We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Ranked #13 of 388 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Al Ponte Mocenigo, and the reason we booked, was the reviews on trip advisor. We were not disappointed, it was in a very local italian area, on a quiet canal just off the Grand Canal. The courtyard was really pretty, very venetian. We were staying in the annexe just over the bridge, a large room with a view over the canal. The en suite was a large bathroom with walk in shower, the towels were fresh every day, which we were impressed by, this hotel has only 2 stars, you are treated as if it were a 4 star. Breakfast was in the courtyard every morning. A fabulous selection of pastries, cereals, yoghurts, fruit juices, cream cheeses, fresh fruit, rolls and croissants, something for everyone. Lots of choice for coffee, breakfast was served from I think 8 - 10am and it was where we planned our day. Great....
The walk into the Rialto Bridge took about 10 minutes, so although in a quiet location it didn't take long to get to anywhere. The Vaperetto stop at San Stae will take you into the main areas, it is almost like a City Tour Bus, Number 1 is the only water bus that will bring you back to San Stae..... you can buy a ticket on board for however long you want and get on and off to visit different areas. You need to validate your ticket before boarding the water bus on the machines which look like a clock, swipe from the back, there is a bar code like a strip and when you pass it across the machine it will beep. We went out to the Lido twice and only once did we get off, it is amazing seeing Venice from different angles and if you want to take photos a great place to do it from.

Room Tip: All rooms I would think are quiet, but it is nice having a view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSimpson43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

666 - 672 of 2,730 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

I can not say ENOUGH about this lovely convienent hotel. We are travelers that have traveled most of the world. I honestly can say that I have never been treated as well in any other hotel than we had in this one. They are professional lovely poeple who own and work at this establishment. They go so far out of their way to accomodate their guests. I would HIGHLY reccommend this property to anyone traveling to the Venice area. Their prices are very reasonable, the location is truly ideal so close to the vaporetto stop (only feet away), the hotel is clean which for me is a MUST. No doubt they are at the very TOP OF THE LIST on tripadvisor's best of the best. Thank you for such a wonderful experinace!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Booked a week here six months ago and reminded them last month with a request for a soft bed topper.My wife and I arrived early and were welcomed into the "family" by Walter with hot drinks while our room was being readied, and have had a very happy stay here. All the staff, without exception, have been friendly and helpful - in fact, the whole atmosphere of this hotel is good-natured and peaceful. Every request was fulfilled, and we found this area very convenient for walking to St Marks via the Rialto, or hopping onto the vaparetto at St Stae (approx 30 meters from the hotel) which takes you all over Venice and the lagoon. We strongly recommend that you book this hotel for your stay in Venice - it will not disappoint you.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights over the Easter weekend in April.

The hotel is located slightly off the tourist track in a quiet little street but still within walking distance to attractions such as the Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco. There were lots of nice little restaurants close by frequented by the locals. There is also a vaporreto stop just a short walk from the hotel although we didn't discover this until after we had struggled through Venice on foot with our luggage!

Our room was located in the annexe part of the hotel. The room was small but of a high standard, exceptionally clean throughout with what looked to be a new bathroom. Again, this was spotless. Some beautiful venetian touches in the bedroom such as the murano glass chandelier and typically venetian style furniture. The hotel also offers free wifi.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. If you need any advice on how to get about just ask Walter at reception and he will advise you and supply you with a map.

Breakfast was continental style; croissants, toast, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, tea, coffee etc.

The hotel feels much more luxurious than it's 2* rating and I think you would struggle to find anything better for the price.

If planning another trip to Venice we would definitely return to The Al Ponte Mocenigo.


Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Rach_Wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I can only agree with earlier reviews - it is a lovely place and we felt very welcome by the super friendly and helpful owners and staff. We stayed for 2 nights and had to change rooms because they didn't have availability for 2 nights in the same room (we knew this when we booked) but that was no problem at all. While we were out during the day, the staff moved all our stuff the the other room. So we got to see two very different kind of rooms in different buildings - both really nice! As we arrived early in the morning we left our bags with the hotel until check-in time. We were very kindly offered coffee and croissants (for free) before heading out to explore the city. Breakfast has a good selection, I especially appreciated the fresh fruitsallad and the bake stuff where to die for.... We loved the location, away from the busy tourist area, but still quick and easy to get there by vaporetto but we prefered to walk the little lanes and streets. There are some really nice and cosy restaurants and winebars close by, perfect place to end the day. I'm so glad we stayed here and I will definitely stay here when I come back to Venice again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Fab hotel, very, very friendly staff. Rooms are unique and all with en suite comfy beds, spotlessly clean. Staff helpful and booked restaurants for us which was difficult as there was six in the party.
Girls all had a fab time, sat outside for breakfast and drinks, beautifully set. Now planning next years trip.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent good choice of double rooms and superior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

From the moment we arrived, and were invited to take the weight from our feet outside in the courtyard for tea & coffee prior to dealing with the admin of check in, we knew that we had chosen a fantastic place. This was the first time that we had used TripAdvisor to help select a hotel and were not remotely disappointed.

Through e-mails direct to the hotel before we had travelled, we had arranged an upgrade to a "double superior" room which I would strongly recommend. As you can see from the photos attached to this review, our room (9), was a really good size, traditionally finished and extremely comfortable.

The staff in the hotel were extremely welcoming and helpful, always willing to offer advice about places to go and how to get there. Breakfast in the mornings was a particular delight, always a continental breakfast and always far more than we could eat. It was very enjoyable to wake up to the smell of freshly baked croissants wafting through the hotel.

Things to bear in mind if you're ever looking at heading to Venice:
The return trip from Marco Polo airport to Venice on the water bus is 27 euros each and by far the best of all the options. (The walk from the nearest stop to the hotel is only around a minute.)
Once at the hotel, everywhere in Venice is walkable and you really don't need to shell out on a week long pass for the waterbus.
If you are planning on a gondola ride (which surely it goes without saying that you should), you don't need to pre-book. The best place to go from is down by St Mark's Square. You will find that the gondola men offer either a short trip for 80 euros or a long one for 120. We found however that if you asked for the short one, you would always be told that their colleague would be along shortly and then got ignored. Each gondola can fit up to 6 people in and on the whole couples were pairing up with other couples to reduce the cost. This was surprisingly not half as awkward as you would imagine and also meant that we had someone to take a couple of photos for us.

All in all, this hotel and visit to Italy surpassed all of our expectations and we would love to go back. As and when we do, we will definitely look to revisit this beautiful little place.

Room Tip: We liaised with the hotel before we travelled and arranged an upgrade to a "double superior&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JonBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#7 of 388 in Venice
3,954 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 388 in Venice
2,212 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 388 in Venice
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 388 in Venice
864 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 388 in Venice
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#8 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#16 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £73 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing