We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in the heart of Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Ranked #13 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I booked the Hotel Al Ponte Moncengo for our 5-day stay in Venice after seeing that it got consitently good ratings on TripAdvisor. I must admit that at first I was a bit hesitant that it would not live up to my expectations, however, after a most marvellous 5 days spent at the hotel I can wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone looking for an affordable place to stay in Venice.

The hotel itself has been described accurately by other reviewers so I won't go into too much detail. I will say, however, that our room was in the annex and featured gorgeous high ceilings, a Murano glass chandelier, walls covered in green fabric, two large windows overlooking an internal courtyard and beautiful furnishings including a nice table, perfect for sipping a nice glass of proecco in the evening. The bathroom had heated floors and towel rack, and was quite spacious enough. Importantly, everything was very clean. The only slightly negative comment we have, and which has been echoed by others, is that the beds are very firm. Personally I did not mind this, but my better half at first was not too happy with a firm mattress; nevertheless we slept fairly well despite that.

Breakfast was a delight, with warm, fresh pastries, good coffee and a discrete choice of fruits, juice and cereal; however, if you're into large portions of breakfast this may seem a bit limited. The ladies helping in the morning (as are all of the hotel staff) are cheerful and efficient.

The hosts Walter and Sandro were extremely coridal and their sense of hospitality is fantastic. This friendly atmosphere seemed to affect the staff and the guests as well, who all seemed to be in good spirits and enjoying their stay at the hotel. The owners' pride in the establishment is obvious, and their knowledge of Venice is impeccable so be sure to ask them when you need some help or a recommendation.

This hotel is located in the quiet, residential St. Stae area (5 minutes away from the St. Stae vaporetto stop) and in my opinion, was the perfect retreat after a hectic day's sightseeing. There are a number of restaurants, bakeries and salumerie within a short walk from the hotel. It is only a few minutes away from the Rialto so you're never too far off from the touristy part of Venice (Piazza San Marco, la Basilica, il Palazzo del Doge, etc.). Actually, by staying in a more residential area we managed to explore areas of Venice on foot, which are often overlooked. After all, part of the charm of Venice lies hidden in the narrow streets and alleyways of the city.

For once, forget the star rating, which really doesn't do the hotel justice: this is a first class hotel and extremely good value for money.

We will definitely go back to this hotel when in Venice!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NouveauDandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,669)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,186 - 1,192 of 2,669 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

I had already stayed in Venice for 2 nights at the beginning of my business trip, at a Hotel on the Grand Canal, so I can compare the two locations. Grand Canal is busy and bustling, and was great for the first time...The Mocenigo is in a quieter area. As they say in Venice, all streets lead to the Rialto Bridge or Piazza San Marco,..it is only 10 minutes walk to San Marco from the hotel..through packed streets, and the Rialto is halfway.
The location of Mocenigo is very convenient. There is a Vaporetto stop 50M from the front door. Also, the boat that takes you to the airport stops at this same stop! Very convenient and MUCH less expensive than a water taxi.
Front desk staff were very helpful. We left our bags with them while our room was being readied. Our room was large, possibly the largest room on my entire trip to Italy! We were in the annex, which is across a narrow canal from the main hotel.
Clean bathroom and room, with a large bed. TV on the wall, with English channels (at least one or two:)
Breakfast was nice, with hot apple croissants served. No eggs or other hot food.
There is a nice Pizza place around the corner and a fabulous tiny restaurant the front desk recommended. I forget the name, but there were literally 6 tables inside. We loved it. Not expensive, not pretentious, just fantastic.
This was a great place..if you want to see the grand canal, go have lunch there, but stay here!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eeeandess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo in mid-April for our first trip to Venice. Because this vacation was planned to celebrate a significant birthday for my wife, I wanted to find the best hotel possible within our budget. Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo met that requirement—and more!

The hotel is ideally located at the San Stae dock, which happens to be one of the stops for the Alilaguna Orange Line (vaporetto) from Marco Polo Airport, and is only three vaporetto (#1) stops from the train station. The hotel is located only about 50 yards from the dock and you need not cross over a bridge to get to the “back” entrance. The location is in a very quiet area, but within leisurely strolling distance to the Rialto Bridge and less than a mile walk to Piazza San Marco.

The rooms were exceptionally well appointed, and ours was situated with a balcony overlooking a small canal connecting to the Grand Canal. Because of a late request one month before our arrival to spend an extra night in the hotel, we were accommodated for our first night in a spacious and very luxurious room in the new Annex just across the small canal from the main hotel. After breakfast the first morning, the staff moved our luggage to our new room while we were out exploring. The ample and delicious continental breakfast was served either in a small dining area or in the small courtyard near the main lobby to the hotel. The wait staff was friendly and very accommodating, as were our owner/reception hosts.

Because this was our first trip to Venice, I cannot comment on other hotels there. However, based on our impression of their outstanding accommodations, Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo likely deserves its #1 Trip Advisor rating! We will definitely stay here again when returning to Venice.

Room Tip: The Annex is VERY near the main hotel........ and the rooms are new and as nicely appointed. Your s...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TDM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This was our second trip to Venice, but our first time at this hotel. I will definitely go back there the next time we visit Venice. The accommodations were spacious and the staff most accommodating. I cannot say enough about Walter and Sandro's assistance in recommending restaurants and sights to see. They also offer a 6% discount for cash, which is always appreciated.

Also, the location is handy....mere steps from the San Stae vaporetto stop. By the way, once you make your reservations, they will give you explicit directions on getting from the vap stop to the hotel. Use the alternate directions (to the back door "and ring the bell"). That will prevent your having to carry your bags across two small bridges over the canal that runs beside the hotel.

Room Tip: They have an annex that is separate from the main hotel; we stayed in this facility and then moved t...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkietx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My husband booked this as a surprise for our wedding anniversary after seeing the reviews. We were totally overwhelmed by this hotel it was amazing. This hotel made our visit to Venice extra extra special and I would recommend to anyone. The surrounding area is so peaceful you can only hear the birds singing. Also lots of lovely good restaurants nearby. Cannot think of anything they can do to improve. its absolutely perfect in everyway.

Room Tip: Room 10 is the junior suite. Its huge !!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This is our sixth stay at this absolutely wonderful hotel. We have been traveling to Italy once a year for the past six years and were lucky enough to find it by checking TripAdvisor before our first trip; since then, we have deliberately made Venice and this hotel a "must" for each trip. In fact, once we make our airplane reservations the next step is to reserve our room at Al Ponte Mocenigo. The hotel is a located in a brilliantly restored and renovated 500 year old building on a small canal with its own stone bridge over the canal. The rooms are all beautiful, restored with Venetian terazzo floors, beautifully finished wood and padded silk wall covering. All the modern conveniences have been installed in the renovation, and new rooms have been added progressively over the course of our stays.

The hotel is located on what must be the narrowest lane in Venice, but is marvelously close to a Vaporetto stop in the Santa Croce ares, which makes all of Venice within easy reach, but the neighborhood of the hotel is very peaceful and quiet - most of the people I see in the neighborhood appear to be locals.

Breakfast is great, served in a beautiful antique courtyard.

The hotel proprietors, Walter and Sandro, could not be nice, more friendly or more helpful. They have tried and succeeded each time we have been here to make our stay a great as possible. We now regard them as friends. After our 2-week trip all around Northern Italy, my wife and I said "We're home" as we got to the hotel desk - I can't give any higher praise about a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDEYES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The only time we have stayed in Venice was in the early 1970s when booking hotel rooms was quite different to today. In the 1960s work started to clean up Venice and one can see now the enormous improvement since then, particularly to the buildings.

This hotel has been number one on TripAdviser every year since it opened. I think most people must like the same things that we do such as friendly staff, immaculate rooms with character, gorgeous modern spacious bathrooms and excellent breakfasts. The only savoury food for breakfast were triangles of cheese spread and Philadelphia cream cheese, (it didn't matter to us that the hotel breakfasts did not include any cold meats), gorgeous fresh fruit salad, small cereal packets of Coco-pops, muesli and cornflakes, Nutella, honey, jams, rolls, delicious pastries, muffins, tea, and any sort of coffee.

Having read most of the over a thousand TripAdviser reviews I didn't bother to check out any other hotels as I knew this one would be the perfect hotel for us. As regards the hotel's star rating, Walter told me that they chose to be a two star hotel. A star rating can also go up according to whether, for instance, the hotel employs a permanent porter which, as far we are concerned, would not fit in with the personal attention guests have from the super owners Sandro and Walter who alternate at the reception desk for the whole day every day. There is someone at reception day and night. In the main part of the hotel, reception and three bedrooms are on the ground floor and there is only a first floor with the other bedrooms; we had our suitcases carried up to the first floor for us anyway which I am sure happens to every guest.

Rooms 1, 2 and 3 downstairs have showers and are standard rooms. Room 4 has been converted to a breakfast room next to the lovely courtyard area where one can also eat breakfast outside. All the rooms upstairs are superior with a shower over a bath tub. Room 5 is a delightful double room with a balcony overlooking the canal; room 6 can sleep 3 people with a canal view but no balcony; rooms 7 and 8 are doubles; room 9, which is the bedroom we had, can sleep 4 people and room 10 is a suite which can sleep 3 people. On reading the latest reviews I now remember some comments made about the beds; our bed was perfectly comfortable. Room 9 has two large windows and two small windows either side of what must have been originally a fireplace. Through the small windows one looks down onto the alleyway which we walked along from the San Stae water stop to the back door of the hotel. Another great asset to the hotel is that it is extremely easy to reach the hotel from the airport with the Alilaguna water bus orange (arancio) line to the San Stae stop. In the airport, near the luggage carousel, there is a ticket a machine for the Alilaguna water bus; a return ticket costs 27 euros.

I noticed that not only were all the staff very friendly but this friendliness seemed to permeate through the whole hotel to the guests as well. It can be compared to a first class bed and breakfast establishment. Thank you so much Walter and Sandro for the wonderful few days we spent in your hotel. We hope to come back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amazingfuntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
3,737 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 384 in Venice
1,927 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 384 in Venice
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#34 of 384 in Venice
2,387 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#27 of 384 in Venice
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#4 Family Hotel in Venice
#8 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#16 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £78 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing