We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Vecellio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Vecellio
Ranked #182 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Little and cosy hotel with a perfect location in Venice. The bedrooms are really nice and lovely decorated, also comfortable. We stayed in bedroom number 4, with an amazing view to the sea. Matteo, the manager is really kind. The breakfast is not bad at all, it coul be better, but anyway it was the best breakfast we had in a hotel in Italy, with really good coffe.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarodeAlmagro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    190
    57
    27
    16
See reviews for
41
331
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hotel Vecellio was the home of Titian, the artist. It is a small hotel with only 8 bedrooms and is in an absolutely fabulous location overlooking the lagoon with views over the islands and the mountains in the distance.
It is very easy to locate. If you take the Alilaguna Blu line ferry from the airport, the second stop is Fondamente Nuove. Turn left, walk over the stone bridge and the hotel is on the right. If you take a Vaporetto when in Venice, the stop ( F. Nuove ) is directly outside.
Matteo, the owner and all the staff are very friendly and helpful.
There is a small reception area and a compact breakfast area.
Our room was overlooking the lagoon and had one of the very best views we have ever been lucky enough to experience.
The room was simply, but very well furnished, with exposed beams, beautiful wooden floor and spotlessly clean. The shower/toilet area was tiled with lovely marble tiles.
Our only gripe was the very low water pressure which made showering difficult, but this did not detract from our complete enjoyment of this hotel.
I would definitely recommend this hotel would recommend the upgrade to a lagoon view room.

Room Tip: We had room 4, which had a side window as well as a lagoon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont, West Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed for one night, wish we would have stayed longer. It was so confident to find the hotel, we took the vaporetto straight from the train station and there was a stop differently outside the hotel. The manager, Matteo was fantastic and helped us with anything we needed. Our room was nice as well, clean and quiet and looked out over the water. If I ever got a chance to return I would definitely stay here, we had a great experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
706 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is kinda mean, but one amusing thing about Venice is watching freshly arrived tourists, with a ton of luggage, helplessly trying to find their hotel...hahaha! This a good hotel...and with a GREAT LOCATION!

10 Things about Hotel Vecellio:

1) Right at the Fondamente Nove vaparetto station...from the train station, vaparetto 4.2 or 5.2 gets you here easily.
2) Lost? No wandering the mazes of Venice to find your hotel, just head north! Buy a $4 compass beforehand!
3) No crowds! In this neighborhood you'll see where real Venetians live their lives. Sort of.
4) Scenic walk to the highly overrated, overpriced, and tourist packed Saint Mark's Square.
5) Clean, quiet, comfy room, in which the shower takes about 3-5 minutes for hot water. We had a really nice view!
6) Crappy breakfast food, mostly prepacked foods, but good coffee.
7) Wifi...they alledgely had it, but it never worked. But thats all of Italy. -1/2 Star
8) Friendly staff, though grandpa, whom works the night shift, doesn't speak much English. Wine bottle opener available!
9) 13 inch CRT TV with 2 English speaking channels: one with American shows, the other is BBC News 24/7.
10) Easy Escape: Alliguna vaparetto(FYI: 15euro) is a quick walk and takes you right to the airport with just one stop beforehand.

I'll definitely stay here again on my next Venice...but only Gawd knows how long that will be!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Nice room to begin with, very venetian style, my girlfriend like it very much as it looks really posh ! place was really really convenient. Just right in front of F.Nove water taxi stop !!! no joke. the restaurant below was also very good.

Room was clean, wifi was strong, and oh ! ask for a room with the view of the canal. the windows were really sound proof !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayster87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The hotel is very easily reachable by water taxi, and is located in a quieter part of Venice. The room was clean, the free WiFi worked well, and even though the bathroom was a bit of a squeeze, we had everything we needed. Breakfast was as expected, and Matteo was quite helpful.
Our room was a bit noisy during the day, as it is on the street (room no 1), and they couldn't stock the mini-bar with the items they have on their mini-bar list, but all-in-all we were very happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Let me just tell you that my husband just raved about the coffee there. He said it was the best coffee he had tasted in all of Europe! It was a nice, clean, small hotel. We weren't expecting much as it was only a 3 star hotel, so our expectations were low. The location is great, the breakfast was delicious! I don't know why people complain or expect so much for breakfast. I had no complaints whatsoever. And to think we almost skipped the breakfast from reading all those horrible reviews about the breakfast. I thought it was perfect and delicious. The owner is very nice and friendly. My only complaint would be the a/c was not very cooling, but I guess we were also not used to such hot and humid weather either. We never asked to get it fixed as we were never really in the room that long other than to sleep. So other than that it was great. People need to walk in there knowing that this is not the Hilton. Its a cute small immaculate quaint Italian hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTovar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ca' Fontanea
Ca' Fontanea
#159 of 385 in Venice
290 reviews
Castello
Alloggi Barbaria
Alloggi Barbaria
#147 of 385 in Venice
317 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#137 of 385 in Venice
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#90 of 385 in Venice
977 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#72 of 385 in Venice
554 reviews
Santa Croce
Casa Sant'Andrea
Casa Sant'Andrea
#203 of 385 in Venice
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vecellio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecellio

Property: Hotel Vecellio
Address: Cannaregio 5039/B, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vecellio 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The REAL VENICE!Perfect Venetian style, the warm feeling of marble floors, antique wood ceilings and rich drapes, make Hotel Vecellio a welcoming place in a residential part of the city that looks towards the lagoon in front of the most famous islands including Murano. Nearby there's Titian Vecellio's home and painters studio that gives this neighbourhood a distinct romantic atmosphere. The Hotel is managed by Matteo, native venetian lives in the city , he could be useful to help you to live your venetian experience such as a real venetian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, HostelWorld, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vecellio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecellio Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing