We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel in this overpriced city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Ranked #14 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Great choice in Venice. Romantic, classic rooms - ours overlooked a small canal. Fantastic location just off Grand Canal and within walking distance to the main touristy parts of Venice and Campo S Margherita which was full of lively student bars and good restaurants in the streets off the square, we also found a small flea market there one day. Breakfast was served in the pretty courtyard and service was excellent. All in all, the perfect small hotel in Venice- which is reasonably priced!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,206 - 1,212 of 2,707 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

This was our third trip to Venice but the first for my Brother-in-law and Sister-in-law. Fabulous service. Breakfast was very nice. The hotel is beautifully maintained. It is an easy walk from the San Stae Vaparetto stop. Very good restaurants nearby. I can say this is my Venice place to stay from now on.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikej48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Just as fellow contributors, nothing more to add. Only to reconfirm everything from the fantastic service, to the spotless accommodation, we were in Annexe rm 45, our trip made all the more special for or stay here. Well done Walter and Sandro, a fantastic stay, many thanks.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
5  Thank SweetsGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel for four nights and loved it. The staff was superb, friendly, helpful, professional. Breakfast in the garden or adjoining room was special with waitresses bringing coffee of whatever variety and rolls to your table and a nice variety of fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, etc served buffet. The rooms were lovely and very clean. Our bath (we were in the new annex) was superbly fitted. My husband was having trouble with his leg, and the staff's helpful hints on what we might do without walking too far made our trip a beautiful experience, when it might otherwise have become a disaster. The location (San Polo, just off the canal is in a section of the city that is easy to navigate by foot. We never really got lost, and I ventured out while my husband rested to the central market (ATMs and shopping) and I Frari/Scuola di S. Rocco - both easily found and pleasant walks. The Vaporetto (water bus) stop is steps away and it is fun to ride, if crowded.

Room Tip: If you are offered a room in the hotel's annex, we stayed in one and it was fine! Clean, large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShawnBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I'm writing this using the free hotel Wi-Fi whilst sat on the bed in our room Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo. This hotel may be technically classed as a 2 star, but believe me, there is a reason it was voted the best Venice hotel on Trip Advisor for 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 (out of all the hotels, including the 5 stars).
Room is better than some 4 stars we've been in (we're in what they call the 'annex').
Breakfast is lovely.
Location is superb. It is just a minute from the nearest Alilugana (water coach) stop from the airport (San Stai), which is on the Orange line and 28 Euro return. San Stai is also a Vaporetto (water bus) stop, on route 2, and as they run every 10 to 20 minutes it means you can get anywhere in good time. My advice is to by a Vaporetto ticket for 48/72 hours etc, it seems expensive but it is well worth the money. The cost of a 48 hour one is about the cost of 4 single trips, and don't forget you can also use it to get to Murano, the Cemetery, the Lido, etc. You can buy the Vaporetto ticket when you buy the Alilugana ticket, but don't 'activate' it (swipe it in the reader at the stop) until the first time you want to use it as the 48 (etc) hours only start on that first swipe.
Basically the only reason this hotel doesn't have a higher rating is the lack of facilities like a bar, restaurant, etc. Well, you can pay for those things if you think you will want or might use them, or you can pay 150 euros per night like we did and stay in this little gem.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Rich0200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This was our first visit to Venice, and we were so lucky to have selected this hotel. What a great experience--far exceeding their two star rating! From the moment we arrived, Walter and Sandro made us feel right at home. We were given a room in the annex, so they helped carry our luggage to that building, showed us how to work things in our room, gave recommendations for restaurants, and made reservations for us at a few we selected. The rooms are very comfortable...much larger than other cities in Europe. Our room had high ceilings with wood beams, a Murano glass chandelier, green fabric covered walls, a table with chairs, an armoire, a day bed, and a queen size bed. Our view overlooked a courtyard and the room was extremely quiet. The bathroom looked as if it is brand new and was well equipped with a bidet, towel warmer, blow dryer, and large shower. The only "complaint" I can come up with is that the mattress was a bit firm. Even at that, we slept well both nights! We found the location to be an oasis compared to the crowded tourist areas around the Rialto Bridge and St. Marks Square. After walking shoulder to shoulder with people during the day and being bothered by peddlers on the streets surrounding the main sites, we enjoyed coming back to this quiet, residential area of Venice (which is just as beautiful and worth exploring!). It is located just steps away from the San Stae vaparetto stop, so it couldn't be more convenient. The breakfast was also something special. I have never had a better croissant in my life. They are large, fluffly, warm, and have an apricot filling inside. I would give anything to eat one again! They also had yogurt, cereals, fresh fruit salad, warm/cold beverages, meat, cheese, etc. If you are considering a trip to Venice, please look no further for your accomodations and choose the Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank danagriggs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

First time to Venice & had arranged to stay for 3 nights .On arrival Sandro made us feel very welcome & after checkin went through some info regarding Venice .

The room was very clean & everything you needed was there .My only criticism of the room is the showerhead was of no use & would never stay upright but i'm sure this will be fixed at some point .The location is great with just a 10-15 minute walk to Rialto Bridge .There is also a water bus stop 2 minutes from the Hotel .

The breakfast was very good ,especially the warm croissants & cappuccino ,very tasty .

Anyone visiting Venice should consider staying here !

Thankyou Sandro & Walter for making our stay in Venice a memorable one :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottfromthepans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 385 in Venice
3,871 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,976 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,472 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 385 in Venice
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#8 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#16 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £72 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing