We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B in fantastic location”
Review of Casa Rezzonico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Rezzonico
Ranked #134 of 482 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Casa Rezzonico offers good value and service in a fantastic location.
We stayed at Casa Rezzonico for three nights during Easter weekend 2013. We chose it based on price, location and TA reviews. We had the triple on the ground floor. The room was on the small side for three adults but perfectly fine for three days in Venice. We were hardly there. The bathroom was also fine, with a roomy walk-in shower. My father slept on the “third” bed and had no complaints!
The best thing about this B&B is the location: in the heart of Venice, easy to get to, a few minutes from the Accademia bridge but in a quiet neighborhood just off the beaten track. It is close to Campo San Barnaba and Campo Santa Margherita and lots of restaurants, shops and cafes. As recommended, we took the vaporetto (water bus) from the train station. As you come out of the station the vaporetto stop is off to the right (no. 1 in the direction of “Lido”). The price of a one-way, one-stop ticket was 7 euros per person.
I really liked the nearby restaurants recommended by Matteo and Mattia (Pane Vino e San Daniel, Taverna San Trovaso and Casin dei Nobili). The breakfast buffet includes cereal and milk, yogurt, fruit, rolls, pastries, jam, a little cheese, and juice, coffee and tea. One afternoon they made me a pot of tea upon request. The service is very friendly and they answered our many questions. Our last night there we experienced “high water” around midnight, due to the high tide. The night guard kept an eye on the predicted levels online and assured us the water would not go higher than the top step to the B&B; only the sidewalk flooded. It was exciting to see from the safety of the B&B and the water was gone in the morning.
This is a great base for exploring Venice!

Room Tip: The triple is at the back of the house on the ground floor next to the breakfast room and very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IloveItaly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

We really loved this place. We requested a room with a view on the little canal that runs down to Campo San Barnaba (made famous as the place where Katherine Hepburn falls into the canal in "Summertime," for those of a certain age). Boy, were we glad we did. Being able to open the window out onto that canal was a highlight of our time in Venice. (Tip: The GROM in Campo San Barnaba makes outstanding gelato.)

The room was spacious and the bath was nice-sized, by Italian standards. Matteo and Mattia (brothers) were extremely helpful during our stay. They helped arrange for a tennis lesson on the Lido and made other reservations and recommendations for us. The lively Campo Santa Margherita is close by but far enough away so it doesn't interfere with sleeping.

There is a nearby bell tower that rings a lot but we found that charming. It stops ringing after 11 pm, if I remember correctly.

The charming garden is great for breakfast, and most of the tables are under a covered area, so no worries if the weather is a little drizzly as was the case for some of the three mornings we were there. They've got a nifty little automatic espresso/coffee machine that's fun to use and makes tasty drinks. We enjoyed the variety of foods available for breakfast, esp. some really tasty pastries.

We will definitely recommend this place to others. It was the most expensive place we stayed, but the rates were definitely comparable to other places in Venice, which is known for being pricey.

Room Tip: You have a choice of a canal view or a garden view. The garden view will be quieter due to no potent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelSeattle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Enjoyable stay at Casa Rezzonico. Rooms were comfortable, location, close to vapparetto Only suggestion is more variety and better quality baked good at the breakfast.

V close to restaurants and two lively squares.

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking the garden. Larger room and lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 15torontotraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I found this small hotel in Rick Steve's Guide as I didn't want to stay near the train station. It's very close to a vaparetto stop and close to the Academia bridge. They have only 7 rooms and a lovely garden where they serve breakfast. Our room was on the ground floor facing the garden and it was very quiet, spacious and well equipped. I would bring my own hair dryer, though as they have a wall dryer which is basically a hose!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This hotel is conveniently located near a vaporetto stop, the Accademia, lots of restaurants (St Margherita Sq and on the street "behind" the hotel.

The rooms are clean and spacious. We had the double on the ground level facing into the garden. The garden is really lovely and the breakfast is generous.

The Dorsoduro area is much more relaxed than the hub around St Marks and the Rialto - but easy walking distance. The price was very reasonable.

The two hosts ( whose name I have already forgotton ) were friendly and helpful and certainly their English was better than my embarrassingly poor Italian.

We found the place through the Fodor's guide.

Room Tip: I think they only have about 6 or 8 rooms. We loved the double on the main floor overlooking the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiheiAkahiOfficial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Located on a side-canal within easy walking-distance from the Ca' Rezzonico vaporetto stop, Casa Rezzonico more than fulfilled our need for a comfortable, quiet refuge from the overwhelming crowds of Venice. It's location is it's greatest asset: in a quiet neighborhood, near Camp San Barnaba, cafes, markets. Our room was on the top (3rd) floor, and was really an attic conversion. We liked it for the quiet, but it felt a little cramped, especially the bathroom. Were we to return, we would ask for any of the four rooms located on the 2nd floor, which were much more spacious and "Venetian".

Owner/ manager was very helpful, including carrying bags up and down for us. Breakfast was very nice - the usual buffet (limited choices, but enough to satisfy) - with seating out in the lovely courtyard; very good capuccino machine. And the courtyard is a wonderful place to return to in the mid-afternoon for a much needed respite from the madness. (Venice is a one-of-a-kind, not-to-be-missed destination, but be prepared for Times Square-levels of humanity, and try and find ways to escape from them, such as Casa Rezzonico, San Giorgio Maggiore island, out-of-the-way neighborhoods, etc., to preserve your sanity. And save as much exploring as possible for after 6pm, when the cruise-ship crowds are thankfully back on-board, and Venice becomes truly magical.)

An excellent value for the city and the accomodations. But choose Casa Rezzonico for it's quiet, off-the-beaten-path (literally) location as your much-needed refuge. Believe me: you'll need it!

Directions: take the "local" vaporetto down the Grand Canal; get off at Ca' Rezzonico, walk down the only path you can, a narrow passage between buildings, to Campo San Barnaba (a square). Cross the square diagonally to a side-canal; follow it past a bridge to your Casa. Very easy to find, in a city where millions of tourists get lost looking for their hotel (I've seen 'em - it's pathetic).

Room Tip: avoid the attic, if you can. courtyard-facing rooms are quietest, which is what you'll need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank savvyaztravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We selected Casa Rezzonico for our Venice accomodation after reading about it in Rick Steves guide book and checking it out on Tripadvisor . We were not dissapointed .We really liked the location . Venice can be a frenetic place and it is nice to have a bolt hole to come back to at the end of the day (or night !) The local neighbourhood is charming . Casa Rezzonico is on a side canal which is very pretty and we enjoyed walking around the immediate neighbourhood
It is very conveniently located to the vaperoto stop . Alternatively the walk across the bridges is a great way to explore venice . When we left to go to the rental car depot and head toTuscany it was very easy to leave by Vaperoto -just a short walk with our suitcases
Highly recommended . It is not the Ritz but is friendly , charming and authentic .

Room Tip: The room at the very top is quite small . The other rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kiwifreespirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Pausania
Hotel Pausania
#172 of 387 in Venice
474 reviews
San Polo
Pensione Guerrato
Pensione Guerrato
#152 of 387 in Venice
600 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#199 of 387 in Venice
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' San Trovaso
Ca' San Trovaso
#58 of 482 in Venice
116 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' del Brocchi
Locanda Ca' del Brocchi
#120 of 482 in Venice
201 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pensione La Calcina
Pensione La Calcina
#40 of 482 in Venice
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rezzonico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rezzonico

Address: Fondamenta Girardini Dorsoduro 2813 | Dorsoduro, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 482 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: £67 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Rezzonico 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Rezzonico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rezzonico Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing