We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even better than we expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ca' dei Dogi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' dei Dogi
Ranked #23 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Plainfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Even better than we expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009

We stayed 2 nights at the Ca Dei Dogi, a small boutique hotel with six rooms. It was only a short walk from the boat stop (Alilaguna from the airport), literally around the corner from the Piazza San Marco. The people are delightful – friendly and helpful. We were treated to a welcome drink, and could eat at the affiliated restaurant for 10% off. We purchased the breakfast option, and enjoyed the "made-to-order" omelets on the terrace each morning. The coffee (as it is in Italy) was strong, and refilled a number of times. Free Wi-Fi is available in the office (on their computer), or on one's laptop in the office or on the breakfast terrace. Our room (#401) was small, but had a wonderful sitting area (almost doubling its size) with stained-glass windows. We had our own balcony, as well as use of the roof-top terrace. The hotel, while in a old building, is very modern and scrupulously clean. All of the appliances and bathroom fixtures are quite high tech. San Marco is about a 5 minute walk, and shops, restaurants, and the Grand Canal are closer. At the far end of the alley on which the hotel is located (less than a minute) one can see the back of the Doge's Palace and the Bridge of Sighs (or one could if they weren't draped in scaffolding and tarps for renovation work). While there is a huge amount of "bustle" nearby, the immediate area around the hotel and restaurant is quiet. The area seemed very safe, and the hotel is conscious about security. We definitely would give our strongest recommendation to those looking for a fairly priced hotel near to all the action, but one that also gives needed respite from the tourist crowds.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    133
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
96
492
55
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed at Ca' dei Dogi for 3 nights in June. This a fabulous place with very convenient location and reasonable room rates. Rooms are small but absolutely beautifully decorated and very efficient. Bathrooms are very elegant. There is a cozy feel everywhere in the building. The entire place is sprakling clean. The breakfast is delicious and served either outside in the patio or in the breakfast area of the restaurant on the ground level. Susanna and Stefano are great hosts and graciously offer help and recommendations for anything you need. The hotel is hidden in an alley just 2 min walk from San Zaccaria vaporetto stop, and although it is right behind the Palazzo dei Dogi and Piazza San Marco, is very quiet and away from tourist traffic. We loved Ca' dei Dogi and will definitely return soon!
Tip: Try the wine bars and outdoor restaurants around Campo San Giacomo - Al Prosecco and Muro are fun and very popular. The restaurants with outdoor sitting face Canale Grande and are strategic spots to watch the Canale and the gondolas and the buildings across in the evening. Need reservation for dinner, gets really busy around 7pm.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newyork62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

We loved Ca dei Dogi hotel in Venice. We were upgraded to a room with a terrace which we enjoyed. The hotel is 500 years old, but extremely modern and clean on the inside. The hotel is in the best location. Next to St. Marks Sq. and the Bridge of Sighs. When we arrived we were offered water and our bags were carried to our room for us. (3rd floor, no elevator). It has free internet access in the lobby. The hotel staff was very helpful in assisting us with directions to various tourist sites. Breakfast, which is included was wonderful. Croissants, omelettes, coffee and juice. Venice hotels can be a bit pricey and we found this to be very reasonable at 170 Euros/night.

One word of caution. There is a room on the main floor, the least expensive of all rooms which has 2 twin beds. I believe it was $150 Euros/night. I didn't see it, but understand that it has only 2 small windows which are quite high and you would not be able to see outside.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonnaJuneT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

An excellent hotel and so well located literally in the backyard of St Marks Square/Doges Palace. The hotel was easy to get too with excellent instructions on the website :0) On arrival we got a friendly greeting and a refreshing drink! The service could not have been better and the room although compact was well designed and beautiful. The jacuzzi bath was so relaxing. The little balcony was also very nice. The breakfast was lovely and plentifull to ensure you started the day full up! We also got a little suprise of a bottle of wine chilling in our bedroom. The restaurant next door was nice and good value I would definately recommend the profiteroles.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ultimick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights starting on May 23rd. Susanna and her staff were incredibly wonderful and so helpful. Stephen was excellent and both did everything to make our stay the best stay possible! The hotel was great..it was very clean and the balcony off our room was adorable and quaint! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonymegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

When my husband and I arrived after a long journey, we were warmly welcomed by Stephano with a refreshing drink, warm words and excellent recommendations on where to eat. We were equally impressed by our beautiful room and roof-top balcony. In addition, Suzanna was so helpful in finding our lost baggage from the airline. She must have spent two hours on the phone locating it and before we knew it, our luggage was sitting in our room. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairmountpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

Boutique hotel just behind St Mark's square but quiet enough not to hear the noise. The rooms are cosy but the space is used thoughtfully and the bathrooms modern and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Italy doesn't always have the best reputation when it comes to hotels but this one definitely isn't classed among them. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason76London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#15 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#13 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#17 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,488 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#27 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#31 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Property: Ca' dei Dogi
Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#25 Family Hotel in Venice
#28 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An antique Venetian palace dating back to the 15th century located close to the Palazzo Ducale and the Bridge of Sighs where you can enjoy a stay in Venice surrounded by a charming, sophisticated atmosphere and with top quality services. Ca' dei Dogi has been planned down to the finest detail to provide a unique, exceptionally pretty environment, combining typically Venetian details such as marble and mosaics with high quality technological comforts such as LCD televisions installed in every room. Six rooms, each individually decorated, where every detail contributes to the creation of an exclusive and refined atmosphere. Every detail has been carefully chosen to convey sensations of pleasure: lights, colors, quality materials, design objects, state of the art technology. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing