We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great service”
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' dei Dogi
Ranked #19 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is right beside the basilica in a great location. Staff were very hospitable, in fact when we arrived our luggage was not on the plane . We were staying one night there and catching a cruise ship the following day. The owner spent the day and overnight to track down where our luggage was. He found it and indicated he knew the owner of the company that gets lost luggage and ensured it got to the ship the next day. We don't speak Italian and I am certain without his help we would not have had such a positive outcome. He and his staff did not have to do ths but demonstrates their commitment to their gusts. The room we were in was very romantic, clean and had an amazing shower. The breakfast in the morning was awesome and it was quiet. I wold recommend this hotel for the courtesy of staff, quality of food and cleanliness of hotel. Again location was great for sightseeing. It was a very nice memory to stay here.

Room Tip: If you go a lit.e further from tourist areas you will find some good inexpensive restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Telegramsam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

My pre-conceived idea was that this hotel would be acceptable, yet purely reliant on its location. How wrong that turned out!
This is an incredible little gem. We were lucky enough to have the top floor room and although small, was excellently finished and unbelievably charming. The seating area with the bay windows was brilliant and the adjoining balcony and terrace was an incredible place to relax. Although situated about 100m from Saint Mark's square, we felt miles away from the hustle and bustle of the more touristy side if Venice.
Breakfast was also brilliant (and included). Nice continental breads and fruit as well as a cooked omelette.
Throughout our booking process and stay, Susanna was always incredibly helpful and friendly and showed a genuine welcome for her guests.
I will never stay anywhere else in Venice and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - worth every penny!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the top room. There are a few stairs to climb but it is well worth it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GastroG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We were in Venice during Carnival (I wouldn't recommend this) and like everything else in Venice, rooms were expensive. I had reserved 2 double rooms; one with balcony. When we checked in, we were pleasantly surprised that both rooms had balconies. The rooms were quite small but well appointed; ours even had a nice jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. Once moved in, using all the nooks and crannies, it was comfortable. Imagine our real surprise when the proprietor saw us coming out of our room the next morning said, "You're in that room? That's not the right room!" Apparently the night clerk had given us the wrong room; we were supposed to have the non-balcony, room next door. Since the room we were in was rented for that night, we moved to the room next door. (The proprietor was very apologetic, offered to move us though we decided it was easier to move ourselves, and put a bottle of proseco aside for us to have that evening). Now our new room was the room the two girls traveling with us were supposed to be in, but we were fine -- it was just the one night. There was an issue with the sink drain in this room that my husband advised the proprietor on how to fix. Also, since this room had the bed up against the hallway wall, it was quite a bit noisier than the other room. But again, the hotel, however small, is comfortable and well appointed.
The breakfasts were very good and the waitstaff fabulous. We had omelets, croissants, fruit, juice, and wonderful cappucinos. The mixed omelette was especially nice. The waiter remembered our coffee orders the 2nd morning and brought them without asking, as he did for the 2nd round (we all had had 2 the day before). He even made up a tray for my daughter as she was down with a bad cold. Venice is not on my list of places to where I'd return, but this little hotel is a nice place for those who do plan to travel to Venice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. This is a small hotel with only a few rooms. The layout of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HPHAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

we stayed only for two nights but at the moment we came into the hotel, the hospitality and friendship of everyone was amazing. If you take the boat from the airport, you leave at San Zaccaria that's just one stop before San Marco's Square. Great location, good price, and nice restaurant.

Ótimo lugar para ficar! Adoramos a dica daqui! Pessoal super simpático.

Room Tip: Ficamos no 202 que é bem aconchegante, não tinha varanda, mas com o frio que fazia nem era o caso
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brunogouveia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The staff was excellent! The were very attentive and answered all my questions. The hotel itself was just beautifull! It was very clean and both rooms had there own private balcony. The bathrooms were also clean and the shower was a great size. Breakfast was great, we could not believe that it was all included because we recieved so much food. The location was great, although I would suggest to google the location first because it is in a little alleyway that may be difficult to find. The price of the hotel is a little high but I was willing to spend the extra for the comfort of the rooms and service of the staff. Also, they have tickets available for different tours and shows in the city. We saw a show on the story of Venice which was very nice and fun to learn about they're culture and how it began. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brittany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Very nice hotel in a wonderful location. Rooms are spacious and spotless. Breakfast was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The best thing this hotel has going for it is LOCATION. Steps from St. Marks's, we could see the Bridge of Sighs from our top floor room, yet right off the beaten track, 100m from the water taxi dock, yet you would never know it was there, unless you knew it was there. Location and quiet ambiance, the perfect combination. Will stay there again, and again, and again.

Room Tip: The top floor suite is worth the extra splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 385 in Venice
3,868 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,975 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 385 in Venice
1,891 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#13 of 385 in Venice
1,054 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#80 of 385 in Venice
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#25 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £94 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An antique Venetian palace dating back to the 15th century located close to the Palazzo Ducale and the Bridge of Sighs where you can enjoy a stay in Venice surrounded by a charming, sophisticated atmosphere and with top quality services. Ca' dei Dogi has been planned down to the finest detail to provide a unique, exceptionally pretty environment, combining typically Venetian details such as marble and mosaics with high quality technological comforts such as LCD televisions installed in every room. Six rooms, each individually decorated, where every detail contributes to the creation of an exclusive and refined atmosphere. Every detail has been carefully chosen to convey sensations of pleasure: lights, colors, quality materials, design objects, state of the art technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ca' dei Dogi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing