We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value in the Heart of Venice”
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' dei Dogi
Ranked #19 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2011

If you’re one of the fortunate few to call this place home while visiting the charming city of Venice, then bravo to you. No kidding, this cozy boutique hotel certainly stands out amongst the multitude and offers its patrons comforts rivaling the best in the area.
To be sure, this isn’t the Four Seasons (as far as luxury goes anyway) but what Ca Dei Dogi may lack in over-the-top white glove service, it more than compensates for in its personalized attention to its guests with utmost courtesy. Truly, the staff – Stefano, Susana and their team are just simply impeccable. One of the best—collectively— I’ve encountered in a while.

As far as location goes, you can’t do any better. The hotel is conveniently situated right in the heart of historic Venice, just by the main square of Piazza San Marco which includes architectural gem and one of the most important structures in all of Europe, majestic Basilica di San Marco. It is also bordered by Palazzo Ducale – seat of Venice’s governing body for centuries where it’s said the infamous Casanova was once imprisoned, and several of Venice’s other highlights.

Ca Dei Dogi features 6 rooms all individual decorated to create a more personalized experience for each visitor. They appear to have been recently renovated (at least mine was – a single which though a tad teeny, quite practical enough), and comes equipped with the standards: minibar, coffee/tea, safe, flat panel TVs (including some English channels which seems to be a rarity in Italy) and extra bedding, of course, if needed. Unfortunately there isn’t WiFi access in the rooms; however, this is possible in the reception area. There’s also a laptop there for general use with free access to the internet. Additionally, on the top floor, guests can unwind in hotel’s communal terrace.

Like most hotels in Italy, breakfast is included with your reservation. But this is no run-of-the-mill buffet-style spread. Indeed, patrons are treated to individually set tables with juices, yogurt, fruit salad, a warmed pastry (usually a croissant), cappuccino made to order and omelets (on demand) – whichever way you like it, your choice of filling.
Overall, a lovely experience which added to a thoroughly enjoyable visit. I miss it already and hope to return again someday.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theflyinggazelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2011

What a find! This lovely place is right next to the Doge's palace and bridge of sighs so if location is important to you, this is it. The breakfast is huge for italian standards: omelets made to order, croissants, toast, yogurt, fruit salad, any type of coffee you like, juice, etc.
We booked the twin room which is the smallest of all. It was perfect for us but if you are a little big or have more than 2 bags of luggage it will be too small. The entire place is spotless and recently renovated. Nice toiletries in the bathrooms (even toothbrush and toothpaste set!!!). But what really makes this place shine is the staff!!! Warm, welcoming, attentive and always with a smile. If we ever come back to Venice, Ca' dei Dogi will be our base again! ATTENTION make sure you book this hotel and not another one with the same name (odd).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jiglesiasvidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Decorated to a very high standard and in the perfect spot right next to the Bride of Sighs yet in a quiet alley. We booked the batik room and the balcony was very welcome for some relaxation time after a day's walking, you can actually see inside the Doge's palace from the balcony when the windows are open. The service is the best thing about this hotel and the fact that there aren't many rooms means it's a very friendly and quiet place. As with most European hotel rooms there isn't a lot of storage and anyone staying for longer than a few days should contemplate booking the apartment, though there is a small fridge in the room which comes in handy.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony it is worth the extra
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank joeygekko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I loved this hotel - the staff was wonderful and friendly, the location is superb, the rooms were spotless and new and the breakfast was incredible. The room I stayed in (a single room on the third floor was very small, but the other rooms I saw looked like they were an average size. All the rooms I saw were very nicely decorated and maintained. The staff here are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast they serve was impressive! Add to that the free hot drinks that are available whenever you want in the lobby and you have a perfect place to stay in Venice. I'm so glad I did!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kettletoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I booked one night here for my husband and I as we had to fly into Venice to go to Lake Garda as there are no direct flights to Verona in April. We therefore decided to make the most of it and stay in Venice for one night as we hadnt been before, Im so glad we did as the city is beautiful!

I found the hotel after reading reviews on here and it was pretty much the only hotel I wanted to book that wasnt ridiculously expensive, but still contemporary and well rated by others.

We received a really friendly welcome on arrival and were shown our room on the second floor. It was as i expected, quite small but really clean and a good modern bathroom. I didnt feel the size of the room mattered to us as on city breaks, we are pretty much always out exploring the city. I think the room sizes would only be an isue for people perhaps on a multi-city European trip with lots of luggage!

Anyway, the hotel is in a fantastic location, right behind Doges Palace and easy to find. It has a roof terrace in which you may take your own drinks to enjoy although we didnt have time for this during our short stay. Breakfast was ready for us the next morning as soon as we went down for it and was lovely. The hotel restaurant seemed really busy at night so I assume lunch and dinner are pretty good here too!

We were only in Venice for 24 hours but felt it was enough time for us to walk around the keys areas and see what we wanted to. The canals and building are all beautiful and its an amazing place to go, if not very expensive!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shangri-lada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

great location - very friendly and extremly helpful staff. yes rooms are small but very functional. and most important the rooms + bathrooms were very clean and well maintained. breakfast although tasty , lacked choice and variety. very easy to access from airport - thanks suzanne for all your help during our stay ; ) ... we will recommend to our friends

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank r4reilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Excellent hotel, excellent location: just right to Bridge of Sighs and St. Marco.
Very lovely room and environment.

Stuff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good.

A little overpriced, through.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linkcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 385 in Venice
3,871 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,975 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 385 in Venice
1,891 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#13 of 385 in Venice
1,054 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#81 of 385 in Venice
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £98 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An antique Venetian palace dating back to the 15th century located close to the Palazzo Ducale and the Bridge of Sighs where you can enjoy a stay in Venice surrounded by a charming, sophisticated atmosphere and with top quality services. Ca' dei Dogi has been planned down to the finest detail to provide a unique, exceptionally pretty environment, combining typically Venetian details such as marble and mosaics with high quality technological comforts such as LCD televisions installed in every room. Six rooms, each individually decorated, where every detail contributes to the creation of an exclusive and refined atmosphere. Every detail has been carefully chosen to convey sensations of pleasure: lights, colors, quality materials, design objects, state of the art technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ca' dei Dogi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing