We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal hotel for a night or two in Venice”
Review of Ca' Doge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ca' Doge
Ranked #120 of 471 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 June 2013

After completing a 7 night cruise on the MCS Divina we had booked a one night accommodation in the Ca Doge Hotel in Venice.
It was perfect. Good bed, spacious bathroom and free wifi. Lovey breakfast and ideally situtated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnemiekPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for Ca' Doge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Ca Doge was so easy to find when we got off our cruise ship at the port in Venice! It is visable when you get off the People Mover's first stop from the cruise port. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The room is squeeky clean and comfortable, quite lovely for the price. The breakfast room is comfortable and handy, serving a very nice assortment of cereals, breads, cheeses, fruit, yogurts, coffees, tinned meats, teas, rolls, etc. Their breakfast is a good start for the day.
The staff has cheerfully given us directions, advise on restaurants, helped when we had any requests such as extra pillows, etc. Ca Doge is also a short walk to the train station with only one canal bridge to go over with luggage. It is ideal for independent travelers.
Our room was in the annex across thier atypical parking lot. The only down side is that our view is over their parking lot, but seeing all the work at parking small cars in a tiny space is rather entertaining. It was also challenging to roll one's luggage through the parking lot since cars are parked so close together. Definitely part of the cultural experience. And pulling luggage across a parking lot is not nearly so challenging as over a few of the canal bridges as we see so many people doing.
One other perk is the free high speed WiFi internet.

Room Tip: The annex has a lift. It also has it's own breakfast room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WireWrapGems2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Whilst the location was ideal for us, it was on the square where the airport shuttle bus and the people mover which goes to the cruise terminal is located, it was badly let down by the lack of what we consider to be an essential, which is hot water.
Our room was of a good size and well furnished and the bathroom was also adequate although it did lack a shelf to put toiletries on. The problem came when we wanted a shower in the morning and found the water was stone cold. We rang down to Reception and within minutes a member of staff came and unlocked the cupboard that housed the boiler, turned it on and said give it 5-10mins. We did but it made no difference so deciding it probably needed longer we got dressed and had breakfast with the intention of having a shower afterwards. (The breakfast was standard cold buffet fare but plenty of it). However the water remained cold and it appeared the boiler had tripped out again. It was impossible to have a shower and so we gave in grumpily. It appears to be a known problem but clearly needs proper attention.
Although we mentioned it at check-out there was no apology or offer of recompense. Given the price we paid I feel that hot water is a basic requirement and this cost the hotel a 'good' rating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gra-Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We could not have found a better location, given that we were staying in Venice an extra day after our cruise ship arrived, and we did not want to struggle with luggage.

From our cruise ship we took the Venice People Mover, which dropped us off literally across the street. When we were ready to leave Venice, the bus to the airport picked us up a short block away. (The rail station is fairly close by as well.)

I saw MANY travelers trying to haul their luggage up and down the steps for the canals. Given that Venice is crowded even in the off-season, I was very grateful to not have to deal with any of that.

Beyond the location, the hotel itself was very clean and comfortable. Our room was larger than I expected, and they provided a generous continental breakfast. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. I'd definitely recommend this as a place to stay if you are arriving or departing by bus (to/from the airport), cruise ship, or rail.

The hotel is not in the heart of Venice. Some people may not like this, but I found the heart of Venice to be very crowded and noisy, with a high potential for flooding. Venice is small in any case, and it was no problem for us to walk or take a valparetto (water bus). For us, the proximity to land transportation, and the ease of dealing with luggage more than made up for this.

Room Tip: If you prefer an elevator, ask for a room in the Annex, as the main building has no elevator.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I was somewhat dismayed by first appearances of the hotel and reception but it was all about the location. We had an annexe room across the car park which was spacious by Venetian standards. The room itself was good and near the breakfast room. There was a lift and a decent set of stairs. However the never ending moving of cars in the car park began as a novelty but soon became a pain with the noise especially early morning and late at night and negotiating between parked cars. Housecleaning didn't happen until mid afternoon for our rooms. However it was all about the location and that couldn't be faulted.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper or if you plan to stay anymore than two nights, look elsewhere. The anne...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelique W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

First impressions were not good, a cramped entrance with worn untidy carpets, tight stairs & no lift, but the room was spacious and well appointed. Soundproofing was good, given the proximity of the bus station & car park. Breakfast was average, considering the price paid, with bread & croissant of supermarket quality & relatively tasteless/dry . Receptionist was very helpful re travel advice to Venice city centre

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

location is great. Especially if your need to take the people mover to a cruise ship.Price was reasonable. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast, free, but continental. Room was very dark.
We stayed in the rear hotel. This became a problem when the parking lot filled up You had to squeeze out of the door and snake your way in between the cars. It seemed more like this was a parking lot with rooms then a hotel with a parking lot. May choose a differently place on my next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank X86guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Santa Chiara Hotel
Santa Chiara Hotel
#107 of 384 in Venice
426 reviews
Santa Croce
Casa Sant'Andrea
Casa Sant'Andrea
#206 of 384 in Venice
560 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#87 of 384 in Venice
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#163 of 384 in Venice
426 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#33 of 384 in Venice
2,156 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca dei Polo
Ca dei Polo
#17 of 471 in Venice
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Doge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Doge

Address: Piazzale Roma | Santa Croce 467/e, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 471 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: £83 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' Doge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best located hotel in Venice.Easy to find, situated in Piazzale Roma, where the buses/taxis arrive, two steps far from People Mover going to the port. The only hotel in Venice with private parking available on site.The rooms are spacious and all equipped with free wifi connection, air conditioning/heating, private bathroom and other facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ca' Doge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Doge Hotel Venice
Ca Doge Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing