We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Locanda Poste Vecie
Ranked #106 of 462 Venice B&B and Inns
Peterborough, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

If you have heavy luggage, I recommend you get a water taxi! We arrived in Venice by car around noon. We only had 2 bags each so we figured we would make the walk to the hotel. Bad choice. It is pretty far from the road and it gets HOT there. The entrance is pretty hidden and was a bit difficult to find.
Once we got to the hotel, our room wasn't ready yet but the receptionist was very helpful and had our bags taken care of so that we could go sight see. Once we got back, we went up to our room which was on the top floor. The top floor was nice because we had windows that opened out the roof and let in a breeze. Our window was either broken or we just couldn't figure out how to keep it open. I eventually got tired of messing around with it and I propped it open with a shoe. The down side to the top floor was the heat! It was hot! The A/C (like most others in Italy) wasn't strong enough to cool the room unless you moved the chair in front of it.
We got a nice breakfast in the morning of cheeses, breads and snacks.
Overall, it was a very nice stay and I would definitely consider staying here again.
(Have the receptionist mark the hotel on one of those tourism maps! difficult to find without!)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fletchda1775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    150
    43
    12
    15
See reviews for
86
176
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was a second stay.Breakfast self service great improvement.Friendly welcome once again and lovely room. Good wi fi.Really very convenient location near Mercato vaporetto stop but as important literally 2 minutes from fish market and the superb Tinto restaurant and market Trattoria which serves the market workers and locals so serves quality bargain sandwiches, cafe expresso, and house wine.As you get to know Venice there are lots of interesting places which can be reached on foot from the hotel.We are already thinking of coming back!

Room Tip: If you wish to witness the early working of the market ask for a room by the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJFurlongEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in March. The welcome we received was warm and friendly. The bedroom was very spacious, clean and fresh with a large bathroom as well - shower, no bath - equipped with tea/coffee making facilities (no milk though), minibar, Sky TV, free Wi-Fi, towels, shower gel, shower cap and soap.

Having read previous reviews I was expecting breakfast to be served in our room; however, there was a lovely little breakfast room - perhaps this is new. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, cereals, cold meats/cheeses, warm croissants (once these are gone, they're gone! We took the last 2 at 9.15!), teas, juices, toast, biscuits and a coffee/hot chocolate machine.

Location-wise, the hotel was perfect. It is down a quiet but safe alley - our water taxi driver dropped us off nearby and gave us simple directions to the hotel, which was a 2 minute walk from where we were dropped off. Despite being near the fish and fruit/veg markets, we didn't hear any noise from outside. The only disturbance was guests starting to have breakfast around 8-8.30am as we were in one of the bedrooms just off the breakfast room, but it wasn't noisy enough to be annoying. There were some lovely bars in the nearby square and plenty of restaurants nearby. Only a 5 minute walk to Rialto bridge but the San Marco area is very noisy and touristy so we mostly stayed in the San Polo area where this hotel is situated and becomes more residential further away from San Marco.

Overall, very good hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. I will be writing reviews of nearby bars/restaurants over the next couple of days! Just a couple of things to be aware of - the city tax you pay at checkout (we paid 10 euros for the 2 nights) and you are not given clean towels - as we were only staying for 2 nights this wasn't a problem for us.

Room Tip: Room D is off the breakfast room - very spacious and comfortable, only some noise from early breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs_nre_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Very good location situated between Rialto bridge and St Marks square! Hidden away in a small and quite street the directions we got from hotel made it very easy to find. Room was clean and spacious and buffet breakfast was pretty good. Staff were very friendly. Overall very happy with this hotel and we really enjoyed our time in Venice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavyHanrahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

A small hotel with a very good location, near the Rialto bridge. The breakfast is served on the room and it is very good. If you have few time to visit the city, it is a good option. We booked a room for four. The room was very large and comfortable.a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elipessoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I have been to Venice about 10 times and I get so intoxicated that I sometimes lose a sense of reality. I am not a snob and just wish for a clean room, comfy bed, decent breakfast and polite owners. This tiny place is tucked down an alley behind the fish/fruit/veg market. Well done Google Earth! It is very convenient for the Rialto vaporetto stop though.
The reception needs a tin of paint. I was a bit hesitant when we eventually got in - nobody on reception and when the manager responded over the intercom it sounded as if he wasn't going to let us in even though we had a booking.
Up the stairs to room 6. A tiny room but in Venice that is often the case unless you are able to afford the best. Actually the room is over the kitchen I think and got very hot. We tried the air-con, opening windows etc but were still sweltering. I wouldn't like to stay there in summer.
The Sky TV wouldn't work. Neither did the safe in the wardrobe.
We stayed for 4 nights and didn't get any clean towels. Extra toilet rolls were the only input I think as we made our beds ourselves. I am sure that no cleaning went on during our stay.
We let ourselves in and out, and breakfast was taken in our room, so we didn't get to see any other guests, although we heard them. Room 6 is right next to the stairs.
I have no idea if this place has views. We looked out onto a wall, and down into a little outside alley used by the kitchen for buckets and bins.
It doesn't rank well against other places we have stayed and I wouldn't recommend it.
It may have been January, but don't rest on your laurels because you are in a business in Venice. If you are open, give your guests the best experience they can have of your wonderful city.

Room Tip: Ask not to stay in room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geogteacher01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We spent there 3 nights. It is a small and cosy hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff. Amazing location, walking distance from every significant place in Venice. The breakfast choice could be better. For romantic view ask for a room at the top floor.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Semyond_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#107 of 385 in Venice
898 reviews
San Polo
"Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
San Polo
B&B Rialto
B&B Rialto
#182 of 462 in Venice
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Residenza degli Angeli
Residenza degli Angeli
#19 of 462 in Venice
623 reviews
San Polo
La Villeggiatura
La Villeggiatura
#43 of 462 in Venice
252 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Gottardi
Ca' Gottardi
#20 of 462 in Venice
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Poste Vecie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Poste Vecie

Property: Locanda Poste Vecie
Address: San Polo 1612,Calle delle Poste Vecchie | Pescheria Rialto, 30125 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 462 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Poste Vecie 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Locanda Poste Vecie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Poste Vecie Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing