We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 3 star hotel with easy access to vaporetto boats”
Review of Hotel Vecellio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Vecellio
Ranked #182 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent 3 star hotel with easy access to vaporetto boats”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Wonderful 3 star hotel in the Cannaregio, Fondamente Nove district of Venice.(actually 2 sites, main hotel and an annex called Piccolo Vecellio not on the water. Vaporettos stop right in front of hotel for transport to Train Station, Grand Canal, Murano Island or St Mark's square etc. (cheap, inexpensive travel) Excellent staff, good breakfast included. Husband was in wheelchair so we had first floor room next to reception area, facing lagoon and vaporetto stop--very quiet! Room was decorated in Venetian style--very charming---good sized room and decent sized bathroom. Very clean. Unknown if elevator available (I did not see one). Satellite TV but no English channels/programs broadcast. No dvd. Brochure says internet available but we did not use it. Bed very comfortable. Excellent restaurant called "Da Alvise" is a couple of buildings down from hotel. Within easy walk to St Mark's square, Rialto Bridge . Long alley-type walks, many bridges that could be problem for handicapped or limited mobility (recommend getting a hotel on the Grand Canal to them)( Also there is a handicap accessible map of Venice on the internet) Felt completely safe. Getting to a hospital is a problem since the hospital is on the other side of Venice from this hotel and person must go by some type of boat transport to get there (vaporetto/water taxi/motoscafo) We would stay here again--very enjoyable and relaxing

Room Tip: Handicapped or those needing to be near a hospital would want to choose a hotel on the Grand Canal w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    192
    58
    27
    16
See reviews for
42
333
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Augsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
174 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This stay was awesome.

The whole hotel and the room are particulary clean. The bed is torrific, and the view is just perfect.

The area is nice and calm, and there are some snacks or nice restaurants around.

Public transport is just in front of the hotel, but no noise because windows are well insulated

I would stay

Room Tip: Do not take the room n°1, can be noisy, and the 4 is torrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Antonio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samoens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We had a very nice stay at hotel Veccelio. The room and bathroom were big enough, clean, and elegantly decorated. The hotel manager was very helpful. The location is very good : you can easily reach every neighborhood of Venise either by foot or by waterbus (the waterbus stop is just in front of the hotel).

The TV is quite small (but who comes to Venice to watch TV...?).

Very good value for Venice.
We recommend this place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank FaustineP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Me and my wife were looking for a 3-star hotel that was convenient to the Aliliguna to the airport. This seemed like a good location. It's right next to the water taxi that's a relatively short strip to Murano and Burano although it's on the other side of the island from St. Mark's and a lot of restaurants and attractions, which is a 15 to 20 minute walk. The only thing we noticed is that the TV we couldn't get the TV in hotel to work. It didn't matter to us since we were out most of the time. All in all a very good experience staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jobo3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We had the opportunity to stay in the Guest House and we were pleasantly surprised. It is very charming. If you are looking for a hotel with amenities and bells and whistles of a western style resort you will be disappointed. The room is small and the tv is about 13in, but that did not bother me. I was there to explore the city and not watch tv. If you are looking to live like a Venetian for a few days then you will enjoy it. The owners of the hotel were very pleasant. This is more like a bed and breakfast then anything else. The guest house was located just a block from the Vaporetto which was very convenient. We were facing a back alley so it was very quiet and we got good rest. Breakfast was just enough to get us going for the day. (Bread, yogurt and coffee). I really enjoyed being a part of Venice and felt like a resident rather than a tourist. I would definitely stay here again. However please note this place is not for everyone and be mindful that the bad reviews are mostly from people that had a different set of expectations and would be happier elsewhere. This was just what I expected and I loved it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Taimata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We recently visited 5 cities in Europe and hotel Vecellio was the only bad experience we had. The breakfast is very bad (prepackaged bread with jelly and coffee). The location is not in the touristy area of Venice, but it is quiet. The owner Matteo was not helpful and was rude and arrogant.
The room that we were given was literally about 5 walking steps from the reception. We could hear everything going on in the reception and requested a different room. We were told initially that the owner would not be back until the following day and that there was nothing that could be done (even though it was very early in the day and we had just received the room). I refused to accept that room so we were given another room in a separate guest house, which was ok. The cleaning lady and the breakfast lady were very kind, but the breakfast was awful. The shower did not function properly and after reporting it, we were told that nothing could be done to fix it. There are many hotels in Venice at similar prices. You can get a better deal for the same price! I would suggest that you book elsewhere.

Room Tip: Do not take the room in the first floor. It is right infront of the reception and you can hear every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ivan28102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Visited 2012. This is a small, good value hotel in what is usually an expensive city. Situated virtually next to the vaperetto stop (made it incredibly easy to take a water taxi from the train to the hotel) , within easy walk of all Venice sights (once you've worked out your twisting, turning routes - which is good fun) and close to some very excellent restaurants.

Included breakfast is very basic, however sufficient to keep you goin , and staff were polite and helpful. Our room had views across Laguna Veneta and was adequate , if noisy due to the proximity of the same vaperetto stop, and the cafe next door. Although the bathroom was incredibly small, so difficult to use, I don't spend all day in the bathroom and therefore this was a small price to pay for a value holiday in Venice.

Overall we loved our time in Venice and would certainly stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel although you will have no views it will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank faye766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ca' Fontanea
Ca' Fontanea
#161 of 385 in Venice
290 reviews
Castello
Alloggi Barbaria
Alloggi Barbaria
#150 of 385 in Venice
317 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#136 of 385 in Venice
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#90 of 385 in Venice
979 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#81 of 385 in Venice
554 reviews
Santa Croce
Casa Sant'Andrea
Casa Sant'Andrea
#202 of 385 in Venice
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vecellio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecellio

Property: Hotel Vecellio
Address: Cannaregio 5039/B, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vecellio 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The REAL VENICE!Perfect Venetian style, the warm feeling of marble floors, antique wood ceilings and rich drapes, make Hotel Vecellio a welcoming place in a residential part of the city that looks towards the lagoon in front of the most famous islands including Murano. Nearby there's Titian Vecellio's home and painters studio that gives this neighbourhood a distinct romantic atmosphere. The Hotel is managed by Matteo, native venetian lives in the city , he could be useful to help you to live your venetian experience such as a real venetian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vecellio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecellio Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing