We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hotel, a home away from home.”
Review of Ca' Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' Alexander
Ranked #238 of 482 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We chose this apartment because of its location, on the Via Garibaldi, & found that we had made a great choice. The owners were very welcoming & provided a good breakfast every morning which included fruit juice, yogurt, rolls & pastries. Tea & coffee making facilities were included in the kitchen. The apartment is lovely, although if you have trouble with stairs its not for you. On the fourth floor, with a great big terrace, the rooms are great. The bedroom has lots of storage, a lovely big double bed, a fold out single sofa & a dresser with a large mirror over it. The sitting area has another fold out sofa bed & unit contaning the TV etc. There is a dinky little dining area & good kitchen. The bathroom is done in typical georgeous Italian fittings. The handbasin is in beautiful green glass & the shower is powerful enough to nearly knock you over. Just the think to wake you on a morning. We highly recomend this B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raven28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2009

We stayed in Ca Alexander's other apartment, Ca dell'Ancore, for a week in May 09. The Castello area was a great choice - a scenic 10min walk along the waterfront to Piazza San Marco and the main tourist area, plus wonderful things to see and do in Castello itself. And ... not a lot of tourists - what a relief! The area around the Rialto Bridge and San Marco were so crowded it was MADNESS.

Our apartment was a "canal view" - our own little canal outside (we were one floor up), a FANTASTIC patisserie and gelati shop in the little courtyard below, a fruit & veg barge daily, lots of terrific bars and restaurants (expensive, but ALL Venice is!) and that rarest of animals, a huge beautiful green park at the back door.

Unfortunately there was no washing machine, but a laundromat is not too far away. Our only MINOR complaint was the couch .. very hard and uncomfortable, but who spends time on the couch when Venice is outside?? What a wonderful experience, we'd definitely stay here again.

Sabrina & Alessandro were very welcoming and hospitable, spoke good English (which was great because my Italian is very poor).

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlynnF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

This review is for the apartment, which is on a different location than the B&B, but run by the same owners. We found it to be perfect for our needs. The apartment consists of a large bedroom with a large, very firm bed (I think it was a Cal King) and a twin-size bed (which we did not use), a fully equipped kitchenette (it looks recently renovated), a hallway and a good-sized bathroom. It was sparkling clean, and very quiet. A good place to return after a full day of sightseeing. The owners are very friendly and made us feel welcome from the moment we made the reservation. The only drawback was that the a/c broke down on our first day and Venice was very hot. We adjusted by having the window open at night, but that might not even be sufficient in the summer. Also, there are two flights of stairs to be dealt with and no elevator, so bear this in mind if you have a lot of luggage. There is no breakfast service at the apartment, since it has the kitchenette, and we did not mind at all as the kitchen is fully equipped and there is a grocery store (Coop) a few yards from the apartment. The area is very nice, as there is a park (Giardini) within 5 minutes from the apartment. Overall, I really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alipg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

My family of 4 adults, stayed in this very lovely apartment for (unfortunately!!) only 2 nights and we could not have been happier with it. It was the nicest place we stayed in our 10 days of traveling. It is spacious, modern, has a great patio with nice views from both directions and is in a great location. The beds were all so comfortable and there are huge closets with plenty of space. It is located above a street that has good restaurants, fun people watching, a number of bars, grocery store and anything else you might need.

The owners could not have been nicer or more helpful. Breakfast (juice, coffee, warm sweet rolls and regular rolls) was delivered at a time of our choosing. The refrigerator is stocked with milk, butter and yogurt.

My adult daughters thought this place was wonderful, and loved everything about it. We all travel light (carry-on size bags), so the steps were not bad (from the ground level there are approximately 10, then about the same for the 2nd floor, there are 28 up to the apartment).

Hopefully we will be in Venice again, and we would absolutely stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jperkin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

Worst experience we ever had.

Louisa & Jeannot

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LouisaSislian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandrone822003, Direttore at Ca' Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2011

No words for them. They want to leave without saying words and without paying the bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2008

Stayed in the Ca' Alexander 1 bedroom apartment in Venice in May 2008, it was awesome. Best accommodation we had in Italy, it was the nicest, cleanest, brightest and most comfortable room and certainly better than anticipated. The owners were great and breakfast was delicious. Great location, only a short walk to some of Venice's most popular areas. A park is nearby (we found that we missed seeing trees and open spaces after being around the canals for too long!) which was nice too.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2007

I highly suggest to anyone travelling to Venice to look to Castello as a base for their stay. And particularly look at Ca' Alexander. It was very clean, finely decorated and the owners very warm and helpful. The terrace view was fantastic; what a joy to watch the locals in their early morning activities and early evenings community gatherings. Very close to water bus and easy walking to the center. You can't go wrong staying in this apartment!

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank Dorte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Locanda Orseolo
Locanda Orseolo
#2 of 388 in Venice
2,074 reviews
Castello
Taverna San Lio
Taverna San Lio
#152 of 482 in Venice
137 reviews
Santa Croce
Residenza Al Doge Beato
Residenza Al Doge Beato
#243 of 482 in Venice
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
la chicca
la chicca
#114 of 482 in Venice
184 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#156 of 388 in Venice
2,192 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 388 in Venice
1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Alexander

Address: Castello 1966, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 482 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: £119 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Alexander B&B is a beautiful attic with terrace located in Castello district, facing the picturesque main road Via Garibaldi, near the famous Biennale Exhibitions of Art and the Arsenale.The attic at the top of a Venetian building (4°floor/ no lift) consists of a big double-room with a single bed, kitchen and table for breakfast,a living-room with another bed,a nice bathroom with shower and an amazing terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Ca' Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing