We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Corte Grimani
Ranked #22 of 388 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Location, location! Very clean, big rooms with kitchenette plus W/D. Wonderful staff, and you simply can't beat being so close to St Marks Square, Rialto bridge and right on the water. You need simply step outside to watch the gondolas go by! You will Love it!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mtetschner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

We're a family of three who booked here post-cruise. We didn't feel wronged by good reviews and photos. The staff at the desk are warm, friendly, and very helpful. Room is clean and super spacious. Location is definitely a plus since it's situated between Rialto and San Marco. We had a tough time locating the hotel though. Here's a TIP: ask/look for Gergio Armani store (your landmark). Left side of store is a walkway towards its main door. I booked straight from their website and it was a considerable amount of a difference from Priceline- the only website who had it available at that time. Location, comfort, and cleanliness are always my top three.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paycationist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed at the Corte Grimani for 3 nights and couldn't have been happier. Others have said it is hard to find, but if you do your homework (thanks Google Earth), it's easy to find coming from either the Rialto Bridge or Saint Marks Square. If you have the bucks, a water taxi can indeed pull right up to the hotel.

We were blown away by the size of the rooms here as we had a triple. These are apartments and our triple had a very large king size bed leading into a hall with a small unused room, and bathroom with a full bath and bidet! This was separated by 2 doors into the living room where my youngest had a queen size sleeper sofa. Other amenities include fridge, full kitchen, washer/dryer combo and a small flatscreen TV.

The staff was very friendly and all speak very good English. They saw it was my son's 10th B-day the 2nd day, and upon our return we were greeted with nice hand written card, a cola and chips for him and a small bottle of champagne for us.

We didn't use the kitchen (50 Euro) but as this was mid-trip, the washer dryer was a god send and is a flat rate of 15 Euro for he length of the stay.

The spaces were very clean and tastefully appointed. They have a small elevator and down stairs have a small library of multi-lingual travel books you can 'check out' on the honor system for your use. This hotel is a gem and the size of the rooms can't be touched in Venice for the value. We'll definitely be back to the Corte Grimani

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My wife and I with our three college-age daughters really enjoyed our stay at the Corte Grimani last week. The apartment is nicely remodeled and spacious, and the location is very central. The staff, Guido, Maurizio, and my daughter's favorite, Anna, were charming and helpful.

Some reviewers have complained about the charge for additional guests. For us having the family together in an apartment rather than in two rooms at a conventional hotel was worth it. The hotel was very quiet and peaceful. We did not have a view but this was not a consideration for us since we were out touring Venice until late - we were looking for comfort and a great location. AC and internet were both fine.

Marchini time a block away is a great bakery!

We did not use the kitchen to cook. It was nice to have the kitchen table, plates, etc to eat the pastries we brought back from Marchini time - there was no charge for this.

Hint: if you arrive by train, it may be worth paying the Euro 75 to take a water taxi. We took the vaporetto (water bus) to Rialto and then got lost in the maze of Venetian streets wheeling our luggage around...our phones were of little help - the buildings and narrow streets probably mess up Google Maps navigation...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arif S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I just returned from a four-day trip to Venice, where I stayed at the Residence Corte Grimani. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel and found that it fit my needs and those of the other guests in my party. If I were to return to Venice tomorrow or in two years, I would return to the Corte Grimani!

Rooms: We were a party of 3 adults and we rented a "classic standard room." Although the room description did not purport to have canal views, we could still see and hear the action on the canal when we opened the windows and peered out. The "classic standard" came well equipped with a large king bed in a very spacious bedroom, a queen-sized pull-out sofa in the living room, a dining table for four, and a kitchen with a fridge, microwave, stove and other appliances. The bathroom is large and comes with a standing shower/tub. The rooms are not fancy, but not basic either -- they have lovely, antique furniture in the bedroom, for example. We found the apartment to be very clean, both on the day of our arrival and then every evening that we returned to the room. The room has free wireless internet as well, which was spotty in the beginning but worked fine once I addressed the problem with the front desk.

Kitchen: It is an extra charge to use the stove and other electric appliances, but use of the microwave and fridge is free. Having a fridge, a sink and basic utensils was very convenient, particularly in the morning. Had we been staying for longer, we probably would have spent the extra 50 euro for access to the rest of the kitchen. There is a grocery store ("Simply") not too far from the hotel and many little stores selling pasta and wine nearby. One tip: bring a small sharp knife for chopping/slicing parmesan cheese because the one they provide is dull!

Front Desk: The staff was very helpful and friendly. They were always around to answer a question about the area, help you find a restaurant or make a reservation. They also called a taxi for us for our return trip to the airport.

Location: The location of the hotel is just steps from St. Marks, the Rialto Bridge and the Fenice Theatre. You couldn't ask for a better location. It was not hard to find either, and was not a far walk from the valperetto at Rialto (5-8 minute walk with no bridges if you take the "1" to Rialto; slightly longer walk with 1 bridge if you take the "2" to Rialto). We arrived via the train station (St. Lucia) and opted to take valperetto to the hotel and not a water taxi, even though we had six pieces of luggage between the three of us. I would recommend this over hiring a water taxi because the hotel is really not far from the valperetto stop and you won't be crossing over a bunch of bridges to get there. The hotel will provide you with directions from the valperetto stop, just follow those carefully. If you're coming from Rialto, the only tricky part will be at the very end: when you reach the one and only bridge described on the directions (you should be walking on Calle Goldini and will have a hotel on your left and a bank on your right), don't go over the bridge. Instead, take the first four steps and then walk to the right along the narrow sidewalk that winds behind the bank. This sidewalk takes you directly to Corte Grimani. There is no sign directing you to the hotel, and it does not have a large sign outside of the door, but it is really not difficult to find if you follow the directions.

Overall, we had a really nice stay. If you need to be pampered and fussed over, this is not the place for you. However, if you need spacious rooms for a large party, want to be right in the middle of the action and like being able to prepare breakfast for yourself in the morning, the Corte Grimani is a perfect choice. I would highly recommend it to both my friends and family.

One extra tip: seek out restaurants in the surrounding sestieri, as there are not many places around the hotel that offer more than your standard tourist fare. We had great meals in San Polo, Dorsoduro, Cannereggio and Castello.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheils628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Buyer beware: noticed a $130 charge per night "extra guest" charge while booking for two children. Really ? When I am already paying more for a "standard apartment". Trying to be fair here, but why charge me for a higher occupancy room, and then charge me for the "extra guests" and for younger kids at that. Add up the kitchenette charge, and this is not worth it, imo.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grimani, Manager at Residence Corte Grimani, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Sir,
We were uncertain if we had to reply or not this complain, but at the end we decide to write you and our reply can help other guest who have decide maybe to book our residence. It is very clear in every website our personal or travel websites about the number of people can be in each apartments and the relative price, obviesly you have to enter the right amout of the adults and the right amount of the children with the age and it come out the right price to pay and you will not have any surprise at the arrival!!! We are sorry for your complain because it is not correct, as you made the mistake...
Donatella e Guido

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Good points were the room size,central location airconditioning, free internet access(even a free computer in the lobby) and a 24hour desk staffed by very friendly & helpful staff.The bad points often mentioned were the charge for the kitchen & washing machine which is just silly & the poor night's sleep we had every evening.We stayed on the top floor overlooking the rooftops which has fantastic views but although the back bedroom was quiet, for those sleeping in the lounge on the sofabed they won't get a good night's sleep.Firstly the airconditioner was very noisy (think of a washing machine) being from Hong Kong I am used to aircon but this was noisy, secondly the headboard of the sofabed is right next to the door and this hotel attracts a lot of families with young children. It was what you would expect at a theme park hotel with children knocking on your door at 11pm after returning with their families & shouting outside your door at 8am, plus the cleaning staff vaccumning the corridors or chatting outside the room around 9am: I think the cleaning store room was next to our door too. On our departure the hotel mentioned they would have tried to address these points if we had complained but we were too tired. Tip the route to Rialto has less bridges than St Marco if you are walking with luggage and the hotel is off a side road half way down a brigde besides a bank next to Georgio Armani. Even the Hotels 5 metres away didn't know where it was.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familyman888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 388 in Venice
864 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#7 of 388 in Venice
3,954 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#24 of 388 in Venice
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#10 of 388 in Venice
842 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 388 in Venice
2,018 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#12 of 388 in Venice
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Corte Grimani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Corte Grimani

Address: Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
#28 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £108 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Corte Grimani 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Corte Grimani is situated few steps to San Mark Square housed within an old 17th-century Venetian palace which has been completely restored. It's made up of 15 elegant apartments, and they are available in three different decors complete with all amenities. Shared spaces and services are those of a very refined apart hotel where guests can take advantage of the reception 24h/24h. The residence offers the very best of services such as daily housekeeping of the apartment, and a family atmosphere where the very attentive and professional staff welcome guests in a friendly and efficient manner, always providing information and suggestions to make the best of a stay in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Corte Grimani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Corte Grimani Venice
Residence Corte Grimani Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing