We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel”
Review of Ca' San Rocco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ca' San Rocco
Ranked #125 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed in several Italian cities in a variety of hotels and B&Bs and this one was a keeper, especially for the price. It was the largest room we had in our two weeks with a quiet backyard view. The room was bright and clean with a lovely king-sized bed and good air conditioning and a nice little bathroom. The breakfast area was a lovely covered terrace with lots of greenery providing shade and privacy and we enjoyed our mornings there before heading ou to wander the city. The young ladies staffing the desk were charming and the street was private and quiet, unlike many Venetian neighborhoods, though it was only a few minutes walk to the bridge to the mainland and to a vaporetto stop. The walking directions provided before our arrival were simple and understandable. Travelers should be aware that the hotel is not staffed after 9pm so make sure you have your keys when going out at night or you are out of luck...we had a brief moment when we thought we had left ours inside and the door had closed behind us...not sure how this would have been handled.

Another good bit of general info is that the airport has a "left luggage" office where travelers can check unneeded bags for about $6.00 a day and pick them up when flying out again. This was key for us since Venice was the end of a two week trip and we only needed three days worth of clothes and toiletries. The baggage office opens at 5am and is very efficiently run. Not having to carry excess baggage over the bridges and through the streets was a definite plus.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dranny-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

If we return to Venice we will stay at Cá San Rocco again. The small hotel is ideally located near Piazzale Roma but inside the pedestrianized historic center. We stayed in room A, which was furnished with lovely old furniture and had a fresh and modern bathroom. The room had large windows overlooking a beautiful garden. The nice breakfast was served on a lush and beautiful terrace.
The staffs were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Two sisters run this B and B and what a good job they do. Clean rooms which are large and overlook gardens. We were not used to the electronic blinds for the windows but they work well. We loved the variety of the breakfast and the lovely outdoor area that we sat in to eat it.

Instructions to get to the property were detailed and if you are arriving by train and cannot follow the instructions try the ones given for the bus terminal (which is across the bridge from the train station) they may be easier. The property is a 10 minute walk from the train station. Yes Venice is a challenge for travellers carrying suitcases and it was a long way from St Marco Square but we made it and it is the charm of the area to go down the little lanes and over a bridge or two or three. Just go and enjoy, get lost and then find your way you will not be disappointed.

Tip when heading back to the property from St Marco Square follow the yellow road signs for Piazzale Roma (the Bus terminal) and you will find your self back in the right area. These signs are common on route and can be found high on the side of buildings.

Visit Hotel Danielle which is at the end of the St Marco Square on the water front turn left and go over the first bridge (not more than a minute walk). This is the Hotel in the film "The Tourist " starring Jonny Depp and while nothing from the outside the inside is one of our high lights of Italy .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Venice is so full of people, its crowded and everywhere is expensive. This place is just amazing with the amount of space you have - you even overlook gardens on one side that give you the idea of space. A bit of an oasis. The decor is a bit plain though and the breakfast is small. But this is nothing as you are right in the heart of Venice. Nice restaurants and cafes close by - we recommend going by Accademia bridge to get to San Mark's square - the crowds going via Rialto are just bad. Also recommend having spritz and pizza in Campo Santa Magaritta where the uni students hang out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Llewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My partner and I stayed here in August 2013 while we were in Venice for 3 nights. it was quite easy to find from where we arrived at the train station, and was just off the main walking route to the Rialto and San Marco. Being close to the train station as well as water taxis was a bonus. Hotel was very clean and quiet, with our room overlooking a garden area. Good strong wifi and friendly reception made the stay extra enjoyable! Breakfast was the only let down as it was nice but minimal. But don't let that stop you from staying, plenty of nice restaurants etc nearby. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelmore15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed with my husband at this hotel for 3 nights earlier this month. We were absolutely delighted with our choice. It is centrally located but so peaceful. It is midway between two vaparetto stops so is ideally located. It is absolutely spotlessly clean, well appointed, friendly and tranquil. The reception staff are very welcoming and really happy to look up any information you require. No problems storing luggage on our leaving day. Breakfast was lovely on the terrace. Superb hotel. If we return to Venice we shall stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoJo186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this wonderful little family - owned hotel, having decided this time to avoid the major day tourist zones. It was an easy walk (after getting over that diabolical Grand Canal bridge at Santa Lucia terminus) involving only one other very small bridge, if you did your homework beforehand. (As in, ALWAYS get a good map).

The Scuola Grande, Campo dei Frai and Campo San Polo (with an excellent and popular restaurant) were a pleasant stroll away, with the Academia easily reached on 'the other side' of the Grand Canal. And for those ultimately irresistable attacks on the Rialto Bridge, San Marco etc (no matter how often previously visited), it was fun finding new ways around the Venetian rabbit warren to at least limit the inevitable confrontations with touts and swarms ;-)

The Ca' San Rocco is in a pleasant little calle, behind nice walls which largely hide its architectural charms. Everything is spotless, neat, in great taste. We liked our room very much, also the vine - covered, private breakfast balcony. The breakfasts were Euro, cold buffet 'trim' but faultless, quality - wise.

We would certainly stay with the family again, at the Ca' San Rocco.
PS. It isn't 'cheap', but that's not a quality expected in Venice, is it? We thought it (relatively) very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank growingold_never13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Turelli
Ca' Turelli
#234 of 385 in Venice
100 reviews
San Polo
Ca' San Polo
Ca' San Polo
#170 of 385 in Venice
430 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#163 of 385 in Venice
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Falier
Hotel Falier
#214 of 385 in Venice
390 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#88 of 385 in Venice
583 reviews
San Polo
Pensione Guerrato
Pensione Guerrato
#137 of 385 in Venice
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' San Rocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' San Rocco

Address: San Polo 3078 | Ramo Cimesin, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#98 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £95 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ca' San Rocco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Ca' San Rocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` San Rocco Hotel Venice
Ca San Rocco Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing