We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family of 5 enjoyed Corte Grimani”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Corte Grimani
Ranked #22 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family of 5 enjoyed Corte Grimani”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Our family of 5 stayed in room 300 of the Residence Corte Grimani. As many reviewers have indicated, the rooms are actually small apartments and very spacious. Our room had a single large bedroom with two beds and couch/bed, a family room with a couch/bed, a small kitchen, and two bathrooms.

The room was extremely clean and well kept. There is a lot of space for luggage and several large closets. The beds were reasonably comfortable and the room was always cool. The kitchenette worked out great as we found a small grocery store nearby and made our own breakfasts. The single TV in the living room was 15"-17" and provided only local channels.

The staff was very friendly and helped us throughout our stay - Venice is a complex city to traverse so their advice was greatly appreciated.

The location of this room is fantastic! You can see the canal from the windows and often hear the gondola singers during the early evenings. San Marco and Rialto bridge are 5-10 minute walks and there are lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. The hotel entrance can be difficult to find the first time and I highly recommend getting directions beforehand.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SterlingS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    126
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
468
270
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Comfortable, convenient and cozy, this really is the ideal spot in Venice to stay with a family. Donatella and Guido at the front desk were like personal guides, and the location is incredibly convenient to the whole city with everything we needed just a few steps away.

MY BIGGEST TIPS: 1: Book this place right away. I doubt you'll find better Venetian accommodations for you and your kids.
2: Before you travel to Venice, get detailed walking directions to the hotel from the Rialto bridge. It's tricky. And even though the hotel has its own landing area for taxis, our driver wouldn't take us the whole way. Have a map and directions.
And 3: Stock your kitchen when you get there. The front desk will happily direct you to a very close grocery store.

I really have nothing negative to say about Residence Corte Grimani. It was blissful, restful, comfortable and ideal.

Room Tip: We were in 501, with windows on three sides. It was amazing. It's on the top floor, so the ceili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This is not a hotel. The Corte Grimani provides rooms/apartments. The one we had included a small kitchen (which we did not use). As we were travelling with our daughter the apartment had a sofa bed in the kitchen.
On reflection I think we should have used the kitchen as we found it impossible to find anywhere on Venice to get a pleasant breakfast. We were thoroughly fed up with heated sandwiches and why do they always want to fill croissants with sweet goo?
Back the the hotel. It is generally quiet although we were in 202 and there seemed to be quite a bit of noise from above. There was also another more pleasant noise; the hotel is very close to a small canal (what a surprise in Venice). In the evening a few of the gondoliers sing whilst they are working - excellent!
Final point, the hotel is only about 150 metres from San Marco and it therefore very convenient.
Oh and one other point, the gentleman on reception is a true sweety!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Hotel central, rooms spacious and clean - air conditioning was an absolute blessing. Staff very helpful at all times and gave good pointers. We were on the 5th floor with a stunning view over the canal and singing gondoliers. Would recommended to any family - we were a family of 6 and loved the fact that we were able to prepare our own meals from time to time with fresh produce from the nearby market. Elsette

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We are a family of five and we only stayed here one night but the accommodation was spotless, very tastefully decorated with plenty space for the five of us. The staff were extremely helpful and very nice indeed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

A great spacious apartment in the heart of Venice. After one day, you'll have mastered the canals and bridges and find it easy to navigate anywhere and this central location means that you are only 10-20 mins from anywhere. We also took a water taxi from the train station and to the airport as the door-to-door service is worth the extra cost ( but with 4 of us- the airport cost was not much higher than the boat from the Rialto which would have been a difficult walk with all the luggage!) The staff is very helpful- even drawing a route to the restaurants they recommended on our map to make navigation easier The rooms are large and clean and airconditioned which is essntial in summer in Venice. The singing gondoliers ensure you know you are in Venice! Ciao Venezia!!! A great place to stay and couldn't recommended it more highly!

Room Tip: Just down the way is Rosa Salva which is great for coffee and breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazwinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teenagers) spent two nights in Residence Corte Grimani, We had a very nice Classic with View apartment (503). The apartment was well-maintained, and there was plenty of room to spread out, and the cot in the small extra room provided additional sleeping space. The hotel is in the heart of the city, but just off the busy area, so we enjoyed a bit more privacy and quiet. The rates were high, but very competitive for the area, so no real complaints there. We did not use the kitchen, so we avoided that charge, but it's nice to have in case you need it. Donatella was very pleasant and accommodating, as were the other people we met (sorry, forgot their names). Breakfast is not included, but we didn't have to walk far to find a place for a quick bite. Overall, Residence Corte Grimani provides excellent, spacious accommodations in the heart this amazing city. I highly recommend staying here. By the way, we took a water taxi directly from the Venice airport to the hotel's front door. It was expensive (120 Euros), but what an amazing way to start a vacation in Venice!

Room Tip: I think its worth upgrading to the Classic with View. The Classic Standard rooms are fine, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joetravelerct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#10 of 385 in Venice
742 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,638 reviews
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#19 of 385 in Venice
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#21 of 385 in Venice
816 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#27 of 385 in Venice
849 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Corte Grimani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Corte Grimani

Property: Residence Corte Grimani
Address: Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Venice
#28 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Corte Grimani 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Corte Grimani is situated few steps to San Mark Square housed within an old 17th-century Venetian palace which has been completely restored. It's made up of 15 elegant apartments, and they are available in three different decors complete with all amenities. Shared spaces and services are those of a very refined apart hotel where guests can take advantage of the reception 24h/24h. The residence offers the very best of services such as daily housekeeping of the apartment, and a family atmosphere where the very attentive and professional staff welcome guests in a friendly and efficient manner, always providing information and suggestions to make the best of a stay in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Corte Grimani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Corte Grimani Venice
Residence Corte Grimani Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing