We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, well located!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Ranked #9 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
218 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Quiet, well located!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo is a wonderful hotel, friendly, helpful staff and a great location. For new arrivals to Venice, it is an easy boat ride from the airport. Especially for nighttime arrivals, new, strange city, your drop off at the San Stae stop is an easy and straightforward walk to the hotel. Venice is about getting lost, but not when you want to get to your hotel! It is about a 20 minute walk to Piazza San Marco, but it's a fun walk through the Rialto area and past shops. We walked everywhere in Venice, it was more convenient for us than taking vaporetto around. The rooms are comfortable and rather large, we had a balcony overlooking the canals. The hairdryer in the room was broken, but I was offered a replacement or a "normal" hairdryer (aka one not attached to the wall). Breakfast was wonderful, lots of delicious pastries, fruit, cereals, juices and hot beverages. I'm getting hungry just thinking about it! It looked like the hotel had loaner boots available for use during acqua alta, which luckily we did not have to use.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAK314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,188
    348
    43
    5
    3
See reviews for
429
1,653
70
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Very happy with our stay here. We were in the separate part of the hotel (think it has two parts). No problems, lovely room, awesome shower and extremely close to Stan Stae Pier.

Slight negative was the breakfast. They offer coffee, cereal, bread, boiled eggs and juices. It would have been nice to have done bacon, fried eggs, etc. But still, it filled us up :)

Brilliant service. Def stay here again

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aaron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL! The rooms are so nice, you will not want to leave your room to see Venice! You will want to lie on the couch or on the bed, staring at the walls, the chandeliers, the ceiling and the view outside the window.

Alright seriously, this is one of the best rooms we had stayed so far in our travels. It's located in the annex building, and consists of a small living room with a bedroom with ensuite bathroom. The room is so classic, from the floor, the walls, the ceilings and the chandeliers. It's really beautiful.

Breakfast is great with croissants, bread, pastries, cakes, cereals, milk and juices and coffee/tea. Not the typical continental breakfast, but good enough to start your day. The staff is warm and friendly. Seriously, what more can one ask for?

From the train station, you can walk or take the vaporetto and alight at San Stae, and then walk about 100m to the hotel's backdoor through a super narrow alley. Very accessible. The area is quiet and non-touristy, perfect for me. There are good restaurants nearby, for example La Zucca and Muro Venezia.

If you are looking for a five/six star hotel with pool/jacuzzi, gym etc, then this is not a hotel for you. If you are looking for a quaint place, this is it. We cannot believe this hotel is just 2/3 stars. It should be a minimum 4!

Note: During our stay at the annex, there's a construction/renovation going on a couple of doors away from the annex. Because it's an old building, the vibrations cause small bits of cement from the ceiling to fall and dirty the bed. No big deal to us though. We still love our room. There is only 1 choice of accomodation for us if we visit Venice again :)

Room Tip: Stay at the annex. No lifts though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CMLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Close your eyes for a second. Imagine opening them to a gloriously cosy Venetian room with wooden beams and traditional furniture. You've just found yourself in Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo.

Right from the minute go, I realised we had made the right choice staying at this hotel. We actually walked from the bus station (about 15 minutes) rather than getting the Vaporetto (despite the stop as other reviewers have mentioned being only a minute walk away) eventually finding it on the narrowest of narrow alleyways. The person on reception was very friendly and showed us to our room. We stayed in the "new" part of the hotel, which is located just the other side of a small canal bridge. The room itself was as stereotypically Venetian as we could have imagined. The bathroom was spotless, the free wifi is always a bonus and the blackout blinds were quite literally a dream.

The hotel itself is located in the Santa Croce part of town, which is a quiet area dominated by locals. It was particularly quiet though I think that this was partly to do with the time of year of the visit (December). However, we particularly enjoyed this feel and it felt very safe. Within a 10-15 minute walk you would come to the Rialto Bridge so it's not that far away to the main part of town.

We didn't try the breakfast although on passing it looked credible. The other major highlight of this hotel was the price. In Venice it seemed impossible to get a decent hotel for under £200 per night but thankfully I came across this particular hotel on tripadvisor.

I would come back again. Hopefully it won't be too long to visit one of the best places in the world.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VascoHoskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed in a junior suite on the 1st floor, which was very spacious and quiet. The room was clean, included free wifi, good air conditioning, a small in-room safe and a fridge (fridge only worked when the room key was in the key card wall slot - we left our automobile association plastic membership card in the wall slot to keep the fridge cold while we were out).

The hotel is a 20-30 minute walk to St Mark’s square. But don’t be put off by the distance. The walk to the square is part of the fun and the location is peaceful and quiet. There is a local grocery store and restaurants within a 5-minute walk of the hotel.

The hotel is super-easy to access from the train or airport. It’s easy to catch the vaporetto (no. 1) from St Lucia train station to Stan-Stae, even with luggage. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the vaporetto stop (easier to access via the back door, walk straight ahead from the vaporetto ,keep the church on your left, and turn into first street on left). The Aliguna water taxi picks up from Stan-Stae vaporetto stop or, alternatively, it is only 2 vaporetto stops to Piazza Roma to catch the bus to the airport.

The breakfast was quite simple, but more than adequate. All staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hataitans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel (8 nights), and I would do so again for all the same reasons. It is just a lovely place to stay in Venice. I would echo all the positive comments from previous reviews. They are well deserved.
I was in 2 rooms in the annex buildings, and both were just grand. I love those beds.
Buy the ACTV Travel Card for the duration of your stay. The proximity of the vaporetto station at San Stae makes it easy to use them to get around the city, and it's good value the more you use the Card.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spiinyynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

We liked absolutely everything about this hotel. The staff were kind, pleasant and obliging. The decor elegant Italian, the amenities spotless and the bed extremely comfortable.The prices for the bar fridge were very good. The breakfast fresh and delicious. The dining room and cleaning service fantastic. We have never been so impressed with a hotel ever. We will definitely stay here again and will recommend Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo to all our friends. Thank you Walter and Sandro. Plus there was free wifi at the hotel, which was a bonus because there seemed to be limited wifi anywhere in the public/tourist areas of Venice

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Browsers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,481 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Cannaregio
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
#1 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#12 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Property: Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Venice
#5 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#8 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#16 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing