We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Nearby Hotels
US$438
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$393
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
US$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$306
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$371
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,774)
Filter reviews
2,774 results
Traveller rating
2,343
374
47
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,343
374
47
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan staevaporetto stoprialto bridgecroissantsprivate bridgegrand canalthe main hotelbeautiful courtyardminute walkfresh fruit saladannex buildingtrain stationwater busnarrow alleysmall canalhigh ceilingsquiet neighborhood
Filter
Updating list...
707 - 712 of 2,774 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel in April 2013 as a group of ladies. In April 2014 I brought my husband and my friend and her husband. We booked a junior suite in the annexe - door into a small hallway, 2 large bedrooms, one ensuite and one with its own bathroom down the short corridor. Beautifully clean, and just across the small canal from the hotel courtyard. Easy walk to Rialto and San Marco and all points beyond.

I cannot understand any of those who slate this hotel. All the staff are super helpful and friendly, and a mine of information if you want to get around the city or out to the islands. The rooms and bathrooms are immaculate. The breakfasts are fab.

How can people say the breakfasts are not up to much when they comprise of lovely coffees (black, cappuccino, latte etc), fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, fruit juices, rice cakes, boiled eggs, quiche, strudel, cakes, muffins, rolls with butter, jams and soft cheese, and not forgetting the wonderful crispy apricot croissants?! They must either be very greedy, or not have experienced a standard European continental breakfast where the norm is often just bread and coffee! This is a veritable feast compared to many hotels - often those with a much higher star rating. The only point I would raise this year is that the black coffee poured into jugs does tend to cool very quickly, but is constantly replenished, so not really a problem.

We loved the fact that the hotel is off the tourist beat, and tried to eat and drink at places frequented by the locals - much better food and prices. Nowhere is particularly cheap in Venice, but having been somewhat overcharged the first night, we frequented the lovely Osteria Mocenigo just above the hotel for a couple of nights - all pleased with our food choices (although we did notice that locals did receive rather larger portions!).

My grandson now wants me to take him to Venice having read the Scorpia book set in the city. Hopefully it will mean I can visit this little gem once again. Valter and Sandro - I think you run a wonderful hotel with super staff and I cannot understand anyone who thinks differently!

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe are large, beautifully decorated and pretty quiet - there are steep stairs though, so do check if you have anyone in your party with mobility problems.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jabaxse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We travelled to Venice in April for a long weekend and chose this hotel because it was reasonable and there were a lot of rave reviews.

The hotel is situated a little bit outside the main tourist attractions which we both liked as it was nice and quiet in the evening. The only downside to this is that if you want something to eat late in the evening there is nothing on site and no nearby shops.

The room we stayed in was really noisy and we were woken up every morning as the morning breakfast room was right outside our room. We were offered another room in another building but as we were only there for 3 nights it didn’t seem worth the hassle.

The breakfast was very limited with not much choice which was a bit of a shame. The rooms were very small and lacked any character, the beds were also very uncomfortable.

Overall the stay was fine because of our short stay and we were out for most of the time (any longer and we would have moved hotels), but for those looking for something amazing and lux, this definitely isn’t the hotel for you I’m afraid. You get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Dont shoose the room on the ground floor near the dining area - its very noisy and you will get woken up every morning
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Persephone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay here. The owners and staff are super friendly. The hotel is easy to reach by vaporetto or aliliguna from airport and we walked to the train station.

The rooms are beautiful and breakfast is very good, made even better by the friendly staff bringing fresh pastries and bread made on site and offering cappuchino and other drinks. Breakfast includes various pastries, fruit salad, juice, cereal, quiche and yogurt and coffees.

Hotel is a quick walk to rialto and in a quiet area.

Quick tips: muro san stae is good for pizza/pasta, great dessert place on san stae, and there is an eccentric puzzlemaker nearbye on san stae. Stop in and ask him to explain his work. It is quite unique.

There are many good places to snack or have a meal in venice so stray a bit from the tourist areas and if a place is busy make a reservation for another day or later that night.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HamptonPDX123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Marco Polo airport to San Stae took about 45 minutes and we travelled on the Alleguna local water bus. Round trip tickets cost 27 euros each and are purchased at a ticket office located near the front entrance of the airport. It's a 7 minute walk from the airport to the port with clearly marked directions. The hotel is located about 50mtrs walk when you get off the boat and you can reach it by either walking to the left hand side of the church then across the small bridge. This will take you to the front entrance of the hotel and the new annexe. Alternatively, it's a straight walk from the boat and first left past the church down a very narrow alley which leads to the back door of the hotel.

Our room (No. 6) was on the first floor and was clean and comfortable, we overlooked the small canal at the back. During our 3 night stay, we didn't hear any noise at all.
A few local restaurants are within a short walk of the hotel and are good value compared with the more touristy areas. The hotel supplied us with a street map and like many who visit Venice we got lost on more than one occasion!

We would recommend this hotel for its quiet location, it is also well placed for the local valporetto water bus which can take you to most places in Venice should you find the walking too much. The staff are very helpful and friendly and do make you feel welcome.

However, a few niggles:-

We were informed that the air conditioning was not working and to open a window if the room got too warm..
Water leaked from the mini bar fridge which would have caused problems if the room was carpeted. Although we did not report it, the cleaner would have easily spotted it.
No tea or coffee making facilities were available in the room which we found a little disappointing as these day's this should be supplied as standard.

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st floor room as they are quieter. The ground floor rooms are near the reception and the breakfast room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A long overdue review as we stayed last July for 4 nights in a double room. The hotel is a straight short walk from the San Stae water stop and very easy to get to from the airport and to the train station. Check in was friendly and we stayed in the annex part which was very quiet and only just down a little narrow side alley away from the main building. For breakfast in the lovely courtyard we just buzzed the door and were let in at the side entrance. It might sound inconvenient but it really wasn't and it was safe and nice to have our own entry off the street for the annexe rooms. The ladies at breakfast were so friendly and smiling it was a pleasure. Our room was of a good size and clean and welcoming. We were pleased to have chosen this quieter area but still very accessible to the food markets and very walkable to St Marks Square. There are nice restaurants in the hotel street. Would definitely return- location, friendliness, value, safety, quietness, cleanliness!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelTime30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews