We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel in an Amazing City.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Ranked #12 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel in an Amazing City.”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We found the Hotel through Trip advisor and I cannot recommend it enough. We were across the canal in the annex which meant our trips to and from breakfast were fantastic. The men running this hotel could not be more helpful. Nothing was a problem nor an issue that they could not solve. We caught a water taxi to the hotel and entered through the canal water door.
Our room was large and furnished in true Venetian style. It was well set out. very comfortable and very clean.
The room was quiet and the hotel is located within easy walking distance of all of Venice.The only complaint from my wife was that the bed was too hard.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,206
    350
    43
    5
    4
See reviews for
436
1,665
70
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We spent two nights at Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo in January, staying in the junior suite (room 32) on the second floor of the annexe building on Salizada San Stae.

The room was comfortable and beautifully decorated, though it's worth mentioning that this junior suite is not the one mentioned on their website and has no hydro-massage bath, four poster bed or terrace. It did however, have a nice little balcony which would have given a glimpse of the Grand Canal had there not been scaffolding up a few doors down. I found the bed a little firm for my taste, but my wife thought it was very comfortable.

The annexe building is separated from the main hotel by a short walk around the corner and down an alleyway - no big deal and you can forgive it for what is obviously a fairly family-run place that has made the decision to try and expand with their much deserved popularity.

Staff were generally fluent in English - some exceptionally so - and very welcoming. There were nice little touches such as the books, wellies and umbrellas which were free for guests to use. They also held our bags for a few hours after check-out so we could continue exploring Venice without lugging them around.

Being near to San Stae was handy for the vaporetto; especially taking the Allilaguna boat straight to the airport without any need to carry suitcases over bridges. It was a quiet neighbourhood, slightly off the beaten track but still only 10 minutes to Rialto or San Polo.

Overall, a great little hotel and quite reasonably priced. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had the most wonderful and charming stay at this hotel back in July. The quality of this hotel, from the service, to the furnishings, to the breakfast - absolutely exceeded our expectations in every way. It is difficult to believe that this hotel is a 2 star, it feels like it's closer to a 4 star. The value for money also cannot be beat, especially for Venice.

The location is amazing, in a quiet street in the San Croce neighbourhood - you'll spot local Venetians going about their business. It's far from the noisy tourist crowds but close enough to be just a few minutes walk to the main attractions including Rialto and Piazza San Marco. It is also just a few steps away from the San Stae vaporetto stop- not only is this this stop super convenient but the buildings around there are breathtaking.

European style breakfast was varied and delicious and is eaten in the magical, charming courtyard! The croissants here were the best we have ever tried, just delicious.

We stayed in the Annex right next to the main hotel building. Staff took our suitcases up to our room. The furnishings were so pretty and the room and bathroom were immaculately clean! The front desk service was very friendly and helpful that even on our last night they stocked us up with bottled water and snacks as we were leaving so early the next morning we were missing breakfast - cannot fault this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dalmatinka_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I found through Tripadvisor too - so thanks to others reviews. Excellent, very friendly and welcoming hotel in a fairly quiet Venice location - but only 10 minutes walk from the Rialto bridge and 'centre'. Nicely furnished older style building created just the right ambience for the city. Good breakfast and excellent service from all concerned.
Add to that, the location is just moments from the San Stae vaporetto stop on the Grand Canal; which also has half hourly direct, fast boats to Marco Polo Airport across the lagoon.
I was lucky enough to have a late lunch in Venice and be home for early evening in London !
Highly recommend the hotel and it will be where I stay when I next go to Venice.

Room Tip: I enjoyed a deluxe room (No 5) overlooking both courtyard and small canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OurManIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterport, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Our first time in venice. This hotel was just a short walking distance to the Rialto Bridge as well as other points of interest. A water taxi station was a very short distance away so we could easily hop on and go where we needed to. Once you understand the taxi system very easy to get around. Our host answered all our questions and was very good about suggestions. Rooms were clean, the staff very friendly and made you feel comfortable there. Would definitely go back and highly recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnRonco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Ideally located near a vaporetto stop in the quiet, respectable neighbourhood of San Croce, this little gem was everything we were looking for in a first trip to Venice. Room and breakfast superb and the staff were uniformly wonderful, entertaining and helpful. Can't wait to go back and would unhesitatingly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSW52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle-under-lyme
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I found this little gem of a hotel, through Tripadvisor and I have to say its fantastic. Ok so it has no in room tea & coffee making facilities but we never had a problem sitting down near reception and getting a cup of tea or a latte. Walter is very accommodating , as are all the staff. We arrived in Venice on Sunday 29th December for our honeymoon, unfortunately our case didn't Walter charged our phones for us and gave us directions to the COOP supermarket, even ringing to check opening times of the supermarket for us before hand.

The room was lovely and clean and the bathroom was great with a big tub and a powerful shower. There is free WiFi throughout the hotel and a computer for guest use, the breakfast is nice with boiled eggs, bread rolls various cereals and jams etc. All very pleasant. The courtyard area outside is very pretty, but due to it being December we didn't eat or drink outside.

The location is a big plus for the hotel. It is situated a stones throw from San Stae vaparetto stop, which is also a night stop if you're a night owl you will have no problem getting back late. Its location means you don't have to cross any bridges with your luggage (if it arrives) and it means you won't need to be walking round clutching a street map trying to find your hotel.

We used the water taxi which cost us 27 euros each return and took about 40 mins from the airport. We would use the hotel again if we returned to Venice. We loved all the christmas lights that lit up the myriad of streets that make up Venice and the tree in the square was really nice.

Walter did give us various transfer options when we booked which we found very informative and made planning our arrival from the airport easier. If you book this hotel I guarantee you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wolverine360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Cannaregio
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
#1 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#13 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Property: Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Venice
#7 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#8 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#16 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing