We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good but slightly odd in places!”
Review of Ca' Doge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ca' Doge
Ranked #119 of 459 Venice B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes UK
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good but slightly odd in places!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I chose this hotel as we were arriving late and I wanted something close to the Piazza Roma where the ATVO comes in. There was a note on the booking that said to email the hotel if you were arriving after 10.30pm, which I did - and was told that reception closed at 10.30pm but that we could collect the room keys from the parking attendant (Ca Doge has a huge car park - in fact, it's more of a car park with rooms that a hotel with parking!).

By luck, we arrived at just after 10pm, expecting reception to still be open - but it wasn't, instead there was a printed sign sellotaped to the glass main door asking us to collect keys as arranged, with my name on it in big red letters! Slightly odd but it all worked perfectly - though might scare a more nervous traveller slightly. They even left me the wi-fi code as I had asked, but for some reason this did not work until the next morning. Once it did, it was fast and reliable.

The room was very similar to other Venetian hotels of this bracket I have stayed in, slightly 'faded elegance' - but a surprisingly good bathroom. Bed was comfy, noise levels fine, even though we were in a busy area. We discovered the next morning that it only has 6 rooms in total, which I hadn't realised. Breakfast was included and was a reasonable selection of 'continental' items - though the toaster for the bread was a Breville sandwich maker which seems to make it warm and a bit crispy, but not really toast coloured! Again, just a few slightly 'odd' elements . . . Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for location and price.

One thing to bear in mind, the name of hotel not obvious from the outside. I expected to see it from the coach but we had to ask for directions, even though the building was clearly visible!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    118
    51
    11
    7
See reviews for
61
126
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very basic, not overly helpful. No pool or fitness center. Breakfast was good. This hotel has good parking. Location is excellent close to bus terminal and downtown. We used the hotel a s a pre cruise hotel. No elevator or handicap facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daibach41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed at the family junior suite with our two toddlers and after seeing the endless queues of people trying to find parking spots (and being fined like crazy by the local police), I was glad that at Ca Doge I could just "roll in" and they actually parked the car for us in their own parking lot. Huge stress-relief when traveling with two small kids. The service at the reception was splendid and the receptionist very attentive and NICE. Her English was excellent which is not usual in Italy. Another employee helped us with the luggage up the two flights of stairs. We were glad that the traditional building was not destroyed for an elevator! AC, cleanliness and bathroom were great. TV didn't work so well, but who needs it anyway. The ceiling with the wood was so beautiful and high up, you felt like being part of a bygone historic era - neat! Plus the room was really quiet - not a single noise heard from the street down or from any other rooms. Great sleep :-)
Only low point: Breakfast room is a bit small. However, the location, the service, the style of the rooms and the free parking totally make up for it. So glad that we did not have to lug our luggage through the city!

Room Tip: Spend the extra buck and get yourself a suite (don't stay in the annex).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeganMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Protaras, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three miserable nights. Constantly bitten by mosquitos. The AC was stuck at 27 degree, complained to the reception but no use. Also the rooms are not sound proof as we could hear the woman in the next room moaning all day & night.

Helpful?
3 Thank Michalis A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ca_Doge_reception, Responsabile reception at Ca' Doge, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear Guest,

we would like you to notice that, as we could see, you left the room windows opened, so the air conditioned stopped (it does not work with the windows opened, as written at the reception desk and in the room) and you let the mosquitoes into the room. Furthermore, we confirm that the rooms in the main building are soundproof and in the annex not, as clearly indicated on the hotel information. We highly recommend to our guests to read the hotel information in order to avoid any discomfort or misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Medford, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at the Ca' Doge both before and after a cruse in late June. The location was fantastic. As soon as we got off the airport express bus, there was the hotel right across the street and the People Mover entrance is just a few steps away. The two nights before the cruise we stayed in the annex which was interesting to get to since you have to weave through parked cars packed into the parking lot. However, our room was a nice size, clean, and there was an elevator. Great bathroom with a nice shower, although the walls are very thin and you may hear some things you would rather not :-) Our night after the cruise was spent in the main hotel buliding, and it was difficult to lug the suitcases up the stairs. The room in that building was adequate but the bathtub was rather high and it was pretty funny trying to climb in and out since I'm on the short side. While the hotel may have a few quirks, it was so convenient to everything and the staff was pleasant and helpful. The cost was also less than most others in the area. If we get the opportunity to visit Venice again, we will certainly stay at the Ca' Doge.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogue47OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Great location especially for us, travellers with 2 children and big bagages! The bus and train station are close by, and they provide free parking for hotel guests which is excellent! Our room was spacious and clean and tidy, but there's no elevator at the hotel, it was struggle to get our luggages, we had to go up at least 2 stairs to get to our room (that was located on the 1st floor). Breakfast was included in our room rate, choice is fairly limited but that's ok. The staff at the reception was friendly and helpful, we would stay here again next time in Venice ...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anneluntungan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

After completing a 7 night cruise on the MCS Divina we had booked a one night accommodation in the Ca Doge Hotel in Venice.
It was perfect. Good bed, spacious bathroom and free wifi. Lovey breakfast and ideally situtated.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnemiekPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Santa Chiara Hotel
Santa Chiara Hotel
#102 of 386 in Venice
405 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#173 of 386 in Venice
416 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#82 of 386 in Venice
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Casa Sant'Andrea
Casa Sant'Andrea
#200 of 386 in Venice
552 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#33 of 386 in Venice
2,080 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#166 of 386 in Venice
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Doge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Doge

Property: Ca' Doge
Address: Piazzale Roma | Santa Croce 467/e, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 459 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' Doge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best located hotel in Venice.Easy to find, situated in Piazzale Roma, where the buses/taxis arrive, two steps far from People Mover going to the port. The only hotel in Venice with private parking available on site.The rooms are spacious and all equipped with free wifi connection, air conditioning/heating, private bathroom and other facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ca' Doge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Doge Hotel Venice
Ca Doge Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing