We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem, must go!”
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' dei Dogi
Ranked #26 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Itajai, Brazil
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem, must go!”
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Incredible and great staff!! They were always happy and willing to make our stay as perfect as it was. Thanks a lot to Susanna, who helped us to enjoy Venice even more!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvpimentel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    137
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
102
519
57
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Fabulous boutique hotel, great location, just a short walk to St. Mark's Square, staff were exceptional, delicious breakfast complimentary with room.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gocougstac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

If you’re one of the fortunate few to call this place home while visiting the charming city of Venice, then bravo to you. No kidding, this cozy boutique hotel certainly stands out amongst the multitude and offers its patrons comforts rivaling the best in the area.
To be sure, this isn’t the Four Seasons (as far as luxury goes anyway) but what Ca Dei Dogi may lack in over-the-top white glove service, it more than compensates for in its personalized attention to its guests with utmost courtesy. Truly, the staff – Stefano, Susana and their team are just simply impeccable. One of the best—collectively— I’ve encountered in a while.

As far as location goes, you can’t do any better. The hotel is conveniently situated right in the heart of historic Venice, just by the main square of Piazza San Marco which includes architectural gem and one of the most important structures in all of Europe, majestic Basilica di San Marco. It is also bordered by Palazzo Ducale – seat of Venice’s governing body for centuries where it’s said the infamous Casanova was once imprisoned, and several of Venice’s other highlights.

Ca Dei Dogi features 6 rooms all individual decorated to create a more personalized experience for each visitor. They appear to have been recently renovated (at least mine was – a single which though a tad teeny, quite practical enough), and comes equipped with the standards: minibar, coffee/tea, safe, flat panel TVs (including some English channels which seems to be a rarity in Italy) and extra bedding, of course, if needed. Unfortunately there isn’t WiFi access in the rooms; however, this is possible in the reception area. There’s also a laptop there for general use with free access to the internet. Additionally, on the top floor, guests can unwind in hotel’s communal terrace.

Like most hotels in Italy, breakfast is included with your reservation. But this is no run-of-the-mill buffet-style spread. Indeed, patrons are treated to individually set tables with juices, yogurt, fruit salad, a warmed pastry (usually a croissant), cappuccino made to order and omelets (on demand) – whichever way you like it, your choice of filling.
Overall, a lovely experience which added to a thoroughly enjoyable visit. I miss it already and hope to return again someday.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yappingwithyomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

What a find! This lovely place is right next to the Doge's palace and bridge of sighs so if location is important to you, this is it. The breakfast is huge for italian standards: omelets made to order, croissants, toast, yogurt, fruit salad, any type of coffee you like, juice, etc.
We booked the twin room which is the smallest of all. It was perfect for us but if you are a little big or have more than 2 bags of luggage it will be too small. The entire place is spotless and recently renovated. Nice toiletries in the bathrooms (even toothbrush and toothpaste set!!!). But what really makes this place shine is the staff!!! Warm, welcoming, attentive and always with a smile. If we ever come back to Venice, Ca' dei Dogi will be our base again! ATTENTION make sure you book this hotel and not another one with the same name (odd).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiglesiasvidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Decorated to a very high standard and in the perfect spot right next to the Bride of Sighs yet in a quiet alley. We booked the batik room and the balcony was very welcome for some relaxation time after a day's walking, you can actually see inside the Doge's palace from the balcony when the windows are open. The service is the best thing about this hotel and the fact that there aren't many rooms means it's a very friendly and quiet place. As with most European hotel rooms there isn't a lot of storage and anyone staying for longer than a few days should contemplate booking the apartment, though there is a small fridge in the room which comes in handy.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony it is worth the extra
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joeygekko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I loved this hotel - the staff was wonderful and friendly, the location is superb, the rooms were spotless and new and the breakfast was incredible. The room I stayed in (a single room on the third floor was very small, but the other rooms I saw looked like they were an average size. All the rooms I saw were very nicely decorated and maintained. The staff here are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast they serve was impressive! Add to that the free hot drinks that are available whenever you want in the lobby and you have a perfect place to stay in Venice. I'm so glad I did!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kettletoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I booked one night here for my husband and I as we had to fly into Venice to go to Lake Garda as there are no direct flights to Verona in April. We therefore decided to make the most of it and stay in Venice for one night as we hadnt been before, Im so glad we did as the city is beautiful!

I found the hotel after reading reviews on here and it was pretty much the only hotel I wanted to book that wasnt ridiculously expensive, but still contemporary and well rated by others.

We received a really friendly welcome on arrival and were shown our room on the second floor. It was as i expected, quite small but really clean and a good modern bathroom. I didnt feel the size of the room mattered to us as on city breaks, we are pretty much always out exploring the city. I think the room sizes would only be an isue for people perhaps on a multi-city European trip with lots of luggage!

Anyway, the hotel is in a fantastic location, right behind Doges Palace and easy to find. It has a roof terrace in which you may take your own drinks to enjoy although we didnt have time for this during our short stay. Breakfast was ready for us the next morning as soon as we went down for it and was lovely. The hotel restaurant seemed really busy at night so I assume lunch and dinner are pretty good here too!

We were only in Venice for 24 hours but felt it was enough time for us to walk around the keys areas and see what we wanted to. The canals and building are all beautiful and its an amazing place to go, if not very expensive!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shangri-lada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#17 of 385 in Venice
938 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#15 of 385 in Venice
934 reviews
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#24 of 385 in Venice
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,579 reviews
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#32 of 385 in Venice
916 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#19 of 385 in Venice
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Property: Ca' dei Dogi
Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#25 Family Hotel in Venice
#32 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An antique Venetian palace dating back to the 15th century located close to the Palazzo Ducale and the Bridge of Sighs where you can enjoy a stay in Venice surrounded by a charming, sophisticated atmosphere and with top quality services. Ca' dei Dogi has been planned down to the finest detail to provide a unique, exceptionally pretty environment, combining typically Venetian details such as marble and mosaics with high quality technological comforts such as LCD televisions installed in every room. Six rooms, each individually decorated, where every detail contributes to the creation of an exclusive and refined atmosphere. Every detail has been carefully chosen to convey sensations of pleasure: lights, colors, quality materials, design objects, state of the art technology. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing