Oriente is none of that sort. Situated in the rather peaceful northwest of the old-town, in the Cannaregio quarter, it is a safe haven for the hours when you got fed up with staring tourists (like yourself), pigeons and masks. Don't expect any "wellness" sort of fancy stuff. The authentic houses in this city are a couple of centuries old, have (naturally) no cellars, no huge backyards and no space to waste. This city had no space to waste at all times (maybe apart from nowadays, you see a lot of empty flats around). The quality of this hotel is: It doesn't feel old though it is. It is authentic and romantic and for real. But it doesn't smell damp, it doesn't show peeled off paint and all the facilities are top up to date. Still the tiny backyard is a great place for breakfast (if you can catch a table), the staff is extremely friendly (one of the bell boys reminded me of Lurch the butler from Addams family. He doesn't really look like him, but he has the same kind of body language (still he is a great guy), this somehow fitted to a strange city that sits on wooden posts and survives on selling plastic masks, a classic Italian Renaissance square and aching feet. Skip the Gondolas they are a huge rip off too. Walk, walk, walk and play "let's get lost" you can't miss the real sites, they are everywhere. Come back early enough to use the two little bistro tables the hotel puts out in front of the house by the water and have your Port. Then walk a little further down the Fondamente Della Sensa and go to the Restaurant called 40 somethings. Yes, the bottle of wine at 12,- € is pretty acceptable and they have bizarre venetian specialties like Polenta with sardines and alike. We worked in Venice, had a whole day of photo shooting, came back to the Hotel and felt at ease and at home. Forget the too small shower cabins / panes, forget the decoration in the vestibule (the hall is nice), use the great Concierges and let yourself drown in atmosphere - have fun!

Room Tip: We found them at hrs.de
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TimeCatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

You can't imagine what it feels like to walk into a well air conditioned beautiful hotel after choosing it via Tripadvisor. The reviews didn't do this place justice. The hotel was clean, bright and run by competent, helpful, cheerful staff. The staff was always willing to help answer any questions that we had. It was obvious that they took pride in their work. The lobby and in fact the whole hotel was bright and clean. The breakfast was great, especially if you are there before 8:00 there is room in the courtyard to eat. They actually wash the sidewalk in front every morning. The TV remote didn't work and was held together by tape. Didn't matter as we were not there for the TV! When the shower hose developed a leak, they replaced it within minutes. We came back to the hotel from 1:00 to 3:00 every afternoon when all the shops close and the day was the hottest. I found it a little odd that was the time when they showed up to make the room. I have no doubt that if asked, they would change that time in a heartbeat. I don't think the fridge in the bar worked that well either. All minor things. For the price and in the heart of authentic Venice, this was a fantastic experience. We flew in from Rome at night and so I booked a private water taxi that dropped us off at the door. It was 90 euros but worth all of it for the sake of not having to find your way through the calles at night which everyone knows are easy to get lost in. Dragging your suitcase all the way!

Room Tip: I booked using hotelopia and paid far less than the rack rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harley_Squirrelnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#26 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel

Property: Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Address: Fondamenta Della Sensa Cannaregio 3319, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Venice
#15 Family Hotel in Venice
#17 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#20 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm & boutique renewed hotel in the incomparably enchanting Venice, overlooking the Rio della Sensa and della Misericordia in the Cannaregio district where picturesque hidden courtyards whisper ancient legends and where the rooms will cradle you in luxury and comfort.Quietly located in the city center near the Jewish ghetto and Campo dei Mori, the rooms at the Hotel Ai Mori d'Oriente instill a warm atmosphere of hospitality and tranquility where elegant Moorish touches evoke the trade along the Silk Road.For a romantic getaway full of elegance and comfort surrounded by astounding beauty, fall in love all over again with Venice on a vacation at the New Hotel Ai Mori d'Oriente. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Mori d Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d Oriente Venice
Hotel Ai Mori Doriente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing