We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' dei Dogi
Ranked #18 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We loved Ca dei Dogi hotel in Venice. We were upgraded to a room with a terrace which we enjoyed. The hotel is 500 years old, but extremely modern and clean on the inside. The hotel is in the best location. Next to St. Marks Sq. and the Bridge of Sighs. When we arrived we were offered water and our bags were carried to our room for us. (3rd floor, no elevator). It has free internet access in the lobby. The hotel staff was very helpful in assisting us with directions to various tourist sites. Breakfast, which is included was wonderful. Croissants, omelettes, coffee and juice. Venice hotels can be a bit pricey and we found this to be very reasonable at 170 Euros/night.

One word of caution. There is a room on the main floor, the least expensive of all rooms which has 2 twin beds. I believe it was $150 Euros/night. I didn't see it, but understand that it has only 2 small windows which are quite high and you would not be able to see outside.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DonnaJuneT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2009

An excellent hotel and so well located literally in the backyard of St Marks Square/Doges Palace. The hotel was easy to get too with excellent instructions on the website :0) On arrival we got a friendly greeting and a refreshing drink! The service could not have been better and the room although compact was well designed and beautiful. The jacuzzi bath was so relaxing. The little balcony was also very nice. The breakfast was lovely and plentifull to ensure you started the day full up! We also got a little suprise of a bottle of wine chilling in our bedroom. The restaurant next door was nice and good value I would definately recommend the profiteroles.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ultimick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights starting on May 23rd. Susanna and her staff were incredibly wonderful and so helpful. Stephen was excellent and both did everything to make our stay the best stay possible! The hotel was great..it was very clean and the balcony off our room was adorable and quaint! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonymegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

When my husband and I arrived after a long journey, we were warmly welcomed by Stephano with a refreshing drink, warm words and excellent recommendations on where to eat. We were equally impressed by our beautiful room and roof-top balcony. In addition, Suzanna was so helpful in finding our lost baggage from the airline. She must have spent two hours on the phone locating it and before we knew it, our luggage was sitting in our room. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairmountpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Boutique hotel just behind St Mark's square but quiet enough not to hear the noise. The rooms are cosy but the space is used thoughtfully and the bathrooms modern and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Italy doesn't always have the best reputation when it comes to hotels but this one definitely isn't classed among them. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason76London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Stayed here in July 2008 for 2 nights and was upgraded immediately to a room with a private balcony. Amazing location right near St. Mark's, Doge's Palace and Bridge of Sighs . The room and bathroom were small, but also beautiful and spotless (we were never in the room anyway). Stefano and Susanna were so pleasant and made us feel right at home. They were also helpful with whatever we needed (directions, restaurant recommendations). Breakfast daily (croissants, fruit, omelette). There was no elevator, but they carried our bags up for us so it wasn't a problem. Next time, I'll stay longer!!!

Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
1  Thank ltt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

We stayed at the Ca’ dei Dogi for 4 nights in October 2008 to celebrate my birthday. This was our (my boyfriend and I) first time to Venice. We booked in advance (Feb 2008) and at this time the hotel was ranked #1 on TA.

Transportation
We arrived in Venice at Treviso Airport with Ryan Air. We took the coach bus (associated with Ryan Air arrival times) to Venice Piazzale Roma – ATVO Eurobus. From the bus station in Venice we took the water bus (1, 2, 52) and got off at San Zaccaria. San Zaccaria is very close to the hotel – 1 minute walk and you are there.

Neighborhood
The area around the hotel is very quiet and it is tucked away from the craziness of St Mark’s Square. The hotel is very convenient to see St Marks Square and you can get to other areas with the water bus or by walking. We walked our entire stay because the weather was comfortable in October and we wanted to get lost in this city…plus you see so much more!

Room (photos included)
We had the smallest double room on the ground floor for a rate of €160 per night (including breakfast). We booked the hotel through their website. The room was small with twin beds. It was equipped with the flat screen TV, desk area, safe and wardrobe area. The windows for this room were very high up as the ceiling to the room was very high…so there was no natural light. However, with the size and lack of natural light I still found this room to be cozy, clean and perfect for our stay. There were no cheap furnishings and that goes a long way. I would stay in this hotel and the same room again!

Bathroom (photos included)
The bathroom was also small but modern. The shower was a shower/tub combination and very clean.

Amenities/Service
We ate breakfast every morning at the hotel…very good. Eggs, bread, coffee…were fantastic. Also the owner did reserve restaurants for us of our choice. The two owners were very friendly and helpful. They made the stay very pleasant for us. They do have laptop in the reception area to check your email – which was convenient.

Overall I would stay here again on a return visit to Venice. The service and room were wonderful and you can’t beat the location or the price!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EUEx-pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 387 in Venice
2,002 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 387 in Venice
3,921 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#80 of 387 in Venice
1,925 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Palazzo Veneziano
Palazzo Veneziano
#19 of 387 in Venice
288 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#38 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £96 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An antique Venetian palace dating back to the 15th century located close to the Palazzo Ducale and the Bridge of Sighs where you can enjoy a stay in Venice surrounded by a charming, sophisticated atmosphere and with top quality services. Ca' dei Dogi has been planned down to the finest detail to provide a unique, exceptionally pretty environment, combining typically Venetian details such as marble and mosaics with high quality technological comforts such as LCD televisions installed in every room. Six rooms, each individually decorated, where every detail contributes to the creation of an exclusive and refined atmosphere. Every detail has been carefully chosen to convey sensations of pleasure: lights, colors, quality materials, design objects, state of the art technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ca' dei Dogi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing