We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ca' San Rocco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ca' San Rocco
Ranked #127 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cozy hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

This hotel is situated close to Piazzale Roma and the train station. It takes about 15 minutes to walk to the center, but it is a pleasant walk. The bed and breakfast is very cozy, there is a small garden where you can rest in the evening. Breakfasts are served on the beautiful terrace overlooking neighboring gardens. You can enjoy the birds and bells while eating. There is not much choice, but the food is nice and tasty, they make fresh pastry and the coffee is good. I stayed in an apartment with a separate entrance. It was a bit dark, but it didn't bother me much. There was a kitchen, so you could cook your food. It had a small fridge, very good in hot weather. The bathroom was complete with everything you need.
So. if you like a bit more independence, the apartment is your choice. You can come and go whenever you like.
The girls that run the place were very welcoming and helpful. They were nice to talk to. always smiling. I would recommend the hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank irinanaidenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    94
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
48
186
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Picked the accommodation based on its quiet location and reviews on tripadvisor.

Certainly a quiet area with real people, but not too many. Some good local eateries, but close to the train station and all other areas of interest. We did actually eat at a local watering hole, where food was excellent and cheap and the next door neighbour and his cats came out to play - very few if any tourists there - a nice change.

Breakfast was very good and eaten on a lovely tree shaded balcony as well as some quiet common space on ground level. Staff were nice and spoke very good English, but perhaps a little reserved.

Only complaint (took away from 5 stars) was the incredibly noisy fellow guests upstairs (both nights). Not sure if they thought it was a gym, but soundproofing was very average and was by far the most imposing noise we incurred on our 2 months away.

Think I would stay again, but would book a room on the top floor.

Room Tip: Perhaps pick the top floor, irrespective of the few stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tasdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at Ca' San Rocco at the end of our trip. The two nights we spent there were exemplary. The hotel had our room available early and we were able to check in immediately upon arrival. The room was HUGE by Venetian standards and perfect. The bed was comfortable, the air conditioning was perfect (as it was nearly 100 Fahrenheit) during our stay and the attached bathroom was also enormous. The room was very clean and was perfect in regard to location. You are literally a five minute walk to the people mover and the train station, which suited us just fine. The breakfast was perfect and really filling. They were very attentive in your coffee and tea needs and made specialty breakfast drinks to order. I would highly recommend staying at Ca' San Rocco to anyone that is in Venice and would like to be away from the bustling St. Mark's Square area, but still very centrally located.

Room Tip: The breakfast is on the first floor (second floor for Americans) and a lovely garden. Try to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Six of us stayed at Ca San Rocco for 2 nights in late June 2014 (last month). I was the only one that had been to Venice before and was not at all familiar with this particular area. I chose this hotel because of it's proximity to the train station. What a pleasant surprise! The hotel was the best, the location outstanding, and the staff were very helpful. We would absolutely recommend it and if we ever return to Venice we will most definitely try to stay at Ca San Rocco again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kjdrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel is very clean, quiet, and has everything you need. It's a 7 minute walk from the bus station/rental car drop-off, which, when you are arriving with all your luggage and don't want to struggle with getting on a crowded boat, was wonderful. Venice is a maze and the hotel directions were very good. The room was decently sized and very clean. There is no one at the desk after 8 pm, so check on late arrivals. The breakfast terrace was truly lovely. I do wish they has some of the local pastries that looked so good. The offerings were fine and certainly convenient, but nothing special. The front desk person was efficient, spoke English, but was not overtly friendly. There are a few small tables outside that you can sit at. If you stay here, check out the restaurants in student area to the south. Lots of nice local places for dinner. There is fruit and veggies for sale in the Margarita Square nearby along with good slices of pizza: all the fixings of a cheap lunch. We went to St Marks very early and late at night, and then stayed away the rest of the time (cruise ship hours, we called them). Spending time in these neighborhoods was much more rewarding. We will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tiarevt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is a great little hotel away from the hustle and bustle but within walking distance of the major attractions and station. The room was a good size and was happy with the 2 double beds joined to make a large bed. The breakfast terrace was a beautiful way to start the day and very peaceful. The staff are very friendly and helpful and there are some lovely cafes and restaurants close by. The only negative we had was the shower is very small but would certainly still recommend here as a great place to stay in Venice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dlunney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itala, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great Hotel. Nice Quiet spot away from the HUSTLE and bustle but still close enough to walk ever where for us. Very helpful staff. Loved looking out over neighbors garden from our room and from the terrace breakfast area. Highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: You may wish to ask for a room on top floor if you don't have heavy bags because we could hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Gorizia a la Valigia
Gorizia a la Valigia
#147 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Turelli
Ca' Turelli
#229 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#119 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#89 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#99 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#183 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' San Rocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' San Rocco

Property: Ca' San Rocco
Address: San Polo 3078 | Ramo Cimesin, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#57 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#99 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ca' San Rocco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ca' San Rocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` San Rocco Hotel Venice
Ca San Rocco Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing