We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Domus Ciliota

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Domus Ciliota
Ranked #80 of 458 Venice B&B and Inns
Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We spent 5 days at Domus Ciliota in October. A wonderful place in the heart of Venice. 5 min walk from Accademia to the hotel. Many good restaurants nearby.The breakfast was simple,but ok. Great with fresh fruit. The room was nice,but no luxus.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    191
    68
    11
    8
See reviews for
36
167
39
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I just spent a few days at the Domus Ciliota during a week-long trip to Europe. First of all I have to say Venice is one of my favorite vacation locations. The city is so unique and I find it to be magical and very special. A great place to wander and just get lost.

The Pros: This hotel is in a great location and very convenient to most of what you'll want to see in Venice. It is right between two water bus (vaporetto) stops; San Angelo and Accademia. It is located on a nice quiet side "street" and around the corner from the Campo Santo Stefano plaza.

I also found the staff to be very helpful. My room, while pretty plain and basic, was not as small as what I expected in Venice and actually comfortable. The bathroom was small but not at all inconvenient and actually larger than what I found in the other hotels during my trip in Austria and Germany.

The Cons: The breakfast was not very good with very little variety. Part of my curtain fell off the wall when I tried to look out the window. And the room seemed to very hot even though it was October and really nice outside. I slept with the window open the first night and was absolutely eaten alive by mosquitos. My face actually was swollen in the morning from all the bites so keep that in mind if you long for fresh air overnight.

The wifi internet did not work at all in the room and seemed to only be available in the lobby.

Overall I was pleased with my stay at the Domus Ciliota but would probably look around for other options if my travels take me back to Venice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We were attached by lot of mosquitos the 1st night because the cleaning lady did not closed the window, there might be at least 20 Mosquitos. We had a bad sleep on the 1st night. The 2nd night there were still a couple of Mosquitos left. The breakfast was very simple, not much of choices, but this is Venizia. If you walk outside to the piazza, there are lot of delicious sandwiches in café there. The free wifi in this hotel is great. Be sure you have a room close to the reception part in the building, we had a room on 3rd floor, the signal were very strong.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AiloveItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for one night in September. While we appreciate that Venice is expensive, I felt really unhappy parting with 160 euros for this accommodation. We had booked on Booking.com a few days before (which probably didn't help with the lack of choice we had or the price we paid). We overheard the receptionist saying to another guest that they charge more for that service which is fairly disappointing. The receptionist was friendly enough but we were completely underwhelmed by the rooms - initially we thought someone had been smoking in our room and asked to move as it smelt but they wouldn't assist us and they didn't say they were booked out so I suspect it was a lack of willingness on her part. We later decided it might have been a damp smell as it was definitely coming from the bathroom which had some mould on the base and walls of the shower tiles. The rooms were quite plain as some of the others have reported but to be honest that didn't really worry us. The uncomfortable bed and pillows did though! The breakfast was good though and the courtyard very pleasant - just not enough to offset my feeling of being ripped off! I quite like the Accademia area though which is far enough away from San Marco that you aren't overrun with people but close enough that it is easily reached by walking about 10 minutes. I would look elsewhere for somewhere to stay though and not leave it until the 11th hour as we did!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha-Rose-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingaroy, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at this motel inVenice during a very hot summer. Our room was very small and really felt like student college accommodation with a bed, cupboards above the bed for clothes, a desk and chair along the length of one wall and just enough room to pass from one side of the room to the other. THere was very little space for our bags or anything else. The bathroom was also very small with little ventilation. Unfortunately, we could not even rely on our motel room to help us escape the extreme heat from outside as the air conditioning was either non existent or not working very well. The motel was located in the Academia area which was a reasonable walk from many of the major tourist attractions. If arriving by train and getting the ferry, do not get off at Academia as we learnt from their website as you will have to go over one of the largest bridges over the Grand Canal which is extremely painful if you have a lot of luggage. Instead go to San Samuel and it is a very short walk from there. Breakfast was ordinary but there was a lovely outdoor courtyard to eat it in. Staff were generally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days last Aug. It's a former convent with an attached chapel for meetings. Nice interior courtyard for breakfast. Feels like a bit dorm like in furnishing unlike a normal hotel. (def. not a dorm) I have not stayed in other Venice hotels so I have no comparison. The location is great. Our double room ended up being an extra bed in a hall area, but we didn't need that anyway.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed for 2 days as part of a driving tour of Italy with 2 nephews. The hotel is well situated if difficult to find on a first visit. It is clean and tidy and the rooms are adequate with fairly comfortable mattresses. TV is all foreign with just a couple of news channels. Wifi is good but patchy. Breakfast uninspired and some of the cereals tasted a bit stale. Only one type of milk as usual. No hot items. The staff were very polite and well informed.

Room Tip: Make sure you get some kind of view - we had a scruffy wall about 5 feet away and wifi is ok close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#106 of 385 in Venice
475 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#133 of 385 in Venice
433 reviews
San Polo
Pensione Guerrato
Pensione Guerrato
#137 of 385 in Venice
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Ca'Contarini 3026
Ca'Contarini 3026
#307 of 385 in Venice
217 reviews
San Marco
Ambassador Tre Rose
Ambassador Tre Rose
#272 of 385 in Venice
236 reviews
San Marco
Locanda Art Deco
Locanda Art Deco
#35 of 458 in Venice
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Ciliota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Ciliota

Property: Domus Ciliota
Address: Calle delle Muneghe | S. Marco, 2976, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 458 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Istituto Ciliota, ( founded in 1845)with the Domus is part of an old Augustinian monastery, founded by the Patriarch Cardinal Maffeo Girardi in 1488 and suppressed by Napoleon in 1806. It is situated in the historical centre of Venice, a few minutes' walk from San Marco Square, between Campo S. Samuele, Palazzo Grassi and Campo S. Stefano. It offer accomodation to Young university students and tourists. The Domus was completely restored in 1999 and has 51 rooms which are distributed over three floors with lift. Each room has modern furnishing including a bathroom with shower, telephone, satellite television, air-conditioning and mini bar. The Domus also has its own Church ( eighteenth century ). Credit card are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Domus Ciliota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Ciliota Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing