We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay”
Review of Alloggi Sardegna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alloggi Sardegna
Ranked #162 of 459 Venice B&B and Inns
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here for two nights during the Easter weekend. It's in a good location, very quiet little street, only 20 minute walk from the main station and St.Mark's square. The owner does not speak any English (as pointed out by other reviewers) but it didn't seem to be a problem (even though we didn't speak Italian). Somehow we managed to understand each other. The room was clean and comfortable, a little chilly, with lovely décor and a nice bathroom. Main things to point out are: the breakfast was very basic- packets of dry toast, croissants and spreads, the only hot thing was coffee/cappuccino. There is no WiFi despite having a TV with only Italian channels. We would have traded the TV for WiFi, for the purpose of checking our flights and weather updates. Our room was on the ground floor which was located next to the main entrance/reception, making it very loud when other guests were coming in/out, especially when buzzing in at night/early morning. Overall, it was a nice place to stay, however, we would probably not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can, try and get a room on the top floor instead of the ground floor. It gets very noisy down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartaKKolodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    52
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
79
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alturas, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in September and were very pleased with our choice. We will definitely stay here again next time we are in Venice. This hotel is small (six rooms), quiet, clean, relatively inexpensive, and best of all, it's in a non-touristy neighborhood. The rooms are not spacious or fancy, but they have character, as does the proprietor. This woman speaks only Italian, but she is friendly and helpful and communication was not a problem. When she explained to us how to use the TV and A/C, even with our very limited Italian language skills, we understood. She kindly allowed us to leave our bags the day we checked out so we could spend our last hours in Venice sightseeing unencumbered.

By the way, there is a room tax that must be paid before you check out. Don't panic and think you are being asked to pay for the room again, as we did! It's about 2 euros per person per day.

The towels were a little rough and the pillows could've been softer, but we were plenty comfortable and slept well here. Earplugs might be in order for those who prefer leaving the windows open to using the A/C, as sounds are amplified by the narrow street, and late-night revelers can be noisy passing by below. We didn't eat breakfast on the premises due to what others here said about it, but found a very nice cafe over the bridge and a couple blocks down, at the intersection of Rio Terra Farsetti and Rio Terra S. Leonardo.

Alloggi Sardegna is a wonderful place to stay to escape the hordes of tourists and see regular Venetians going about their business. I look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: We were in room 5 on the top floor, and I would imagine it was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed in the Aloggi Sardegna early in August and occupied room 5 (with the red bed) on the top floor. The place is relatively easy to find and is a short(ish) walk from Piazza Roma. Situated in the Cannaregio area of Venice the Hotel is close to some incredibly good bars and restaurants all frequented by locals and serving wine from as little as €1.10 and gorgeous Spritz cocktails from €2. There's also an amazing Pizza place across the bridge to left (as you leave the hotel) called Arte Della Pizza, described on many sites as the best pizza in Venice- which we'd go along with.

The room was fine and clean, Maria the landlady (who everyone mentions on here) was lovely and though she speaks little English, is somehow easy to understand and very friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom clean and shower good quality.

The only improvements we coud suggest (baring in mind this is an incredibly competitively priced budget en suite hotel in a great area - IN Venice) are regarding the breakfast which includes tea, packaged croissants and toast. This coud easyily be improved on or just skipped, there are plenty of great paces to have breakfast just out the door. Also it would have been nice to have had wifi and a fridge in the room too. Air con was great (while I remember).

In all if you are on a budget you cannot go wrong with the place, we found it a lovely base for our adventures in beautiful Venice (which was amazing). The area was possibly our favourite in the whole of Venice and there was nothing remotely unpleasant about the stay.

As a general tip for newcomers to Venice be sure to get a 72 hour (or longer) waterbus ticket and explore the islands, Burano was particularly lovely.

Room Tip: Not first floor due to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cobdob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We have just returned from a lovely long weekend staying at the Alloggi Sardegna. Situated in the Cannarregio district this bed and breakfast is well situated to access all areas of Venice.

We took an early morning flight from Birmingham, only 2 hours to Venice San Marco airport. I bought the combined 72 hour vaporatto and return bus transfer ticket in advance. By entering a code in the automatic machine near the No 5 bus stop the tickets are issued. We initially went to the Hellenzia desk in the arrivals hall as advised on previous posts but they referred us to the automatic machine. The bus staff were very helpful, showing us how to use the machine and validate out tickets on the bus. We caught the number 5 to Piazza Roma. If you feel like splashing out on the private water taxi, worth it if you have a lot of luggage or there are a few of you, there is a canal 20 yards from the front door of the Alloggi Sardegna. We would certainly do this if we were joining a cruise.

It’s a steady 15 minute walk to the Alloggi Sardegna, the only problem with cases is negotiating the 3 bridges that have to be crossed, 2 had lowered steps for dragging cases, the first by the Piazza Roma did not. But if you check your map in advance it is very easy to find. It took us an hour from the plane landing to arriving at our room. The accommodation is just off one of the main walking routes through the city.

We rang the bell when we arrived and were welcomed by the older woman everyone mentions, she actually did not seem that old to us! We were in room 5 on the top floor, the red room in the photos. The furniture is traditional; the ensuite compact modern bathroom has a very good shower. There was plenty of space both in the wardrobe and drawers for the clothes for our 3 night stay. The double bed is comfortable but I found the pillows very hard, the second night we found a soft pillow had been added to the 3 that were already in the room, but that was too lumpy to use. The room is very clean, serviced and towels changed daily. A bar of soap and a couple of packs of shower gel were supplied.

As our room was on the top floor it did not suffer from the noise some have mentioned, but we still closed the shutters at night as the accommodation is on a narrow alley and the noise does tend to echo. It did not disturb us and is a lot quieter than other areas of Venice. The room has a radiator, not working or needed when were there, and an aircon unit, also not working though we could have done with it the first night. We did not bother to ask for the control. There is also a television, we were not shown how to operate it and although we found the remotes could not get any programs.

As already mentioned by others the prepacked breakfast is very poor and really lets this accommodation down. The Alloggi Sardegna would be perfect if only this were improved. There is a baker just a few steps along the alley where we went and bought some croissants. The coffee though is very good, a choice was offered, we had cappuccinos the first morning and a lovely jug of cafe latte the other mornings.

As regards Venice itself, the 72 hours ACTV ticket was worth buying, cheaper if bought advance. The S Marcuola stop on the Grand Canal is very close to the Alloggi. We bought a good map of Venice from Amazon which was worthwhile. We enjoyed exploring and never felt we were lost, it’s always easy to pick up a sign on the wall pointing to San Marco or Piazza Roma or Ferrara (rail station) to get your bearings by. There are plenty of restaurants to fit all pockets, a good selection close buy the Alloggi.

I would recommend this accommodation if you want somewhere clean and inexpensive, with a private ensuite bathroom (rare in Venice). We booked via laterooms.com and the price included breakfast, you may want to forgo this if you have to pay extra as there are plenty of places nearby.

Room Tip: All okay but would advice against ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Seasonedtravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed here for three nights It is about 20 mins walk from bus/train station.and from here a similar walk to the Rialto bridge and also San marcoThe rooms are a bit small the bed is really comfortable,and the breakfast adequate.If you turn right along the canal walk about 100 yards Al Timon does terrific food and is well worth a visit.The mosquitoes in Venice seem to prefer females so be prepared. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gally43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at the spotlessly clean, charmingly decorated Alloggi Sardegna. It is situated in the quieter, less touristic part of Old Venice but is conveniently close to all the major attractions. Being about a 20 minute leisurely walk from the Piazzale Roma bus teminal, it is advisable to pack lightly. We were warmly received by Signora Maria who graciously shared information and gave us directions; we understood her perfectly despite our language "deficits". Breakfast was served in our room and although was not a hot cooked meal, was adequate. Be sure to savour the delicious gelato at the shop along the canal just about 50 metres from the hotel. Dining options in the area are numerous and all budgets are catered for. Maria kindly stored our luggage free of charge on the day of check out, which allowed us to wander around hassle free. We will definitely stay at Alloggi Sardegna on our return to Venice.

Room Tip: Next time we would request a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillaFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I travelled with my mom and we were so surprised with this little place. It is a small bed and breakfast just a 10 minute walk from the train station. It is close to the Grand Canal, but hidden enough that it is quiet. The room itself is well-taken care of and although it is a bit small, it was fine. There was air conditioning in the room, but not the bathroom area. The room was extremely clean. Breakfast was a selection of packaged croissants and toast with coffee, but it was free and was personally brought to the room by the hotel owner- Maria.

This was a very charming B&B. There are only about 6 rooms and they each have a different decor theme. Maria (the owner) was very sweet and showed us some of the unoccupied rooms. People warned us about Maria not speaking English but she is extremely helpful, and showed us how to work the TV (it is a bit tricky). She is the person who maintains the room, so we felt very safe leaving our valuables there.

There is no wifi but we knew that going in. There is an internet cafe about 5 minutes away as well as a McDonalds with free wifi about 10 minutes away.

I will ABSOLUTELY stay in this place next time I am in Venice. The price is great for the area, but just consider that there is an additional charge per person per night that is not included in the prices quoted on websites (Tassa di soggiorno). Ours was only 2 Euros per person per night (cash only).

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were great, so I am not sure there is a bad option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Santa Croce
Casa Sant'Andrea
Casa Sant'Andrea
#200 of 386 in Venice
552 reviews
Cannaregio
Eurostars Residenza Cannaregio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#320 of 386 in Venice
352 reviews
Cannaregio
Antica Raffineria
Antica Raffineria
#167 of 459 in Venice
88 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Adua
Hotel Adua
#157 of 459 in Venice
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alloggi Sardegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alloggi Sardegna

Property: Alloggi Sardegna
Address: Cannaregio Calle del Forno 2655, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 459 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alloggi Sardegna 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alloggi Sardegna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing