We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel in Venice”
Review of Domus Orsoni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Domus Orsoni
Ranked #92 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I stayed at the Domus Orsoni for 8 nights while I was taking a mosaic class. It was a wonderful place to stay. The staff is so friendly and helpful. I was a single traveler but was put in a room with a double bed and a fabulous bathroom. I even had a bathtub. The gold mosaic work in the room was wonderful. There is a beautiful courtyard, and you are removed from the heavy tourist traffic, yet close enough to walk anywhere you want. I believe the domus used to be a family home and still has a familial feel to it. I had wonderful recommendations from the staff about where to eat. I also met very nice people, students, staff and other tourists. I don't think I would go anywhere else if I went back to Venice. This is a very special boutique hotel, and you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: There are 5 rooms, and they are all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mlle744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

If you want to visit Venice, be away from the crowds and just wander the bridges and alleys, then choose to stay at Domus Orsini in the Jewish quarter. From the time we arrived at the station and after a brief walk, we were not disappointed. It is located in a quiet location, yet not too far from cafes and bars that locals frequent. Our room was wonderful and one of the cleanest rooms we stayed in during our 6 week trip around Italy. Breakfast was adequate and served in pleasant surroundings. Make sure you take up their offer to tour their mosaic foundry and workshop. It is interesting and helps you to appreciate the decor in your room. We will definitely stay here again and have already got friends who intend to book. Go wandering the surrounding lanes and bridges and you will enjoy Venice as it should be enjoyed and away from the crowds. Thank you to the staff who made our visit a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We had a large double room with shower and were not disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flavioscarpetta, Proprietario at Domus Orsoni, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Dear customers , thanks for your review; the way you've seen Venice is the best way to appreciate a unique city in the world; Cannaregio quarter, the place where we are, is for sure the most venetian quarter of the city, as you note the place where many venetians go to take a drink and eat, faraway from the tourist's river.
Gday from DOMUS ORSONI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We learned of Domus Orsoni, a small boutique hotel, on one of Samantha Brown's travel adventures to Venice a few years back. The hotel is on the top floor of a well-known mosaic studio.

This is a small hotel without normal business hours or a front desk. In our emails back and forth, we had estimated our time arrival around 3 pm so one of the proprietors would be there. After a few flight delays, however, we realized that our arrival would actually be closer to midnight. We simply dialed Flavio, let him know of the change to our schedule, and he coordinated with another hotelier to leave our key there with directions on how to navigate to Domus Orsoni.

We quickly learned that Flavio always went the extra mile. He provided us with terrific suggestions for local restaurants and wine bars and was also helpful in crafting our schedules to the best time of day to visit several attractions.

The rooms at Domus Orsoni are spacious and comfortable, and the furnishings nearly all embellished with mosaic tiles. Even the outside breakfast terrace provided a beautiful and serene way to start the day in Venice!

If we ever find ourselves in Venice again, we'll be sure to start and end our hotel search with Domus Orsoni...

Room Tip: This entire area of Venice is very quiet, even on the weekends. We stayed in Room 4 on the front si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJandDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flavioscarpetta, Proprietario at Domus Orsoni, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear customer, thanks for your kind review, our mission is to give more real info we can about Venice; this is the best way to discover a new city, have free indications by a local person. You are welcome next time, with our new garden for relax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Domus Orsoni is a beautifully decorated hotel and a must visit for everyone interested in the old art of mosaic. We received a tour at the glass fabrication area, which is known world-wide for the manufacturing of glass for mosaics and visited the 'glass-library', which is an experience in itself. We will surely be back!
For arrivals: there is no reception, so make sure you've set in advance your arrival time, especially if it is in the afternoon or Sunday. Otherwise you may end up waiting outside until someone opens the doors for you...once you receive your keys you can come and go as you like. Very convenient. Not all personnel speaks English, so make sure you have some basic Italian vocabulary.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ZoahrD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOMUSORSONI, Proprietario at Domus Orsoni, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for your review!
You are right, we haven't a 24 hour door service and for that reason we ask to our guests all the information they can send us about their arrival in order to arrange ourselves to welcome them properly and our guests can contact us anytime by phone, as we have the call transferred to our mobile, so we are able to assist them for any request also when we are not at Domus Orsoni.
We are happy to know that you enjoy your stay with us, and we'll do our best to improve our welcoming!
Thanks a lot and hoping to have you again as our guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Domus Orsoni was a lucky find. We've been to Venice many times, but this was the warmest welcome we've ever had. Valentina went above and beyond the call of duty in looking after us and our requests. Domus Orsoni is beautiful - the breakfast terrace/balcony full of flowers overlooking the garden is just stunning. Our room was huge, I've lived in flats with smaller floor space! There was even a private terrace, which would be perfect for sunbathers or smokers. The postion is perfect too - near enough to the water bus stop, the train station and excellent shopping but also perfectly peaceful and quiet. We have already booked to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Celia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The Domus Orsoni was a wonderful base to spend our 3 days in Venice. Valentina was so helpful with restaurant recommendations and Flavio provided us with free tickets to visit the Gallerie dell'Accademia. The garden courtyard was a beautiful place for breakfast each morning, and the mosaics in the individual bedrooms were so charming. The beds were comfortable, and the sitting area in the main room was a nice place to relax. The B & B is in Cannaregio, a quick walk from the Gulie stop from the Alilaguna taxi from the airport. It was a bit longer walk, maybe 10 minutes to the train station, very convenient for transportation into and out of Venice. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indigo10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Domus Orsoni allowed us to have a magical week in Venice. Valentina and Flavio were very professional, helpful, and just nice people. We were somewhat naive about mosaics and were astounded at the beautiful tile creations; we have never stayed amidst such beauty.

Good breakfasts, lovely gardens and good care were standard. Cannaregio is a great location for the traveler to Venice--quiet, conveniently located, and, oh, the food (and at reasonable prices). Our friends from near San Marco came to Cannaregio to eat because of the restaurants.

Venice has changed since I was last here about 50 years ago. Cannaregio still has some of the romantic ambience that I remember.

Room Tip: Go on their website to see if one particularly appeals to you.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flavioscarpetta, Proprietario at Domus Orsoni, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

dear friend thanks to you two for being here, you are a wonderful couple.
It has really a pleasure having you here, so much laughing with you...
Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
#69 of 385 in Venice
1,178 reviews
Cannaregio
La Palazzina Veneziana
La Palazzina Veneziana
#56 of 476 in Venice
212 reviews
Cannaregio
B&B Casa Baseggio
B&B Casa Baseggio
#65 of 476 in Venice
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
La Villeggiatura
La Villeggiatura
#70 of 476 in Venice
258 reviews
Castello
B&B San Marco
B&B San Marco
#11 of 227 in Venice
149 reviews
Cannaregio
Alla Vite Dorata
Alla Vite Dorata
#34 of 476 in Venice
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Orsoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Orsoni

Address: Sestiere Cannaregio 1045, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: £83 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five rooms lovely decorated with mosaic tiles, in the middle of two lovely gardens , an historical house restored in modern way. Everything closed by an ancient foundry ,still producing hand made mosaic tiles since 1888. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Domus Orsoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Orsoni Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing