We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Nice Surprise!”
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' dei Dogi
Ranked #19 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Unsure of where, and what, we were booking, we located our hotel in exactly the area we wanted to be in. Only one "block" from the bridge of sighs, Doge Palace and the prison, we could not have asked for a more central location! Then the introduction to the room - clean, new, spacious, friendly staff (thanks Suzanne!) - perfect! But wait there's more! The breakfast, that was included in the price, had to be one of the best ever! The croissants were to die for! I was tempted to keep this one my own secret spot, but if you are ever in Venice it is a must stay! Thanks Ca Dei Dogi!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

"Picturesque" is the best word to describe this lovely little hotel. Me and my wife spent 2 days there after a cruise in June 2014. The room is small but comfy, nice bath, comfortable bed. Susana was always very nice and help us with the information about attractions, directions, restaurants, transport to the airport, etc. the hotel is located just few meters from the Piazza St. Pietro, crossing only one bridge, in a little aisle that we missed when we tried to find upon our arrival in Venice, but as soon you learn the way, it becomes part of the "charm" of this hidden place. A curiosity: you will be given the front door keys besides your room keys, so you can enter the hotel anytime during the night without waking anybody.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms at the second floor. The hotel does not have an elevator (as anyone at Venice).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcels72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Tucked in beside the Doges Palace this is a gem of a hotel. My single room was tiny but very well appointed. I could sleep with the window open and see the birds circling over St Marco. Breakfast is delicious and easily enough to keep you going all day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pixiefairweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Had a great 3 day stay. Stefano and Suzzanna were great with personal recommendations and arrangements. Breakfast was ample with omlets and fruit. The location is perfect, but it is the personal attention that makes this place special.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GBS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel early in the month and loved it. Greeted by friendly staff and had bags carried up to our room. Room was large by European standards and bathroom was modern, our little patio looked at the back of the Dodges Palace, but it was so peaceful you would never believe where the hotel is located. The stop, San Zaccarria is convient to where ever you need to go and you can walk just about anywhere. The best time was at night as the location of the hotel made it possible to walk around the city when the crowds were gone and come back to our hotel. The breakfast was great with made to order omlets and same with any coffee you wanted. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can't do stairs stay on the 1st floor (2nd floor in US) as there is no hotel elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank respbill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We recently stayed here and absolutely loved everything. Clean, spacious
Amazing cooked breakfast and real coffee made to order.
There was no negatives. The dedicated staff carried our bags to our
rooms which were surprisingly large for Venice, new updated bathrooms,
Quality bedding and very very comfortable, highly recommended.
1 minute walk for Saint Marco and 4 minutes walk for Aleguna ferry to drop off cruise port within 20 minutes.
Ship ferry that drops you directly to port around minutes

Room Tip: Take the larger room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBQ05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A lovely hotel - wonderfully situated just behind the Doge's Palace and a very short walk from San Zaccaria boat stop, so we were able to take the Alilaguna boat from the airport. We went for a long weekend, a surprise for my husband, and we loved the room - small but very well-appointed, with a balcony - and the huge bathroom with wonderful jacuzzi bath.

Breakfasts were good, with pastries, fruit and yoghurt, good coffee, and fresh omelettes - I recommend a mushroom one. The staff were pleasant, helpful and friendly, and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Just check the website - there are detailed descriptions of each room with photographs. We had the j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,787 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 385 in Venice
1,580 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,951 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#25 of 385 in Venice
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#21 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#25 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £103 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An antique Venetian palace dating back to the 15th century located close to the Palazzo Ducale and the Bridge of Sighs where you can enjoy a stay in Venice surrounded by a charming, sophisticated atmosphere and with top quality services. Ca' dei Dogi has been planned down to the finest detail to provide a unique, exceptionally pretty environment, combining typically Venetian details such as marble and mosaics with high quality technological comforts such as LCD televisions installed in every room. Six rooms, each individually decorated, where every detail contributes to the creation of an exclusive and refined atmosphere. Every detail has been carefully chosen to convey sensations of pleasure: lights, colors, quality materials, design objects, state of the art technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ca' dei Dogi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing