We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice canal view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Nicolo Priuli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Nicolo Priuli
Ranked #210 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice canal view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

From the pictures posted on the website, it looks like a four star hotel but the hotel needs some TLC. We were placed in a junior suite with a view of the canal in a different building from the main hotel.
The room was nice but the decor and shower were dated and old. The room can benefit from some fumigation as my son and daughter saw spiders crawling in their bed. The hotel is about 10 minutes from the waterbus stop with a few bridges to cross. Something to consider if you are travelling with several rolling luggages.
The breakfast was served with breads, fruit cakes, croissant, juices which we found to be the same brands served at many other hotels in Italy. Too much sweet and carb though if you are diet conscious.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m_maung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    138
    67
    30
    17
See reviews for
63
230
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were there the hottest day of August, which is pretty damn hot and humid in Venice, but the hotel's air conditioning was superior! This is unlike what we've experienced in places, say, like the south of France, where air conditioning usually has the power of a moth fart. Not only was this very pleasant small hotel nice and cool, but the very clean room was really comfortable and the huge bathroom and tub were spotless. The breakfast was the best we've had in 30 years of touring Europe. The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood only three or four blocks from St. Mark's Square. The staff were very helpful; they went out of their way in fact. We were delighted with this place!

Room Tip: We asked for, and got, a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Our stay at the Casa Nicolo Priuli was rather disappointing. Upon booking with a travel agent we had requested a canal view room. Unfortunately we were given a ground floor room which was very dark next to the breakfast room with a view into a small courtyard where a man in his underpants would hang up his laundry. Every morning breakfast diners looked surprised as we emerged from what they had assumed was a broom cupboard but was actually our room. We asked to be moved but were told there were no other rooms available. The one good thing about the room was the air conditioning which was ice cold and is quite important in summer. Breakfast was reasonable and the hotel was in a really good location. Don't be deceived by the pictures online about the outdoor breakfast space - these are probably private balconies as nothing with a view was available to us. There are two restaurants around the corner on the canal. But be warned - the first one by the bridge isn't that good, and the second tried to claim that a 12% service charge was not the tip - don't be fooled. More reasonable restaurants can be found if you walk towards the centre of Castello away from San Marco.
Also, as noted by other travellers, the hotel is a bit difficult to find. Upon arriving at the San Zaccaria water bus stop, walk through the gap in the building which appears like a tunnel, this takes you to Campo San Zaccaria. Walk straight through the square and leave the square on the left (the only way to go). You then come immediately to San Provolo square, turn right, the square narrows to a covered alley. The second bridge on the left is Ponte del Diavolo, cross the bridge and check in at Palazzo Priuli. A porter will then take you to Casa Nicolo Priuli.

Room Tip: You can ask for a canal view room, but that doesn't mean you'll get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rustycat_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We had a honeymoon upgrade to a room with a patio that looked out to a canal. That alone made it worth it! I spent hours everyday looking over the balcony with a bottle of wine while I people watched. It is also perfectly located between St. Marks Square and the Castello neighborhood (where the locals eat decent food for a REASONABLE price).

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Coolhand L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

If you take the public vaporetto (water bus) down to San Marco, it's a few twisty turns to get to this hotel if you are adventurous or have little luggage. We opted for the water taxi (60 euros for 3 of us and luggage) which dropped us right in front of the hotel on a picturesque side canal. The staff were polite and helpful. The room was clean, although a little small for the triple bed set-up. The view from our room over-looked the cement courtyard of a residence, but the location was great for touring the sights around San Marco's Square and catching a vaporetto from San Marco to Lido. Overall it was a nice and convenient place for the few days that we were there.

Room Tip: Room 144 was a little small for a triple bed set-up. I would recommend checking on other available r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferT999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Great location, 5 minutes from St Marks Square, 5 minutes from San Zaccaria Vaporetto stop, and just enough off the well beaten tourist streets to be quiet and surrounded by some better dining options.

After waiting at the door, ringing the bell, with no one at the reception desk, someone came out of a different door and took me to the adjacent Palazzio Pruili hotel to check in. There the staff were nice. Our room was on the top floor of the hotel - no elevator, so a bit of a hike with heavy cases, but that's OK. Comfortable and clean, and characterful. The public areas were just that too. It had a historic feel to it, with modern amenities. I liked it.

I was amazed by how quiet the hotel was - not until the last morning of a three night stay did I notice other guest door banging, and coming in at 11pm, I never noticed or heard any other guests, even thought eh hotel was full.

Breakfast was very good, and included in the room rate. A good selection of fruits, cereals, yoghurt, pastries and bread, boiled eggs, meats and cheese, and Italian tarts and pastries. Easy to fill up on, have a gelato during the day and gorge again in the evening!

Wifi was strange for the first night - none of the 5 devices we had between us would log on, and we had the same problem the next morning. The reception desk clerk had no problem logging on and off on his device so was convinced there was no problem. The next evening, magically my devices would connect and stayed reliably connected for the remainder of the stay, so I'm thinking there was a problem! But that was a minor niggle. And there's no shortage of bars and cafes offering free wifi anyway!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank offbeatopenhats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, pleasant staff, clean and neat. Beautiful room although simple. Quiet and pleasant attached terrace with a small table and chairs allowing privacy and a place to people watch as life in Venice glides by.

Considering what we paid for a "so called five star hotel in Florence" this place was straightforward and honest.

Helpful?
1 Thank klcl4101
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Palazzo Priuli
Palazzo Priuli
#177 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Castello
Ca' Priuli
Ca' Priuli
#294 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#145 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#163 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Castello
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#346 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Castello
Santa Marina Hotel
Santa Marina Hotel
#156 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Nicolo Priuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Nicolo Priuli

Property: Casa Nicolo Priuli
Address: Castello 4985/4, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Nicolo Priuli 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dedicata al Conte Nicolò Priuli, deputato e presidente degli Asili d'infanzia nella Repubblica veneta, Casa Nicolò Priuli propone un ambiente dall’ inconfondibile sapore ed eleganza dell’Età Romantica. Le stanze sono confortevoli e lussuosamente arredate con mobili originali dell'Ottocento, lampadari in vetro di Murano e preziosi tessuti. Ciascuna è dotata di un bagno privato con asciugacapelli, aria condizionata e riscaldamento autonomi, televisione satellitare a colori, mini- bar, cassetta di sicurezza e telefono diretto con connessione fax e modem. In tutte le stanze è vietato fumare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casa Nicolo Priuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Nicolo Priuli Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing