We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort
Ranked #117 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Understated Gem”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The hotel is near the train station, and except for the steps on the bridges and rolling luggage, very easy and convenient to get to. Likewise it is near to the commuter boats that can take you anywhere in Venice you want to go. It is not near S. Marco, but that was not a problem, getting to and fro anywhere in Venice is a marvel of sights.

Upon arrival, we were surprised to find the beautiful garden that surrounds the hotel including the trellis of roses which promenade from the gate to the front door.

The hotel is beautiful inside, including the rooms which have modern bathrooms and very comfortable. The room I stayed in for one night was off the main lobby and I could hear conversations from the lobby when i was falling asleep, so I put the towels and my luggage in front of the door and fell asleep with no problem. They should add some acoustical seals on the double doors.

Breakfast was delicious and graciously served in the small pleasant restaurant, we sat by the window and watched the boats go by.

The staff was friendly, helpful and as elegant as the hotel. They recommended a great restaurant nearby and were very helpful. Leaving to the airport by water taxi which picks you up at the hotel's boathouse was expedient and a great way to say good bye to Venice.

Room Tip: As charming as it is, avoid the first floor room in the Lobby unless door seals have been installed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    118
    43
    17
    17
See reviews for
47
327
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

From the title of this review, it is clear that we like this hotel. We have visited 3 times, always in February and find it to our liking.
The location suits us but some may find it a bit out of the tourist swim of things. But it is a short walk from the bus station in Piazzale Roma so it is easy to get settled on arrival. Though, like any new address in Venice perhaps a bit hard to find the first time.
The rooms are all different so you would be well advised to see a few, subject to their being available, before committing. Some are small, some in oppressive colours and so on. I am sorry that we had to reject the first 2 offered, one because there was no hanging space or drawers!---obviously not satisfactory for a stay of more than one night (I cannot imagine whose idea that was!)
Once settled it was very comfortable but more expensive than intended because we had to upgrade for a satisfactory room
It is delightful to have a private garden on the grand canal. The entrance through the garden always makes us feel good --like coming home to your own palazzo!
The breakfast is served in a pleasant room but is limited in variety, not uncommon in Italy, though it would not suit you if you need a Full English to face the day.
No complaints about the staff who all did their jobs as you would expect.
But why do hotels not show you the best room first and insist on putting you through the room choosing routine when all you want to do is unpack?
One more thing on which I must compliment this hotel, though they are probably unaware that they even do it. I am tired of the ubiquitous sign in the bathroom inviting you to actively demand clean towels every day. At Venice hotel prices of course I want clean towels everyday---even if it raises the temperature of the planet by 5 or 6 degrees. No such sign here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidnkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The hotel was really nice, located in a nice quite courtyard in the Sestiere Santa Croce. We loved walking to and from this place although, location wise, we would advise people that we did the same walk to rialto/san marco every day and it may get redundant. The courtyard was really nice, however we were really disappointed with our room. We were on the ground floor, next to the reception and we could hear everyone at night it was quite annoying. Breakfast-wise, I have to agree with everyone, it's not really an expansive breakfast, but it's free, so take it or leave it.

Room Tip: Do not take the ground floor room, it's very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveladdict987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaNigraLagoonResort, Direttore at Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Traveladd,
we thank you for your comment and for all the suggestion you gave us in order to improve our service. We hope you’ll come back to our property and we will be more than pleased to suggest you other routes to Rialto bridge and San Marco, as well as to show you alternative accommodations on higher floors.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This hotel is so beautiful and charming. It is right on the canal and has a pretty garden. It used to be a mansion and is old, but that gives it much charm. My mom and I visited for one night and it was magical. Close to the trains which is nice. The room was elegant and clean. The free breakfast was very good. Wish we could have stayed longer. We were there in mid-September and the weather is great. Remember to close the windows at night so you don't get mosquito bites. It is expensive but I used my credit card points to pay for it so it was a great deal. It was like a dream and Venice is a city you need to experience at least once in your life. There's nothing like it. I hope I get to go again someday and hopefully you will too.

Room Tip: I learned from other reviews to not stay on the first floor and I agree with that. The shower and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Roselife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaNigraLagoonResort, Direttore at Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear 1Roselife,
thank you for the positive review and we are glad you and your mother have had a beautiful experience at Ca’ Nigra Lagoon Resort.
We wait for you for your next holiday in Venice.
Best regards

The Management
Ca’ Nigra Lagoon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

This was a perfect little hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious, the breakfast is outstanding and the staff are attentive and accommodating.
There is also a peaceful well maintained garden where you can sit with a glass of prosecco while watching gondolas sail past. Belissimo!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shakespeare89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaNigraLagoonResort, Direttore at Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear shakespeare89,
thank you for the time to share your experience with us.
We are very proud of our garden overlooking the Gran Canal, it make easier our aim to create a secluded place where our guests can relax.
We look forward to welcoming you again with a glass of Prosecco!
Best regards
The Management
Ca’ Nigra Lagoon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel just last week end and I'm completely agreed with John L and PCM199. absolutely overpriced 4 star hotel with a real poor continental breakfast menu. the room 206 (jsuite) has a good view but there is no wi fi (and the staff perfectly knows the problem), the bathroom it's a dark room with really poor facilities and the marbles are really ruined. In addition the tv doesn't work perfectly.
The staff isn't adequate to the four stars hotel with few exceptions. I would like to understand why this hotel is called resort

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxwood, Herefordshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

A very warm welcome despite arriving earlier than appropriate.
Ten minutes later we had been given our room which had been upgraded to a "Superiore" Suite , possibly when they discovered that it was our 25th anniversary.
The staff were at all times attentive and helpful , especially with recommendations for local restaurants which were always successful .
Our room was lovely opening into the side garden and to the front overlooking a small canal .
The location was ideal for those who like walking and can read a map as so much of the real Venice would otherwise be missed.
It was the highlight of a two week trip to Venice and around the Veneto

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel ai due Fanali
Hotel ai due Fanali
#195 of 385 in Venice
234 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Santa Croce
Santa Chiara Hotel
Santa Chiara Hotel
#96 of 385 in Venice
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 385 in Venice
1,977 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#57 of 385 in Venice
816 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#109 of 385 in Venice
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort

Property: Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort
Address: Santa Croce 927 | Campiello San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Venice
#67 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#115 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical Venetian House located on the Grand Canal.22 junior suites differently furnished, where a combination of high-antique fornitures, original materials and far-east styles are mixed with taste.Two marvellous Italian gardens surrounds Ca’ Nigra Palace that overlook directly to the Grand Canal. Roses gardens lends itself to great charm parties and any kind of receivings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Nigra Lagoon Hotel Venice
Ca Nigra Lagoon Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing