We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Ranked #10 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed in the junior suite; both the room and bathroom were spacious and clean. In addition to a king-sized bed and tall wardrobe, there was also a writing table, breakfast table and chairs, a chaise longue, and a small TV. The reception staff were friendly and helpful as were the wait staff who served breakfast every morning.

We loved the location. The hotel was a short walk from the San Stae water bus stop. Ponte Rialto and Piazza San Marco were about a 15-minute walk away (probably longer if you prefer a stroll to a brisk walk). There were restaurants nearby, as well as a small deli and a wine shop.

Highly recommended.  

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loggins11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,206
    350
    43
    5
    4
See reviews for
436
1,665
70
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Al Ponte Mocegino was our choice of stay for our honeymoon in Venice. It
was overall very nice and we enjoyed staying there. The hotel is very easy to find, it's right by the vaporetto stop, making easy to get to and from. We stayed in the main
building, but the hotel also has an annex around the corner.
Our room was spacious and well furnished. We had a big double bed, two small couches (each can fit two people), other furniture was made of quality dark wood. All the rooms in the hotel were different and had it's own style, all very pretty. There was apparently a fireplace in our room one day, which was re-modeled to be a spot for the table, which looks very cute.
The bathroom was clean and fresh towels and bath appliances were re-stocked daily.
The breakfast doesn't include the usual for most travellers meats and cheezes, but the apricot croissants are to die for! All the staff was pleasant and helpful, always giving advice and diretions, etc. They helped us to arrange for the tickets for the concert we wanted to go to, and prepared coffees in the late hours in the evening on our request as well. We were very pleased with the service. There was slow, but free wi-fi in the hotel.
What made our stay not so pleasant: the room was VERY cold. Maybe because of the high ceilings, but even when we left the heat/light on for the entire day, it never quite warmed up. So every night we had to use 2 extra blankets we found in the wardrobe. This heat issue was problemtic for us, as we stayed in Venice in late November - and after walking around the city all day, we were craving some warmth of the room when we got back. Another thing was bare floors - there are no carpeting at all, and no rugs. That would be fine if the floor was wooden, but Al Ponte has stone floors - and they are cold. So even in the evening when you're in your pijamas, you had to keep your shoes on (no slippers were provided). The rooms is also very dark, it gets no light at all - but I assume that's a common problem for the buildings in tiny Venice streets.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Another great find from Trip Advisor! I don't know why you would want to be right in the very centre of Venice when you can stay here, at much cheaper rates, and explore Venice as you make your way to the sites.

We had a week here over Christmas in the red room (very Christmassy!). It was a wonderful stay and everyone was especially helpful with recommendations & directions. The hotel is very quiet and in a lovely area and even though its not right in the centre of Venice, it has some great restaurants and bars within walking distance to the hotel. We bought a weekly Vaporetto pass but found that we usually walked everywhere. So even though its not in the centre its only about a 30 minute walk through the lovely back streets of this beautiful city. We mainly used the Vaporetto when at the end of the day we couldn't walk another step further. If we every return to Venice we would definitely stay here again.

Walter gave us some great recommendations for buying cheeses, bread & meats so we could have a picnic lunch on Christmas Day and I'm so glad we followed his advice! A simple meal sitting in Campo San Giacomo all Orio near by made for a memorable Christmas.

Thanks for making our stay and our Christmas in Venice such a memorable one.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnamurra2533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2012

this 2* hotel, gathers all the positive comments:spotlessly clean rooms, friendliness of the staff, lovely decoration,quality of the breakfast, good prices, right spot -closed to the center and next to waterbus stop.... we visit Venice quiet often and we always stay there.

Room Tip: all the room at the main building and at the annex are quiet nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaP5860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Let's get real - this is not the best hotel in Venice.
We've been lucky to stay in some of the grandest hotels in the city and this trip thought we'd trust Tripadvisor and try Al Ponte Mocenigo at a fraction of the cost of the Danieli, the Baglioni etc.
We weren't disappointed. (Hundreds of reviewers aren't wrong)!
This is a very pretty hotel, in a lovely area, with spotlessly clean rooms and friendly, welcoming staff. With the nightly rates a fraction of those that you'd expect to pay at the "Best" in a city as expensive as Venice , it's hardly surprising that this hotel is so popular. I'd recommend it heartily.

PS - I'd probably avoid room 2 if returning. We were warned that it would be very small and it is. (It was the only room left when we booked). However, at 125 Euro p.n., still superb value.

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid no.2. It's very small and right off the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JFF79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo was such a fantastic place to stay, we enjoyed every minute of it.
We stayed at the beginning on November for three nights (late review - sorry). The room we had was in the annex, it was massive and had a separate sitting room - we couldn't believe how much space there was. We loved the annex as we had our own key to the front door and could come and go any time day or night and the area was so safe. The room was absolutely spotless, it felt like we were the first ones to stay there. Wifi in the room was really fast which was helpful as the tv doesn't have many good channels. We found the hotel to be in a brilliant location right near the vaparetto stop, even though we ended up walking everywhere. The breakfast was fantastic, with fresh croissants and coffee delivered to your table exactly how you like it. Walter and Sandro were such lovely hosts, really friendly and knowledgeable. On your next trip to Venice you MUST stay here, it truly is a hidden gem. I spent hours looking on TA for a place to stay - save yourself the effort and stay here you will not regret it. The only thing that baffles me is that they are only 2 stars - they deserve at least 5! Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: The annex was fantastic as it was really quiet and away from the reception area so you didn't ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ab299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 5-6 days in December - my fiance and I. The hotel is a short, enjoyable walk from Rialto and St mark's square. We were in room 1 - right by the reception and it couldn't have been better. The room door, when shut, dried out any noise from the activity outside. We were well taken care of by owners Walter and Sandro (thank you gents...you guys made for such wonderful conversations and set the bar for other hotels we were to visit in Italy and France in this trip), Donatello and his dining recommendations (we really enjoyed all five restaurants - so many thanks), and Carlito (the night porter - thank you for the reservation at Zucca - such lovely people - appreciate it Carlito). Most of all we appreciate Norine and her team's service and Capuccino during breakfast. We aim to see you all again soon. Our best wishes!

Room Tip: Room 1 is good size and quiet. No view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueSky411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,525 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Cannaregio
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
#1 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#12 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Property: Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Venice
#7 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#8 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#16 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing