We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faded elegance within minutes of St Mark's Square”
Review of Locanda Cavanella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Locanda Cavanella
Ranked #220 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Faded elegance within minutes of St Mark's Square”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We spent one night in the Locanda Cavanella in Venice and would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in Venice at as very reasonable price for a central location. The hotel is in one of the small streets behind St Mark's Square and whilst tricky to find initially, was very convenient.

The hotel, somewhat like Venice itself, has an air of faded elegance with old fashioned chandeliers, a lot of gold paint and marble floors. Our room was comfortable and spotless, with an efficient shower, although my friend complained that it was built for one of the 7 dwarves!

One thing to point out for anyone who wants to use electrical equipment, the sockets are the very old type with 3 round pins, so remember to take a suitable adaptor as the usual European ones do not fit.

We breakfasted in the smallest dining room ever, the hotel lobby in fact, but despite this quirk, the breakfast was simple and delicious.

The Locanda Cavanella is definitely not the Ritz, but for 110 Euros for bed and breakfast in the centre of the city, you could do much worse.

One more small word of warning, there were a couple of holes in the marble floor in the bedroom - surreptitiously covered by a rug!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    76
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
80
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erkrath, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

we stayed for 5 night in this wonderfully placed small hotel that is extremely close to the cetntre of venice.
we arrived relatively late, after 23:00 and made 1 phone call upon which a night concierge came around the corner and checked us in.
The hotel is just 3 minutes walking distance from the vaporetto stop San Sacarias / San Marco, just 5 minutes to Piaza San Marco, the area has everything you need from small snack bars to very good restaurants, including the oldest pizzaria in Venice as well as small shops. The room we stayed in had a comfortable double bed with air conditioning and a small bathroom, a TV and a fan. the breakfast service was set up in a very nice way by the very friendly and helpfull Anna, in the lobby area. The breakfast was offered as a buffet with bread rolls, brioche, cereals, cheese, salami, boiled eggs, youghurt and fruit, coffee or tea and orange juice. We would definitely stay there again and say thank you to Locanda Cavanella.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed 4 nights, easy to find and very near St Marks Square. Late arrival and needed to phone for key. On 1st floor room very spacious with 1 double and 2 single beds, TV and fan. No AC. bathroom had shower and toilet very clean. Breakfast at set time in small reception area, juice, ham cheese and rolls. Free WIFI. would stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marieanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights. The Hotel is very hard to find as it is in a back alley but one found it is easy to orientate yourself to the main walkways. This is a very small hotel but has a lot of charm. The room faced the alley but it did not matter - it was exactly as I had envisioned a small backstreet Venetian hotel. The breakfast in the morning was served by a very pleasant Young lady and consisted of a boiled egg, salami, cheese, some nice croissants and great yogurt. The bathroom was perhaps on the small side but the room was big enough and the furnishings in keeping with the City. I would stay here again. 5 Min walk to San Marco.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trek_Mate_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Great little hotel with only 5 guest rooms and a small reception-come-breakfast area. No complaints as regards cleanliness and location. However, although we had emailed the hotel to give them our time of arrival (as it is not manned all the time) and we got a reply so we know they received the email - there was no one to open the front door on our arrival at 10pm. We rang the emergency number on a card on the front door but that phone was switched off! So we were very tired and wanting to lay our heads down and stood outside for about 15 mins wondering if we would have to find somewhere else to stay. Then by sheer luck, a guest came out of the hotel and said she had had the same trouble. She led us to another hotel a couple of streets away and the bloke on the reception there took us back and checked-us in, Not a very satisfactory arrangement for arrivals really. Having said that our stay was fine, we loved the location and loved Venice... and the weather was superb as well. One last gripe..., on the last day we came down to breakfast and there was a pleasant Moldovan girl serving us, but then a woman who turned out to be the owner arrived at the hotel, came in and started shouting at her very loudly in Italian, making the poor girl cry. We felt so sorry for the girl as the owner was very unprofessional to tell her off in front of us and it made us feel very uncomfortable. Apart from the way they treat their employees, I could recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bevanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We booked this B&B on the recommendation of my friend who had stayed previously. It is 2-3 minutes from St Marks and also the nearest vaporetto stop. There is also an excellent restaurant nearby, Al Vecio Canton.
The hotel is located down a small street and when you approach you wonder where on earth you have chosen to stay. Once inside when you see the rooms you soon change your opinion. For such a small establishment (5 rooms), the rooms and bathrooms are quite big. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom has a decent shower.
Breakfast is served in the reception area and although a continental breakfast (well you are in Italy!). There is cooked meat, cheese, yogurt, ryvitas, packets of toast, jams, bread, croissants and tinned fruit.
My only complaint, but it is more a general Italian hotel complaint, is the lack of tea and coffee making facilities. I did go prepared though with my travel kettle.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieCavogreco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wordsley
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this b&b, the room was big and cleaned every day with clean towels.
The breakfast was delivered to our door every morning, and was always nice with something different on there every day. Its in very close proximity to the water bus stop and st marks square. We only paid 50EUD per night in January which was a bargain really. My only gripe was that we seamed to be close to a market seller who was continualy taking a trolley up and down the cobbled street, starting around 6.30 in the morning!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAGGIES1968Wordsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Alla Corte Rossa
Alla Corte Rossa
#222 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bridge
Hotel Bridge
#251 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Castello
Locanda Canal
Locanda Canal
#319 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#170 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Fontanea
Ca' Fontanea
#162 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#102 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Cavanella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Cavanella

Property: Locanda Cavanella
Address: Calle Cavanela Castello 4483, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Cavanella 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Locanda Cavanella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cavanella Venice
Casa Cavanella Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing