We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Ranked #14 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

From the moment we walked through the gate, this hotel was a lovely surprise. We were a little dubious as the price was so reasonable and we had been disappointed before. But we were met with friendly, helpful service, a beautifully appointed and very clean room, a comfortable bed, loads of space/storage, a substantial breakfast including croissants, cereal, cappuccinos and fresh fruit; but best of all - the location was superb.

The only negative was that we didn't spend enough time in Venice. We hope to be back and spend longer in this very special hotel and city!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room in the 'annexe' which was very spacious and classy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,271 - 1,277 of 2,706 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

Just got back from three nights in Venice staying in this lovely hotel. It was easily found thanks to someone's helpful tips on here and the hotel's website.
We were welcomed by Sandro who was very obliging and recommended retaurants for two of our nights and made the bookings there and then. We were not disappointed by either- one was La Zucca and the other was on the opposite of the the little canal to it - name eludes me.
Our room was in the annexe, about a minute's walk way if that, and was delightfully Venetian - it even came with a true Venetian glass chadelier that would look out of place anywhere but Venice!
The room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom likewise.My only critcism after three nights, and it is a personal one, is that the bed was a bit too hard and I would have liked the air conditioning to have been provided: we slept with the windows open as I always do at home where we have no air con but it did mean that i was woken each morning by people going about their business or children going to school. Don't get me wrong, the hotel is in a very quiet part of Venice and leaving the windows open in other parts of the city would have meant no sleep at all!
Breakfast was lovely - choice of hot drinks and warm filled fresh croissants amongst the offerings. All the staff were very friendly too.
We met the other partner, Walter, and he was equally helpfully.
As I write this it again occurs to me why has it only been awarded a 2 star? It is surely a 3 at least! So, go, enjoy a lovely stay in this incredible and unique city.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tricia0763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel is very small, smaller than you can see on the web. This may be the only reason why it has only 2 stars; it's very clean, we had a superior room in the dèpendence, it was spacious and very elegant;bathroom rather small, spotlessly clean- breakfast was good and the position of the hotel very easy to reach from Piazzale Roma and in the centre of Venice.
A good value for the price.
The staff was very helpful and nice. If I must complain about something... well, the bed-and cushion- were too hard!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 7oyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I booked the Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo on the strength of it's Tripadvisor reviews for a special trip for my girlfriend's 30th birthday. In short, it was fantastic. The staff were all friendly and couldn't do enough for us - they recommended restaurants and even booked them for us. Rooms were fab - old school Venetian splendour, spotless and well cleaned on a daily basis.

Breakfast was great, nice pastries and fruit - just what you need to start the day. All the ladies in the breakfast room were super friendly. We even turned up 20 minutes early for breakfast one day due to me messing up the clocks changing and the owner on reception insisted we sit down and personally prepared our tea.

Nice location near San Stae vaprotto stop, it's quiet and you don't need to be in the thick of it as nowhere is difficult to get to in Venice. Prices are very reasonable as well - especially compared to other Venice hotels.

I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else now if we return to Venice and hugely recommend this place!

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex and it was perfect - lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheffield1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed for two nights in this lovely little hotel, having been recommended it by friends. We had room 3, which is on the ground floor, near the breakfast room. We thought the noise of breakfast etc may disturb us early in the morning, but it didnt at all.

All the staff here were really welcoming, helpful and friendly, and really couldn't do enough for guests. We liked the fact that the hotel is about a minutes walk from the vaporetto stop, very convenient. Breakfasts were amazing - warm croissants - Yum!

The only thing I would say is that the matress in the room was REALLY firm - even for those with a prefernce for firm matresses, I would say this was at the limit! But this did not detract form our enjoyment of the stay and hotel.

Definitely would go back, and defintiely would recommend. A perfect find.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlemissn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We just got back from our third trip to Venice- a city unlike any other. We love it, and have stayed a week each time we have gone, however this is our first trip to Al Ponte Mocenigo. What a wonderful find- the price is right, the location is perfect (especially if you are prone to getting alittle lost, being right at the San Stae stop makes sure you make it back). Location is only part however, the owners and the staff have just the right touch in managing a small hotel, they are present, helpful and always friendly, but not overly so, which can sometimes happen in small hotels. The beds are great (not always true in Venice), the room decor is fun and colorful, and the price is reasonable. I would recommend this hotel if you like charm and a home-like atmosphere. It is not the Four Seasons, it is not glitzy, they do not have an elevator, and while breakfast is plentiful and fresh, it is not the huge/multicourse affair in larger hotels. If you go, take a bottle of wine and some glasses and sit on the steps at the San Stae stop... you get the full effect of the Grand Canal at half the price of the hotels with fancy decks!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tankster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

All you read about this hotel is true! Its a wonderful place to stay, the staff, from the owners to the most junior member are great. The rooms, service, location is brilliant, there is nothing bad to say about this hotel, even the cost for Venice was very reasonable. We would certainly stay again next time we go. Everything you want is provided, nothing lacking at all - wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 5 with balcony - great room, but I think all the rooms were good - everyone who was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MimG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 385 in Venice
3,867 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,973 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,468 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 385 in Venice
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#4 Family Hotel in Venice
#8 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#16 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £71 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing