We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet haven in Venice”
Review of Domus Ciliota

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Domus Ciliota
Ranked #91 of 474 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 September 2011

During a stay in Florence with a friend, we did a two day side trip to Venice with one night at Domus Ciliota. I had been to Venice in the past, but only for a day trip from Lake Garda so I had no idea where the hotel was situated and followed my friend who is a Venice whizz! It's not far from the Accademia bridge, in a very quiet side street. I noticed plenty of restaurants, bars, etc. in the area.

The hot weather was extreme, so the efficient air conditioning was a huge plus. My single room was extremely large and whilst basic, had plenty of cupboards and shelves. The bed was comfortable; I heard no noise from other guests during the night or from outside so slept well.

An adequate buffet breakfast next morning was set out in a large room, and could be taken either here or in a lovely courtyard.

I would definitely stay here again when (not if!) I return to Venice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chris49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2011

This is an excellent choice in frantic Venice. It is tucked in an alley in a great part of town. Just remember to use Academia water taxi stop rather than San Marco or suffer from the 6 bridges that separate them and your luggage from the hotel. Great breakfast and area where it was served. Basic but clean rooms. Free wifi in public areas (THANKS) and polite accurate staff.

Room Tip: Get a room looking into the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Really liked it here. Excellent location and lovely inside courtyard. Rooms, though basic had all amenities, including AC, which was very much appreciated in the heat. Staff pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

My last trip to Venice lasted one week and I divided my bookings into three different places in order to have a richer experience of the different areas -or sestieri- of the city.

The Istituto Ciliota is the perfect place for those who want to be really close to action. A throw of stone's throw from San Marco and two minutes away from the bridge of the Academia. Despite proximity to all the action peace and tranquility is guaranted.

The reception is open 24 hours and the staff are very correct. Wi-Fi is freely available to all guests who register at reception.

The rooms are very spartan and remind us what they really are, upmarket school digs. However they compare well with other smaller hotels. They are equipped with TV, air conditioning and a small fridge, ideal for budget travelers who want to keep some food. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom is spotless and kitted out with lovely toiletries.

Breakfast is the standard for this type of accommodation: a selection of juices, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, breads, jams, tea, coffee, milk and danish pastries. Breakfast in the beautiful rose-clad courtyard is a must weather permitting, of course. Tables are decked with linen table cloths and the place has the feel of a luxury country hotel.
Though the main dinning room is quite functional in appearance and layout, the lovely drawing room is extremely quaint and hardly -if ever- used. The furnishing brings one back to the late 19th century and contrasts with its surroundings. I found some interesting art books casually strewn on the walnut tables.

I would recommend this place to pragmatic travelers who prefer to spend their extra pennies on eating out or enjoying any of the dozens of different experiences that a city as Venice has to offer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Poligeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This is probably one of the best places to stay in the middle of Venice at a very reasonable price.
The service is minimal, with a kind check-in/check-out and a very decent self-service breakfast in the morning.
The rooms are very clean, well furnished and confortable, just don't expect a great view from your windows because it may happen that you don't have any.
A significant downside is that there's no wi-fi connection provided and that even the mobile phone signal is very poor.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noesis78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This hotel is not luxurious but the rooms are extremely clean, the courtyard for breakfast is very pretty on a sunny morning, the personnel are very pleasant and the location is perfect.

We booked rather late for a busy bank holiday weekend and were having difficulty finding any sort of hotel whihc was reasonably priced. This one showed up on a hotel search site and for its location was very reasonably priced so we went for it. We were not disappointed - the orange line of the water bus from the airport stops at St Angelo which is very close so easy to access from the airport. There are a couple of other vaporetto stops close by but for the central part of Venice, you can walk everywhere from this hotel.

The hotel is in a very quiet street and our rooms overlooked the street (and were very quiet). On the last day, we left our luggage there all day and there are loos that you can use to freshen up when you come back to collect it.

We would defiinitely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SORF01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Domus Ciliota delivers the basics, and delivers them well. Clean rooms (ensuite and air-conditioned), a quiet setting, and an attractive location on San Marco just a 10 minute stroll from major sights. You are 50 yards away from a pleasant square (Campo Santo Stefano) containing pizzerias, bars, a decent ice-cream parlour and a church in which chamber music is performed.

Breakfast is a buffet of bread, pastries, museli and fruit juice. Coffee comes from a machine which won't please everyone, but on a sunny morning you can eat in the attractive internal courtyard. Small bottles of water are available from a vending machine at around half retail price.

For your big romantic trip to Venice, this may be a bit bland. For solo travellers or groups of friends, it's ideal and value for money. The hotel can be slightly hard to find the first time. The simplest way to approach it is from the Accademia vaporetto stop. Cross the bridge which may be crowded at peak times, follow your nose into Campo Santo Stefano, go to the far end and turn left into Calle de le Botteghe, then find the underpass to Calle delle Muneghe on your left. It's also just 5 minutes from Sant'Angelo vaporetto stop, which is a stop for the orange line Alilaguna waterbus from the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank romance_for_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#95 of 385 in Venice
497 reviews
San Marco
Ca' Pagan
Ca' Pagan
#127 of 385 in Venice
550 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#107 of 385 in Venice
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Foresteria Levi
Foresteria Levi
#94 of 474 in Venice
388 reviews
San Marco
Friendly Venice Suites
Friendly Venice Suites
#80 of 474 in Venice
36 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Palazzo Guardi
Palazzo Guardi
#107 of 474 in Venice
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Ciliota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Ciliota

Address: Calle delle Muneghe | S. Marco, 2976, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 474 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: £70 - £435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Istituto Ciliota, ( founded in 1845)with the Domus is part of an old Augustinian monastery, founded by the Patriarch Cardinal Maffeo Girardi in 1488 and suppressed by Napoleon in 1806. It is situated in the historical centre of Venice, a few minutes' walk from San Marco Square, between Campo S. Samuele, Palazzo Grassi and Campo S. Stefano. It offer accomodation to Young university students and tourists. The Domus was completely restored in 1999 and has 51 rooms which are distributed over three floors with lift. Each room has modern furnishing including a bathroom with shower, telephone, satellite television, air-conditioning and mini bar. The Domus also has its own Church ( eighteenth century ). Credit card are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Domus Ciliota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Ciliota Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing