We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good for a 3-Star in Venice”
Review of Casa Nicolo Priuli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Nicolo Priuli
Ranked #218 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Let me start by saying that in my experience there is a huge range of what is considered a 3-star in Venice. We stayed in a horrific 3-star (Ambassador Tre Rose) and other so-so ones but by Venice standards and with reasonably proximity to Piazza San Marco this hotel was worth the price. Travellers without a lot of experience travelling in Continental Europe may be surprised by the non-closed shower setup or the two twin beds together qualifying as a matrimonial bed but these are par for the course especially in Italy.

Breakfast was very good and the reception area quite beautiful.

The fact that wifi didn't work for most of the day we arrive was a bit annoying though especially since we had just gotten engaged and wanted to post the pictures online

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorenzo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

We booked this hotel through our travel agency. I was kind of worried that it was not very well rated in Trip Advisor but to our surprise we found very nice and spacious rooms. The hotel is part of the Palazzio Priuili hotel and is located in various buildings. It seems they have bought the whole block. Very friendly staff, we even got a complimentary Proseco. The Piazza de San Marcos is only a 8 minute walk.

Stayed: July 2013
2  Thank Jlballesteros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We booked this hotel at the recommendation of an associate, the staff on arrival were very helpful, couldn't get into our room early after arriving early. The room was archaic with a mural on the ceiling!! I note the hotel was established in 1848 and our room possibly hadn't been refurbished since then. The bathroom, although all marble had a ridiculously small shower with a shower curtain that sticks to your body, the shower head slips down all the time, small hand basin with no storage shelving. The king bed (2 singles ) was very hard and the wardrobe hanging space was also totally useless. The floor had holes worn in the marble effect, obviously still the original!!! The saving grace was the private terrace where we could sit overlooking one of the canals, have a wine and people watch, a magnificent position indeed and we did spend a lot of time on it. The breakfast provided was quite reasonable. No iron or ironing board in room although one was provided at request for approx. 10 minutes before being whisked away again. Quite poor accommodation really considering the cost.

Stayed: June 2013
2  Thank phil3194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My boyfriend and I had come to Venice for a romantic weekend. We checked in on Friday afternoon and were told they were fully booked but they would take us directly to our room (yay!) We took the elevator to the top, but then kept going up the next set of stairs to the attic. Our room was literally the attic of this hotel. The ceiling was not tall enough for me to stand up straight in our room, and that isn't even the worst part of the room. The beds were two double beds that were pushed together, but slid all over the floor so sleeping near each other was impossible unless we slept on one double bed (which we did for the 2 nights stay.)

The important points:
This room was not a 4 star hotels room, it was a 2 star hotel.
Beds were more like two cots that we tried to sleep on.

Pros (of course there are some):
In this box of a room there was a window (on the slanted roof ceiling) that was able to tilt open, once open you can stand out of the window and look at the landscape ( no water views though)
Breakfast was decent.

Room Tip: 505 is not a room for adults to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cloud9girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is not a luxury hotel and nor does it pretend to be. It is clean, nicely decorated in Venitian style, breakfast is good enough and what it really has going for it is its location, 5 minutes from St Marks Square and 5 minutes from the vaporetto (water bus) stop which is a blessing when carrying luggage through the streets of Venice. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay in Venice and the hotel was more than adequate.

Directions to get there from the airport -

Take the Alilaguna water bus from the airport to San Zaccaria (approximately 1 hour 20 minutes). When you get off at San Zaccaria walk through the little tunnel which is opposite you (slightly to the right), walk through the square (police station and church on your right), turn left at the end of the square then first right. When you get to the end of this road turn right and cross the second bridge on your left where you will see Palazzo Priuli, you need to check in at the Palazzo and a porter will take you to Casa Nicolo.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage grab a baggage porter when you get off the water bus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tambarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We booked this hotel through 'Avios', so it was obviously good value to us. We stayed in a double room which was adjacent to the restaurant on the ground floor. The room was clean, compact and pleasant although not much of a view. The buffet breakfast (which is the only meal provided) is more than adequate to set you up for the day. Whilst the hotel is close to San Zaccharia the narrow winding streets still make it difficult to find so ensure you have good directions in advance of your trip. When we arrived at about 11pm we found the hotel more by good luck than good management. Unfortunately the hotel did not have our reservation but were more than helpful in providing a room and sorting everything out the following morning. One addition to be aware of is the Venice City Tax of €2.50 per person per night which will be on top of your room rate.

Make use of the 'Valporetta' (water buses), they are good value for money particularly if you get a 48 or 72 hour pass for unlimited travel from the first validation of your ticket. Go on Line 1 from San Zaccharia along the length of the 'Grand Canal' to Piazza del Roma and back for the best views in town. Also take Line 4.1 to Murano to see glass blowing and a quieter time than Venice and call off at Burano (for lace making) on the way back. Don't forget to take in a 'gondola ride', they are expensive as a couple but you can reduce the cost by taking a Gondola Tour with another four persons.

Remember it is very expensive around St Marks Square for both drinks and food but go a few streets back and it is cheaper without any reduction in quality. When walking around it can be very confusing so just follow the 'yellow' signs on the walls to reach well known landmarks such as St Marks, the Rialto Bridge etc.

Just stroll, take in the atmosphere and enjoy a very special location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smudger453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed ther with our 8 Year old son for 2 days in May 2013. Hotel is at very good location in San Marco Square. Five minute walk to square and five minute walk from the boat stop. Room are clean but old building.No elevators. Room decor was very nice, antique. Friendly staff. Breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukhidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Palazzo Priuli
Palazzo Priuli
#175 of 387 in Venice
423 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
#146 of 387 in Venice
1,151 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#73 of 387 in Venice
1,043 reviews
San Marco
Kette Hotel
Kette Hotel
#126 of 387 in Venice
1,203 reviews
Castello
Corte Dei Greci Hotel
Corte Dei Greci Hotel
#197 of 387 in Venice
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Nicolo Priuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Nicolo Priuli

Address: Castello 4983/4984/4985, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £55 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Nicolo Priuli 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Nicolo Priuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Nicolo Priuli Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing