We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, charm and great hospitality!”
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' dei Dogi
Ranked #25 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Location, charm and great hospitality!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

What a charming, well-appointed hotel in an absolutely fabulous location! Adjacent to St. Mark's Square (a major tourist attraction), this hotel is tucked away down a small alley but very close to the Waterbus, a myriad of restaurants and cafes, shopping, etc. We had a room with a deck (chairs and table) and a Jacuzzi tub which we used every evening after a long day of walking around and taking in the sights. The staff was extremely friendly and the breakfast they serve surpasses any breakfast we had during our 6 weeks of European travels. By Venice standards (and having done some price comparisons), we found the Ca die Dogi to be excellent value. If you want charm and want to be in the "centre of it all" this hotel is a superb choice!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Troosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    136
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
97
503
55
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed two nights and wished we had planned for a longer stay in Venice. Small room but very comfortable and quiet at night...even with the windows open! Stefano and Susanna are wonderful hosts who made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to help us with our travels. They have their own restaurant attached, and so breakfast (included) was superb. The location was perfect for seeing the best of Venice, and we even got to a chamber music concert one evening because it was so close. They eased us in to the Italian way of dinner....late, over conversation and wine...no rush, many courses! This is a great B&B!

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor...a little bigger and better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here only one night, before starting a cruise that began in Venice. We arrived before check-in and the lady at the desk cheerfully greeted us and assured us that we could leave our luggage in the lobby and it would be brought up to our room when the room was ready. And that's what they we found. In the meantime, we walked the few blocks to San Marco Square to do some sightseeing and grab some lunch. Our room seemed small (to an American used to American-sized hotel rooms) but it had everything we needed - a minibar, a nice-sized bed, a safe for our passports, and all the amenities you need in a bathroom. Breakfast included omelettes, which I truly appreciated. In the evening,we accidentally short-circuited the electricity in our room and the front-desk clerk was quick to act to figure out how to get us our electricity back. On our check-out, again we were graciously allowed to leave our luggage in the lobby until we were ready to go to our cruise ship. Two small issues we had - the shower seemed to leak water into the bathroom (or did we do something wrong?) and the bed frame juts out at the foot of the bed and we kept bruising our shins on that. Very minor problems, all in all. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be near St. Mark's Square.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmgronsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I think we had the only two-bedded room in the hotel. It's, literally, under the stairs. Just off the lobby. It felt a bit like we were in the hull of a ship. :) Having said that, it was comfortable and had enough space that two of us didn't feel like we were on top of each other. It also has double doors and was quite quiet. The shower would not be good if you were tall though, having said that the shower head does detach from the rest so, you could probably make do.

Breakfast was great - fruit, pastries, yogurt, juice, coffee and they'll make you an omelet. The staff at the restaurant and the hotel were all lovely and very accommodating.

After we found the hotel (we kept being told by the people working at the boat ticket booths to get on different boats at the terminal outside the Santa Lucia train station & ended up taking a water taxi) we realized how fantastic the location is. If you keep going 20 steps more down the alley past the hotel and look left you'll see the bridge of sighs. It's a 2 minute walk to the front of the bridge, and 5 minutes to the Piazza San Marco and great shopping. Five minutes the other way is one of the best gelato places we went to in Italy (La Mela Verde).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JupiterZowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed two nights in room 301 which had a balcony and table for two. The room was small but tastefully decorated. The bed was comfortable. The balcony terrace overlooked a private wooded courtyard and the Dogi palace. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the breakfast of croissants filled with fruit and omelets. We arrived late back to the room while the staff was cleaning up the restaurant and we asked if we could purchase a bottle of wine to enjoy on the terrace of our room. Well they practically tripped over each other getting us a very nice bottle. Whoever was running the restaurant event sent back the first selection to get us a better quality wine. They supplied a cooler sleeve and wine glasses. We ate at their restaurant for lunch and the service was great and the food was good and reasonably priced. Will definitely come back again. Great value for the location and they made us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Loved the terrace room 301 overlooking the private courtyard and Dogi palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed four nights in the single room and it really is shoebox sized! But it's immaculately maintained and the bathroom, tiny also, is very nice. It's quiet, despite being only a few minutes walk to San Marco, the Bridge of Sighs, the waterfront and the hubbub of all the shops and restaurants in the area. Breakfast was great - and very generous. The staff were all friendly and helpful and I'd recommend this place if you're staying in Venice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SisPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this romantic boutique hotel for two nights and found it outstanding. Perfect location near San Marco square and Doges palace. The tiny room was beautiful with everything one would expect in a first class hotel. In room 301 we enjoyed our private terrace to sip prosecco in the evening. The included breakfast was ample, with cappuccinos and omelettes with fresh mushrooms and cheese. Staff were very helpful. For the price in Venice, you can't go wrong with this lovely little hotel.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#15 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#13 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#16 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,522 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#26 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#32 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Property: Ca' dei Dogi
Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#25 Family Hotel in Venice
#30 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An antique Venetian palace dating back to the 15th century located close to the Palazzo Ducale and the Bridge of Sighs where you can enjoy a stay in Venice surrounded by a charming, sophisticated atmosphere and with top quality services. Ca' dei Dogi has been planned down to the finest detail to provide a unique, exceptionally pretty environment, combining typically Venetian details such as marble and mosaics with high quality technological comforts such as LCD televisions installed in every room. Six rooms, each individually decorated, where every detail contributes to the creation of an exclusive and refined atmosphere. Every detail has been carefully chosen to convey sensations of pleasure: lights, colors, quality materials, design objects, state of the art technology. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing