We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residenza degli Angeli
Ranked #17 of 463 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Close walk to everything, but in a quiet location. Small, but clean and sufficient rooms. Owner was very nice and helpful. Breakfast was good- croissants, yogurt, juices, warm beverages. Had to use wi fi on main floor.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have to share an external bathroom. Rooms with attached bathrooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mily1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    190
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
220
265
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pismo Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The B&B facility is nice, but not 5 star facilities. What makes me give it the highest recommendation is it's location, which is perfect for exploring Venice, and Esmeralda and Mario's attentiveness and professionalism. You feel like you're getting a very authentic experience of what it feels like to live in Venice. Excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pismopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Hughes, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a quaint, historic bed & breakfast that feels like a home due in part to the kind host who runs it. Mario was kind enough to meet us at the water taxi as the streets of Venice are a maze. He had tips on how to navigate the city and the restaurants which helped us a lot. As a proud resident of Venice he has many experiences of growing up there which he loves to share over a very nice cup of coffee. His home is small but very efficient directing much of it himself. We would have liked some cheese for breakfast to round out the delicious cream filled croissants. This is the first time I have had coffee yogurt. It was tasty! The garden view from our room was beautiful and liked the fact that we were in a residential area away from the crowds, but accessible to Rialto Bridge, one of the main arteries of the city. We would like to return to Venice when it is not so crowded (late May). The crowds and the transportation strike the last day made it hard to get to the train back to Rome. The accommodations and the friendliness of our host were among the highlights. We would stay there again in a minute.

Room Tip: The room on the ground level is ensuite, but the rooms on second floor, front facing, had a lovely g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Residenza degli Angeli was a wonderful place to stay. Esmeralda communicated with me several times before my arrival to give me tips on how to get to the B&B. When we arrived in Venice, her husband Mario met us at the water bus stop (at 10pm!) with a smile. He gave us a map of Venice and explanation about how to get around and some places to go.

The room was very clean and had the historic Venetian charm. Fresh towels were provided and free wifi in the room works great. It's on a quiet street so we had no problem with noise or crowds.

Breakfast is served at the table by Mario and it is delicious. Definitely take time to enjoy the food and chat with the owners - they're great.

The location is a quick walk to the Rialto bridge and there are great restaurants and shops nearby.

I would highly recommend this B&B as it's one of the best places we've stayed during our trip to Italy.

Room Tip: If you want a bathroom en suite, make sure you request for and confirm it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlowNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I really love supporting local family businesses, so we were delighted to learn that Mario & Esmeralda are young Venice natives making a go of staying in the city - which has become far too expensive for most Venetians actually to live or work in. This pension-quality B&B is half of a several-story house done up to accommodate a few guests. The family lives in the other half.

Locale & Arrival. It really is in a convenient location. If you (a) are accustomed to old European cities and (b) use an accurate map (such as Google Maps), it's also easy to find - just a five minute walk fro the St. Stae vaparetto stop. We arrived in the late evening, called when we got to the door, and about 10 minutes later Mario's mother met us with keys, no problem. [Note: DON'T buy the cheap (3 euro) Venice tourist map available at all the kiosks to navigate from - the alley is not on it! DO remember that this is a B&B, not a hotel - so have the courtesy to let them know when you intend to show up, and to call them on arrival to confirm (or let them know of delays).]

Appearance & layout. In bright daylight, the place is revealed as spotlessly clean, if a bit oddly appointed. (In the dim light of evening, the color palette makes it look dingier than it actually is it is, so don't jump to the wrong conclusion.) It is set up more like a pension, not a B&B. The breakfast area is a set of tiny bistro tables crammed along with a kitchenette into the entryway. A staircase leads upstairs to bedrooms surrounding a small landing. These have kitschy little name signs like those for children's rooms which I guess are the "angels" of the name. Having requested a Double+Single, or a Triple, or any other arrangement that would accommodate 3 adults, we were rather surprised that our "Triple" was actually a Double with a youth-sized single camp bed crammed into a corner. OK for the price, and OK for a child, but it was a Double with a rollaway, not a "Triple," and very cramped for three adults. The en suite bath was sparkling and new with gushing hot water - except for the broken, unrepaired/unreplaced toilet seat. The beds were crisply made up - but sagged so badly in the middle it was like floundering in a hammock. Two windows opened into separate airwells. The first, by the door, was rather cheerful in the evening, looking across to the actual family kitchen, with the laughter and smells of cake-baking. The second was malodorous, looking down into a foul pit of garbage reeking of dung and urine. S'OK, just close the window - but the split unit ventilator responded to neither of the remote controls. So there was no way to have both quiet and air.

Staff and Service: Mario's Mom was prompt, polite, and apologetic about the (slight) delay - Mario himself had just sprained his ankle playing basketball & was off at the emergency room. We met him next morning at breakfast - charming, urbane, and determined to hobble about at our service despite his crutches. Esmerelda served us next day - she seems more comfortable in French, though her English is also excellent.

Breakfast: Meh. The usual pension continental, only less so, and cramped, as described above. Frankly, food is so cheap, it was more fun just to wander off to an open air cafe and have a proper espresso & something fresh from the oven.

Value: Venice accommodation is expensive, I know, but I think next time in that price bracket we'd just stay further out and walk or water taxi in.

Overall: If you are young, new to European travel, speak only English, and want to tuck up in a "real" neighborhood, with "real" Venetians, go for it. But if you've been around the (European) block a few times, you'll be disappointed. Residenza degli Angeli needs to decide what it is (Pensione? B&B?) and spruce up a bit accordingly.

Room Tip: We had "Alessandro." The bed sagged like a hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpournelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Accommodations are fabulous. Close to everything – nothing is very far in Venice, but this B&B is almost dead center. Your hosts, Mario and Esmeralda, will make you feel like family and will provide excellent directions and recommendations for restaurants, including a map so you can find them. They speak excellent English (I also overheard what sounded like fluent French, so I suspect they speak many languages) and are very happy to assist you with whatever you may need. Mario or Esmeralda will meet you at one of the waterbus stations on the Grand Canal and walk you to the house, so you don’t get lost. On the way, he will point out some landmarks to make it easy to find your way back when you venture out and explore Venice.

If you arrive before our room is ready, or have some extra time after checkout, you can store your luggage and explore Venice.

The room was spotless. The bed was firm but very comfortable, but the pillows are a bit flat. No fan in room, but there is air conditioning. Make sure you ask Mario how it works - I couldn't figure it out. With the windows open, the temperature is comfortable, and the very high ceiling helps with the heat. We had a room with private bath. Bath is small but perfectly adequate for our needs. Bring your own toiletries - this is a B&B, not a hotel. Shower stall is small, and it takes a minute for the water to turn hot, but then there is plenty of it, with good water pressure. The Residence is not on a busy street, so noise is not a problem, even with the windows open. There is one bedroom on the main floor, and 4 more on the second floor. You can hear people walking in the bedroom upstairs, and I suspect you would hear people in adjoining bedrooms on the second floor - not at all uncommon for a B&B. There is no elevator, the entire house is non-smoking, and the WIFI worked perfectly.

Excellent European breakfast, all served personally by Esmeralda. Coffee, tea, assorted juices, yoghurt, jams and jellies. A large basket of buns and 2 large croissants. Excellent start to your day.

If we ever get back to Venice again, we will definitely try to get another room here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorisBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We arrived in Venice and were met promptly at the waterbus station by Mario, the owner of the B+B. He was very professional and friendly, helped us to carry our luggage and gave us a small tour of the area (which is incredibly valuable as it is very easy to get lost in Venice). He paused several times to point out locations of interest and to keep us oriented. When we arrived he sat us down, gave us a map marked up with the best restaurants, bank and supermarket locations and general directions and gave us a good overview of how to maximize our time in the city. You can tell he truly loves where he lives, he really romanticizes the town and gives you an appreciation for what you will see. With his help we had an excellent, un-touristy stay exploring the side streets and the best the city has to offer (including Muro, the wonderful restaurant that is a two minute walk from the b+b).

The room itself was clean, cozy and had everything we needed. Wifi was good, the breakfast was decent and the bed was comfortable. I would highly recommend staying here if it is your first time in Venice, Mario's guidance alone is worth the stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,908 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,680 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#21 of 385 in Venice
714 reviews
San Marco
Locanda ai Bareteri
Locanda ai Bareteri
#26 of 463 in Venice
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza degli Angeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza degli Angeli

Property: Residenza degli Angeli
Address: Santa Croce 2325 | Calle de Cà Bragadin al Cristo, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 463 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza degli Angeli 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed & Breakfast finds itself in the center of Venice, 5 minutes walking from the famous Rialto bridge, and 15 minutes walking from Piazza San Marco. We are close to the main fish market place where there is a public transport gondola service which enables everyone to cross the Grand Canal for 2 euros per person. Our home is located in one of the oldest areas of Venice, where most houses are from the 13th century. Indeed Venetians used to leave originally in Torcello island, and then decided from the 8th century to move from the island of Torcello, more exposed to the Barbars invasions, to settle in the current Rialto area. Esmeralda and Mario, the owners who personally attend all guests during check-in, check-out and breakfast time, will answer all your questions and help you take most advantage of your stay in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residenza degli Angeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing