We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location couldn´t be better!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' dei Dogi
Ranked #22 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Location couldn´t be better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

This is truely a hidden gem of Venice.
We had a room with a little balcony where we could listen to the gondoleers singing along the channel. People are very friendly and as its a small hotel it was indeed a very personal treatment. From the hotel you can walk easily to most places, the breakfast was nice.
But we had to book well in advance as they are always busy.

Room Tip: Book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajantes-rio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    132
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
91
482
54
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

Loved this hotel, another great TripAdvisor find. Rooms in Venice tend to be small, but our room was plenty spacious for 3 people, including a teenager. We had the Superior room which included a separate space with a bed to give everyone a little more privacy. The room was very clean, nice, comfortable, quiet and had a large, modern bathroom. The staff was outstanding, helping us with reservations, recommendations and schedules. They recommended the restaurant that provided one of our best meals in Italy, La Bitta. It was also in a great location, near St Marks and the most popular vaporetto stops. Amenities included full breakfast, A/C, safe.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tymsink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

This hotel is clearly run by two proprietors that really care about their business. The location and quality of the rooms were outstanding considering the price. Our room, while small, had the nicest bathroom of our whole trip. The breakfast was probably my least favorite of our vacation but considering they're only serving six rooms that is understandable. The owners even made sure that we knew what water bus to take back to the train station and made sure our breakfast was set out early so we could eat before catching our train.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l0ves_t0_plan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B.C.,Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is an amazing little hotel! It is basically right behind the Doge's Palace on St. Mark's Square but can only be accessed by walking a few yards down a tiny and ancient alleyway from that square. Stepping from the busy waterfront into the alley is like going back hundreds of years! Nice people, rooms are fine (no elevators), restaurant small but gave us some good breakfasts, etc. Could not be closer to the action at a more reasonable price!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NotTooLate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Our room was small but comfortable, staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was well above average, and the location was terrific: close to San Marco Piazza, but tucked up a laneway in a quiet world of its own so you could make a quick escape from the hordes. Not cheap, but reasonable by Venice standards.

The only negative was something probably beyond the control of management: a selfish couple in a nearby room who thought it was reasonable to shout, laugh, slam doors and generally behave obnoxiously until 4am on consecutive nights.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2011Doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We are still dreaming about our trip to Switzerland and Italy in the winter. It is in large part due to our stay in Venice. Ca' dei Dogi was a perfect find and quite reasonably priced. We drove through Europe and parked in a parking lot outside of Venice. Cars are not allowed. The train would have taken us to the same location, and then you take a water bus to your stop. We got off on the wrong stop, had to walk a little and caught the next water bus to get to the right stop. It was after 7 and already quite dark. At first it feels a little scary to walk through with your luggage, but we stopped at a store to get directions, and the store owner spoke English and got us quickly back on track.

We were a little apprehensive about going down the Calle degli Albanesi because it looks like narrow alley, but the sensor lights came on and guided us through the to the front door. You learn very quickly that these alleyways and paths are part of Venice's unique charm. You have to be buzzed in, and once you get your keys, you are able to open the front door with them. The location is so close to St. Mark's Square and the water taxis, so it's very convenient, but at the same time very quiet.

We chose the room with the circular blue windows. We were on the top floor, and there is no elevator. My teenage daughter loved staying in this room. She said it was spacious for just her, and the room was quite cozy. It is a boutique hotel, and even though we had enough room, I hate when people say that these kinds of places are too small. We had the other room with a television and view of the inner courtyard. It was too cold in December to partake in the balcony and rooftop terrace, but it would provide a lovely setting for coffee or resting from the day's activities.

There is one computer with free Internet access, and if no one else is looking to use the computer, it was enough. I tried to use it later in the evening and no one else was around. They had a shelf of tour books you can borrow and pamphlets to help plan your outings.

Breakfast and service were great. They went out of their way to make us great omelettes and cappuccinos. We also had breads, marmalade, cheese, Nutella, and juice. The staff was very nice and made us feel very comfortable.

The hotel owner was great and arranged a free taxi for us to Murano. You should know that any factory tours include a sales pitch at the end, and the water taxi back to your hotel is not free. We took a water bus back and it was fine, but it took a lot longer than the direct water taxi, which is faster but costs a lot more, and is not as scenic. We took a bus that wasn't quite as fast because we left later in the evening, so make sure consult the schedule in your planning.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mommawanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

Ca' dei Dogi is a very quaint little hotel in the heart of Venice! It has a perfect location right off of the Vaporetto stop and San Marco Square! The service was excellent! They included breakfast which was very tasty omelettes and fresh fruit/yogurt! They did have free wi-fi available but this was only in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iheart2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#15 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#13 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#17 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#24 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#30 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Property: Ca' dei Dogi
Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#25 Family Hotel in Venice
#27 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An antique Venetian palace dating back to the 15th century located close to the Palazzo Ducale and the Bridge of Sighs where you can enjoy a stay in Venice surrounded by a charming, sophisticated atmosphere and with top quality services. Ca' dei Dogi has been planned down to the finest detail to provide a unique, exceptionally pretty environment, combining typically Venetian details such as marble and mosaics with high quality technological comforts such as LCD televisions installed in every room. Six rooms, each individually decorated, where every detail contributes to the creation of an exclusive and refined atmosphere. Every detail has been carefully chosen to convey sensations of pleasure: lights, colors, quality materials, design objects, state of the art technology. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing