We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“utterly charming stylish hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Ranked #14 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2011

This charming hotel is an amazing place to stay.It truly deserves all the wonderful reviews it gets.It deserves them.The owners Sandro & Walter have created a stunning hotel that oozes charm & style,but remains a friendly little home away from home. It is a haven with a beautiful atmospheric courtyard to have your breakfast or evening drinks in.It is in a great little spot near lots of cafes & restaurants.The breakfast was really lovely with the most tempting croissants ever. Our room,no 44 in the annex was just so lovely with beautiful beams, a chandeliar & a huge comfy bed.We had the best 4 nights sleep in ages & so did our 3 year old girl.It was very grand & decorated with the most amazing furniture.The room was very spacious,spotless , incredible comfortable & peaceful .The staff were so lovely & friendly,our little gir Isabella was very well looked after by the lovely warm & very attentive Grace.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachiekendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,468 - 1,474 of 2,700 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2011

As others have stated, location is convenient to the vaporetto/train station yet in a quiet area away from all the tourist crowds. Staff was very accomodating and provided great restaurant recommendations. Outdoor courtyard was great for breakfast or for relaxing later at night.

By chance we boarded the first stop of the vaporetto and got an outside seat in the front of the boat. I would recommend this to others visiting for the first time as it's hard to enjoy the ride when it's packed with people . Take it all the way to the end and explore the islands.

We were in the Annex, room #21, for two nights. The only negative was the AC wasn't working but it wasn't a major issue since it was relatively cool at night.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pats10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

This is probably the best price / quality I have ever been to. It is not at all an elegant or fancy hotel, yet it has an extraordinary service, it is incredibly charming and the staff / owners are really helpful and friendly.

Al Ponte Mocenigo is located just three vaporetto stops from Santa Lucia Train Station (that's really close), and yet only 2 stops from Rialto, pretty much the center of the main island of Venice. It is not in the main touristic destinations, so it is much quieter than other places, yet you can reach them in 5 minutes. It is just 1 minute walking from the Grand Canal. This means you cannot have a sight of the Grand Canal from your room. But if you walk a couple of meters you get to it.

Rooms are excellent. They are really charming and cozy. The prices are very low for Venice, but you get an extraordinary hotel and room for what you pay. Plus, the breakfast is extraordinary, served by a really nice staff.

Both owners of the hotel normally are on the reception. They are really friendly and helpful: they will explain you in no time all you need to know about the complicated system of transport of Venice.

If you are a millionaire, who wants to pay a lot of money to have an elegant suite with a Grand Canal / Venice Lagoon sight, then this is not the place for you. For everyone else, this is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwilenmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Very easy to find, literally 50 yards from the San Stae Vaporetto stop. Centrally located so the Rialto and San Marco are easily walkable. The standard room layout and features were excellent, although the room was very close to the reception area and it did get a bit warm (we couldn't figure out the AC). Breakfast is very good, and the internal courtyard where you can eat is very pretty. All of the staff were extremely helpful and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Venice.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weeboaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

But it would be futile, erroneous and a complete waste of time. Believe me, all those earlier gushing reviews are correct and maybe even understate how pleasant this hotel is. In terms of criticism, I would describe it as bomb-proof.

Location is ace - far enough away from all the tat of St Marks and Rialto, but within 80 metres of San Stae vaparetto stop. For first-timers, disembark and walk due south on right side of church. About sixty metres down, door on right is numbered 1966 (great year for English football) - immediately opposite is narrow (more correctly, tiny) alleyway, and about twenty metres along is rear entrance to hotel. About eighty metres from San Stae and all on the level.

Accommodation also serves only to please. We were allocated room in annex - no 31 on top floor. Room was spacious enough and comfortable, bathroom was recently decorated and spotless. Further comment superfluous.

Staff can only be described as friendly, attentive and keen to help. Minor issue I encountered with bath plug (honest) was resolved within minutes.

My wife ate heartily at breakfast and described the cafe latte as the best of her stay in Venice. And finally, as far as value for money is concerned, not even I as a travelling Scotsman can find grounds for complaint.

I cannot force you to stay here during your visit to Venice - but you'd be a fool not to.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chapmanbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Staying at the Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo proved to me that my desire for Venice to be my 1st visit to Europe was correct. The staff couldn't have been more accomodating. Our room was beautiful (#24 in the annex). The location was quiet, safe, and around the corner from 3 memorable restaurants. My 2 sisters and I walked to many destinations or jumped on the vaporetto that was 2 minutes from our room. I count the days until I am able to return to visit beautiful Venice again and stay at Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clandi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Stayed at Al Ponte Mocenigo for a short break last Autumn, lovely little hotel in a great spot, just a 5/10 minute walk from the Rialto bridge and a stones throw from the St.Stae vaporetto stop. Friendly staff, spacious rooms and very nice breakfasts taken in the small courtyard (although perhaps getting a little chilly for this come October). Quite difficult to find if you don't know where it is, we walked there from the Alilaguna Rialto stop (orange line from the airport) and found it reasonably easily, aided by the Iphone GPS. Heartily recommend the hotel and we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sgrenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
3,838 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,961 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,444 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 385 in Venice
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Venice
#6 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#8 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#16 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £76 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing