We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing time in Venice.”
Review of Casa Nicolo Priuli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Nicolo Priuli
Ranked #215 of 385 Hotels in Venice
lancs
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing time in Venice.”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Part of the Hotel Palais Priuli, this whole complex is more B & B than Hotel however why split hairs when what you have a wonderful place. Firstly finding the place is really difficult with a map or not so either use your mobile gps, learn Italian or from the water ferries go in an almost straight line for 5mins and then turn left. We probably spent 30 - 40 mins looking for a place that when you realise where it is you will kick your self. So on arrival go straight to the palais priuli next door and not the casa entrance to check in, staff are friendly and will offer to show you to your room. If the porter offers to carry your bags either refuse or be prepared to offer 5 euros or more for the privilege. (Whilst tipping is not the norm in Italy of more than say one of two euros) I guess staff are used to more generous Americans and british tourist because when we tipped a couple of euros the ond saying if looks could kill as he stormed off without thanking us! On arrival to the room were had the main room shown in the image for this hotel, with its balcony over one of the canals and large bathroom not forgetting the stunning chandelier and beautifully decorated bedroom. We were extremely pleased with this room. The mattress is very firm and the only real disappointment was the pillows which were cheap and flat. The tv only shows Italian shows but your in venice so enjoy the culture and fine food but avoid all the main tourist routes as they tend to be poor quality expensive rubbish. We booked this room with gala hotels and only paid £52 per night which excluded a 5 euro local tax rate for two. Definitely compare prices as some people paid almost three times the price that we paid. Unlike the Palais priuli checkout is 12pm here so this is an added bonus and breakfast is served up to 10.30am so chance for a lie in if you wanted. Breakfast was adequate and a reasonable selection for continental style. Overall we liked the charm of this place, you can use the main hotels lounge and definitely ask for a room with a balcony. Avoid this place if you don't like staircases. 10 mins from st marks square.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room with canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    142
    71
    33
    18
See reviews for
66
239
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This is a very well located small hotel, just a few minutes from Piazza San Marco. The decor is sumptuous, the staff friendly and helpful, and the street quiet for sleeping. Our arrival was delayed and the staff was willing to wait up for us even though it was after midnight when we finally showed up. If you like those gorgeous marble tiled bathrooms of Europe, complete with heated towel racks, this place it for you.
My only complaint is the bed was uncomfortable and made it difficult to sleep restfully. We had a tiny room (quite enough for us) #504, and if I were to return I'd happily stay there again, choosing another room with what I would hope would be a more comfortable bed.

Room Tip: 1. Ask to try to the bed before committing to the room. 2. Make sure breakfast is included. Buying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTourist799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Had a room with a small romantic balcony overlooking the canal and some gondolas, it was amazing even tho it was in february, still quite chilly, but we enjoyed every bit of it :) Very close to san marcos square, and we enjoyed watching all the masks walking up and down the tiny street under our balcony, it was a lovely getaway... :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rieksha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed in room 401 for our romantic valentines/anniversary getaway and we couldn't have asked for a more romantic weekend. We found the hotel with a little help from a local tourism office, and were greeted by friendly staff who quickly took us to our room. It was the first room, which others have commented about noise from others coming in, but it was nothing we had noticed. The room had very little natural light, but it was clean, elegantly decorated and big enough for what you need. With the added bonus of a free in room safe, numerous hangers in the wardrobe and a bottle of prosecco built into the price, we were more than happy.
The location of the hotel is good, extremely close to St Marks square, but also only 6-7minutes walk to Rialto which was the area we much preferred, in fact, venice is actually a lot smaller then we expected, you can pretty much get anywhere on foot within 10-15 minutes, and it's definitely worth walking to... The vaporetti is great but walking is soo much more fun, and you find some real treasures.

Room Tip: I sure the canal view rooms are much better and brighter, so are probably a good option, but I liked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The hotel is very easy to reach: if you arrive to Marco Polo Airport, walk the covered passage to the Alilaguna stop (app.7 minutes, use a free trolley for the baggage), board Alilaguna Blue Line boat (15 Euro) and after 1 hour and 20 minutes ride disembark at the San Zaccaria. Go straight to the gap in the building opposite the stop, pass San Zaccaria square (with the monastery to the right), enter San Provolo square and exit it at the north end. To the right across the channel you’ll see Palazzo Priuli, the main reception is there. See the map I’ve attached.

I was given a room at the top floor of Ca’Niccolo Priuli’s two buildings. The whole experience is halfway between living in an apartment and staying at a hotel: I was walking the quiet backstreet (Calle dei Preti), buzzing myself in with a magnetic key, going up - to see my room cleaned perfectly, bedheets with fresh creases, everything is impeccable.

If you are not in the mood for eating out fetch something from a supermarket – there are 2 of them in vicinity, both are 5-6 minutes away: to Punto Simply go through the San Lorenzo bridge and Coop is in the opposite side. Punto Simply has a counter with great meats, cheeses and salads – and less crowded than the Coop. If you want to grab something good, tasty and with no surprises when the bill is presented – try Rossopomodoro, a very nice and modern Neapolitan pizzeria & café, it’s very close to the hotel.

There is also an option for fine dining at a reasonable rates: the very famous Café and Restaurant Quadri at the Piazza San Marco – right opposite the Florian’s – was awarded a Michelin star last year and is very expensive but has an ABC Quadri option: here the essentials of fine Italian cuisine are served at the prices that are very affordable, in fact they are the same as at some no-name Venetian tavern. You are just 7 minutes from the Quadri, door to door.

The breakfast is served from 07 30 in the morning and is so substantial I felt the first pangs of appetite only by 2 – 3 pm or later. Some reviewers call the Ca’Priuli breakfast basic, some – great, both are right: all the basics are there: salami, ham, cheese (all three not in the most expensive varieties, obviously – but you are not in Danieli), eggs, pastry (which is super: fresh, warm, there were even two great cakes – apple and chocolate), jams, Nutella, fruit, cereals, yoghurts, juices, coffee, tea, etc.
In a low season midweek breakfasts are in the Palazzo Priuli (see the photo).

A lot of sights are accessible by foot, and the hotel is so close to Piazza San Marco – if you are lost look for the signs on the walls (“To San Marco”, with an arrow below) or ask somebody who looks local – Piazza San Marco? – From the square you can reach the hotel easily, you are just 3 bridges away if you start from the Piazza’s northeastern corner (5-6 minutes walk). In the middle of the day you can always reach your room, take a quick shower, change what’s needing to be changed, maybe stretch in bed for half an hour, let yourself rest – and then re-enter the city feeling perfectly refreshed.

The staff is really good but don’t expect the cheery chirping: it’s a very old city, life and work here are complicated, you are on vacation but they are not.

I’m really happy I chose this hotel for my week in Venice, everything was just perfect: value for money, location, cleanness, staff’s helpfulness, breakfast - all the essential parts of a perfect stay.

Room Tip: The building accessible from the backstreet, Calle dei Preti, has a less touristy feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alexander_Suraev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

What a superb location, minutes walk from St Mark's Square and shuttered windows opening right over the canal. The rooms are delightful in their Venetian character and ambience. What was especially amazing was the value for money; location, authentic charm and more than sufficient continental breakfast, I would defy anyone to find equal. 5* for the value for money and not to compare with the Ritz

Room Tip: Due to the size of this hotel there are only 9 room, no lifts and old narrow stairs which we found f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We spent 5 nights here while my husband was in Venice for a conference, and would definitely recommend it. We too were allocated the lovely Room 403 which has it's own little terrace overlooking the canal - sadly November was a little chilly for sitting out but this gives us a perfect excuse to return. The adjacent bathroom is large & has a bath, separate shower & a bidet.
Breakfast was the usual buffet selection (the choice was good) with the bonus that the croissants were warm, & hot milk was avaialble for coffee - not always the case.
The location is ideal - close to the main vaporetto stops at S. Zaccaria but tucked away in a quiet and picturesque area. We had no issues with noise from the shops & cafe opposite.
It's true that the reception desk is only staffed at certain times but we never found this a problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Palazzo Priuli
Palazzo Priuli
#186 of 385 in Venice
400 reviews
Castello
Ca' Priuli
Ca' Priuli
#292 of 385 in Venice
94 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Tintoretto
Hotel Tintoretto
#232 of 385 in Venice
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#347 of 385 in Venice
572 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#140 of 385 in Venice
536 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Nicolo Priuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Nicolo Priuli

Property: Casa Nicolo Priuli
Address: Castello 4985/4, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Nicolo Priuli 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dedicata al Conte Nicolò Priuli, deputato e presidente degli Asili d'infanzia nella Repubblica veneta, Casa Nicolò Priuli propone un ambiente dall’ inconfondibile sapore ed eleganza dell’Età Romantica. Le stanze sono confortevoli e lussuosamente arredate con mobili originali dell'Ottocento, lampadari in vetro di Murano e preziosi tessuti. Ciascuna è dotata di un bagno privato con asciugacapelli, aria condizionata e riscaldamento autonomi, televisione satellitare a colori, mini- bar, cassetta di sicurezza e telefono diretto con connessione fax e modem. In tutte le stanze è vietato fumare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Lastminute, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Nicolo Priuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Nicolo Priuli Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing