We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable Location”
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' dei Dogi
Ranked #26 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Unbeatable Location”
Reviewed 12 September 2008

This hotel is in the perfect location to explore Venice. Whilst its so close you're practically in St Marks square, its also so quiet you'd believe you were miles away.

The hotel is hidden behind the Doge's palace in a small alley. Its close to the waterbus stops and due to this enables you to travel throughout Venice without any problems.

The rooms are clean and modern. We stayed in the economy twin room which I wouldn't recommend as its small and quite dark. However I haven't let that influence this review other than the recommend that you take a different room.

The staff were friendly and helpful. THey were prepared to give advice and went out of their way to assist us.

Breakfast was lovely. I would stay here again without any reservations in doing so.

  • Liked — Location - close to sights but no noise
  • Disliked — The room - too small and dark
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire_murray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    137
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
102
520
57
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

In terms of location this place can't be beat. Only a short stroll (2 mins) to St Marks Square and only minutes away from ferry services that give you access to to grand canal. The great thing about this property though, is it's tucked away in a quiet little backstreet, so you are so close, yet so far from the noise and crowds.

The room (no. 202... i think), though quite small was spotless and well equipped with everything we needed. Air conditioning was very efficient and an absolute necessity on those hot, humid summer days.

Bathroom was beautiful to look and and exceptionally clean but maybe not so practical, again because of the size. I just found it really squeezy after getting out of the shower. Towels were large luxurious and fluffy which was a nice addition.

They had an internet terminal set up downstairs in the common area near reception which was great. They did have wireless too, but our mac was having problems picking up a signal from our room on the first floor.

The staff were very helpful on our arrival and were always offering advice when needed. One of the staff even got breakfast ready for us the morning of our departure, even though it was 6am (i still feel guilty getting them out of bed just to warm us up a couple of croissants lol)

Breakfast was nice. Tables are set before you arrive in the breakfast room, so there is no choice as such, but every morning there was fruit salad, croissants, yoghurt, juice, and the option of a freshly cooked omelette and your choice of hot drink.

The roof top terrace is a fantastic addition to the property. And it was great to sit up there and relax in the afternoon after a busy day.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kate0680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2008

I am just back from an unbelievably fantastic "50th Birthday European Adventure" (if you have to turn 50, turn 50 in style). This little gem of a hotel was our first stop on a 16 night whirlwind tour of Venice, Rome, Positano, Bellagio, Innsbruck, Kitzbuhel, Salzburg and Vienna.

What a fabulous location, steps from the vaporetto and St. Marks, there were 6 of us on this leg of the trip, and we all fell in love with Ca' Dei Dogi AND the lovely Susanna (and Stefano and everyone else associated). Just as with a previous reviewer, Susanna had to come to our rescue when we had the wrong train station for the day of our departure (beware....Venezia Maestre is NOT the train station in the heart of the town...). Susanna also steered us toward excellent restaurants, we were not let down. If you are reading this review, Susanna, thank you from Charlene & gang...we appreciate everything you did.

Our rooms were comfortable, attractive and spotless. Our (adult) son and daughter had the main floor twin bed room - it was outfitted similar to a cabin on a sailboat, and was very cozy and interestingly laid out, they loved it. My husband and I had the Jacuzzi suite with a small balcony on the 3rd floor - perfect. My best friend and her daughter occupied a superior suite on the top floor, which had a separate twin bed..again, perfect for our needs. There's also a terrace where everyone could gather for a drink.

The breakfast served was so lovely, jam filled fresh, warm croissants (never had any as good again the rest of the trip), rolls, fruit, yogurt, juices..and they'll make an omelette for you as well. It was perfect.

I couldn't recommend this charming hotel enough...the price is fantastic for Venezia, the location can't be beat, the staff are wonderful. You can keep your large 5 star hotels, give me the personal attention, warmth and charm of a small hotel like this any day. If I'm ever back in Venezia, I won't stay anywhere else.

Helpful?
Thank Diamondlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

This is a gem in Venice! Fantastic location, just off from St. Mark's Square, and steps from the Grand Canal. Makes for easy walking from the vaporetto to the hotel. Get off at the second St. Mark's "water taxi" stop. They have made great use of the small spaces. Everything is efficient and well planned out. Our college age girls liked that they could check email in the lobby for free.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank world1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at Ca dei Dogi. One aspect that cannot be underestimated is its location right by San Marco Square and also just steps from the Vaporetto stop. This made coming and going extremely easy.

Our hosts greeted us personally and it is obvious that they care about their customers.

The room was modern and very clean. We also enjoyed the breakfast in a nice dining room and again personal service.

Venice can be just swamped with tourists and we only had to go a few steps to escape the madness.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank slot14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2008

We absolutely loved this hotel and it provided a very comfortable base to explore this magical city from. Our stay started with huge apologies that our room was not ready when it was actually us who had arrived 15 minutes early! As we had mentioned that it was our honeymoon, we were upgraded for no extra cost to a jacuzzi room, which was a lovely treat. The owners and staff made us feel right at home from the minute we walked in the door. Our room was gorgeous, the breakfasts delicious and the location absolutely fantastic. We especially enjoyed relaxing on our own little balcony. Overall this is highly recommendable and we would love to come back!

  • Liked — The people
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank manase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Ca Dei Dogi is a lovely hotel located about a stones throw away from the Piazza San Marco. What Ca Dei Dogi lacks in space, it makes up in charm and great customer service. Knowing that we were on our honeymoon, Stefano gave us a free room upgrade for the first night of our stay. The next night we were back in the ground floor room that we originally booked. Although small, the room was clean and nicely furnished. I found it interesting how the beds were lifted off the ground onto a bi-level platform. Later, I came to realize that it was probably to prevent getting wet during the Acqua Alta. Susanna helped us book most of our tours during our stay: Murano, Burano and Torcello as well as our Grand Canal Tour. In the mornings, a nice breakfast was waiting for us at the Taverna Dei Dogi. I am a big fan of their freshly squeezed blood orange juice! We had wonderful memories of Venice, and Ca Dei Dogi was one of them. When we come back to Venice, we plan on staying here again.

  • Liked — Location!
  • Disliked — There wasn't much I didn't like, but if I had to say something...probably the size of the rooms.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelLili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#17 of 385 in Venice
939 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#15 of 385 in Venice
935 reviews
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#24 of 385 in Venice
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,580 reviews
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#32 of 385 in Venice
916 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#19 of 385 in Venice
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Property: Ca' dei Dogi
Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#25 Family Hotel in Venice
#30 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An antique Venetian palace dating back to the 15th century located close to the Palazzo Ducale and the Bridge of Sighs where you can enjoy a stay in Venice surrounded by a charming, sophisticated atmosphere and with top quality services. Ca' dei Dogi has been planned down to the finest detail to provide a unique, exceptionally pretty environment, combining typically Venetian details such as marble and mosaics with high quality technological comforts such as LCD televisions installed in every room. Six rooms, each individually decorated, where every detail contributes to the creation of an exclusive and refined atmosphere. Every detail has been carefully chosen to convey sensations of pleasure: lights, colors, quality materials, design objects, state of the art technology. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing