We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with very good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ranked #29 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel with very good staff”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Loved everything about the hotel . Bar , breakfast ,very helpful staff . Good location with good restaurants near by .
Had a lovely room with a balcony but after a mishap with a shower door breakage had to move to a different room sadly no balcony this time !!
Would definately go back and hope to soon !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,621
    532
    66
    32
    24
See reviews for
288
1,512
42
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

You will be so happy to escape st. Mark's square to this very cute neighborhood which is just a pleasant little 20 minute walk. The area has a couple younger restaurants/bars but not wild partying. That being said, it was extremely quiet at night. The perfect balance between busy and quiet. Rooms were fabulous for Venice, well kept, clean, very nice bathrooms and the staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. An impressive Breakfast buffet was included. We were quite pleased with our stay and would definitely return.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank natalie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My only disappointment is that we didn't stay here longer, this little gem of a hotel is beautiful, Fillipo the owner is a wonderful character who was so friendly and funny, the staff are so helpful, and the lovely little touches like having our bed turned down and sweets left on our bed, the rooms are typical Venetian but so elegant, set in a quiet location which is perfect to sit and have a glass of wine after a long walk around the shops, after a hectic stay in Rome and Florence this was the perfect end to our holiday, I was very sad to leave,
Thank you to all the staff who made our stay memorable, we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

When we booked this hotel, I was a little hesitant because of its remove from the San Marco area. But I was very happy with our location once we got to Venice. It is in the Carneggio sesteri (the old Jewish section, definitely worth a look); so it is a 20 minute or so walk to the San Marco square. You definitely want to go to there and see the church and the Doge Palace (along with the magical bridge of sighs). But the nice thing about being removed from the main tourist area is you don't have to be in the crowds every second.

When you arrive at the central train station, you only have to take the vaporetto (the water "subway") to the hotel. Take the one.

You will instantly notice how nice everyone is who works at the hotel. This includes those who work the breakfast hour, the bellman and the desk clerks. They desk clerks consistently gave us good recommendations for dinner. We loved Timon and Annice Stellato nearby.

The breakfast was ample and filling if too similar every day. The area is safe and quiet.

My only complaint was that the bed could have been more comfortable. I don't know if it is the mattress or not but of everywhere we went on our recent trip, the beds at this hotel were the least comfortable. The bathroom is very nice and the toiletries are top notch. If you can ask for a room in the new section of the hotel overlooking the back canal, that's what you should do.

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing in the back over the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HubbellGardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Arrived at this hotel on water taxi, right outside the front door which was handy as most other hotels have meeting points in St Marc's.

Hotel staff were helpful and friendly. Stayed BB and the food was really nice. Not a big restaurant but never seemed to busy. Stayed in a standard double room and it was lovely, plenty big enough for two people. Room and hotel was very clean.

Hotel positioned on one of many canals, in the quieter area of Venice. Although in a quiet area, there are still bars and restaurants to visit approx. 5-10mins away from the hotel.

St Marcs is about an half hour walk away, but we liked this as each time we walked we found somewhere new. Lots of nice quirky restaurants and shops everywhere.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaR85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was in a nice, quiet location off the beaten tourist path. Actually quite easy to find if you followed the map from the train station - easy walk!! The rooms were decorated in a unique way and provided everything you would need. Courtyard was a nice way to unwind after a long day of walking!! Only negative would be the internet in the rooms is extremely slow. Would recommend this property to anyone!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisayoung629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I have just spent 4 wonderful days and nights at the Ai Mori as the second half of a two city trip. This hotel really is superb, the decor is stunning, service levels off the scale and the breakfast menu and choice superb ( Special mention to Emanuel and his staff for thier great service)
The location is unbeatable, far from the madding crowd of San Marco but only 20 or so minutes walk from there. There are two vaparetto stations in easy walking distance (5 mins to Orto on the lagoon or a little further to Guglie on the Cannaregio canal through the Jewish quarter)
It really is hard to put in words just how good this hotel is. As mentioned the Moorish architecture and interior decor are stunning, we had a junior suite with the curtained 4 poster bed!
To put all this in context, my wife and I arrived from Paris via the Venice Simplon Orient Express and Ai Mori was not overshadowed even by that level of luxury, but rather it complemented and provided the final touch to an awesome holiday of a lifetime.
The Mori d'Oriente should get 5 stars not 4...

Room Tip: Upgrade to the junior siute if you can, facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#25 of 385 in Venice
838 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,792 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#49 of 385 in Venice
2,125 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,760 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel

Property: Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Address: Fondamenta Della Sensa Cannaregio 3319, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Venice
#15 Family Hotel in Venice
#17 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#20 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm & boutique renewed hotel in the incomparably enchanting Venice, overlooking the Rio della Sensa and della Misericordia in the Cannaregio district where picturesque hidden courtyards whisper ancient legends and where the rooms will cradle you in luxury and comfort.Quietly located in the city center near the Jewish ghetto and Campo dei Mori, the rooms at the Hotel Ai Mori d'Oriente instill a warm atmosphere of hospitality and tranquility where elegant Moorish touches evoke the trade along the Silk Road.For a romantic getaway full of elegance and comfort surrounded by astounding beauty, fall in love all over again with Venice on a vacation at the New Hotel Ai Mori d'Oriente. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Lastminute, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Mori d Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d Oriente Venice
Hotel Ai Mori Doriente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing