We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and friendly helpful staff”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Centro Culturale Don Orione Artigianelli
Ranked #213 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value and friendly helpful staff”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This place was great value and very clean and tidy. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. The breakfasts were simple but nice. It is only a 5-10 minute walk to San Marco and there is a vaporetto stop almost outside the door. It was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of San Marco (and the guys selling dodgy bags). I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisVegasMum10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    68
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
37
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I stayed here recently on a 3 day trip and I cannot fault it. As a last minute booking I was allocated the only room available which was very spacious, perfectly clean but had no view. The following day, once another room became available I was moved, and given what must have been the best view in the house. Basic breakfast, but more than adequate, extremely helpful staff and beautiful surroundings. So peaceful and a respite from the crowds across the bridge. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view when booking, I think most do have but one or two don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loop104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Located in a monastery, but with little sign of monks, this place has an ambience closer to a a modern budget hotel. It offers comfortable no-frills accommodation (e.g. modern bathrooms but no TV or kettles in rooms), a good breakfast, and helpful reception staff. It's also very reasonably priced. The building itself has some interesting features, e.g. its modern spiral staircase. It is conveniently located close to the attractive Zattere waterfront and the Accademia bridge, in a pleasant artistic area only slightly off the main tourist trail.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My husband expected a musty churchy establishment, but he was pleasantly surprised to find this monestary fully modernized, almost to the point of sterility. It was very clean, the AC worked beautifully, and the elevator worked fine. No TV but who needs it. The reception was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a bit spartan: no fruit, eggs or meat. It is in the Dorsoduro district, a very short walk from the Grand Canal Accademia vaporetto boat stop and bridge, and the art gallery. It is also a few steps from several waterfront restaurants on the Canale della Giudecca.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antwerp belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed for two nights in this peaceful place in Venice during the Biennale. It was a very warm period and the center of Venice was crowded, so it was a pleasure to return to this quiet, simple but very nice haven. I would stay here again on a next visit to Venice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heerlyckheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We found a room at Don Orione at the last minute when we fled our original hotel with no hot water. The kind staff, the spacious and spotlessly clean room and the low price made us wish we'd stayed here in the first place. Note: Don Orione does not accept walk-ins typically, so if you are thinking of staying here, reserve ahead.
The location was very good, just a short walk to the Accademia or the Peggy Guggenheim Collection.
The room was bright and airy, very clean and fresh. The bathroom was clean and a nice size. The breakfast was generous, with a large selection of items. The hotel offered free wi-fi and the staff were friendly and helpful.
And the price was very reasonable for Venice. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank athena-fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed here for three nights in Oct 2010 and were very pleased with the entire experience. The front desk people were very friendly and helpful. The whole place was absolutely spotless. This included our room, the hallways and public areas. Breakfast was typical European Continental which suited us fine as it was pretty much like we have at home. A significant feature was that it is very easy to find. From the Zattere Vaporetto or Alilaguna stop the hotel is a very short walk down the street to the right of the church. We took the Alilaguna from the airport and sure appreciated how easy it was to find after flying overnight from Seattle.Cost is mid range for Venice. Very close to public transportation and even walking to St Marks Square or Rialto is doable. Quiet area with restaurants nearby. We give it a 10 out of 10

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank almarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Belle Arti
Hotel Belle Arti
#229 of 385 in Venice
815 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#180 of 385 in Venice
442 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Domus Cavanis
Domus Cavanis
#290 of 385 in Venice
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Agli Alboretti
#181 of 385 in Venice
235 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,762 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#35 of 385 in Venice
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centro Culturale Don Orione Artigianelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centro Culturale Don Orione Artigianelli

Property: Centro Culturale Don Orione Artigianelli
Address: Zattere Dorsoduro 909/A, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Style:
#114 Family Hotel in Venice
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Centro Culturale Don Orione Artigianelli Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing