We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Venice. <5 mins from St Marks!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Corte Grimani
Ranked #25 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We booked this nice, well-located apartment accommodation for 3 nights. One of the big wins with this place is it's location near St Mark's, which is less than 5 mins away. Despite being in busy San Marco, it is quiet and off to the side from busy streets. One suggestion would be to map it out before you lug around your luggage - we accidentally had to cross the Rialto twice. Note that it is on the same side as the ferry stops. You can access it off of a main street before a small ponte. About a 10 min walk from Rialto. The concierge are very friendly, contrary to the odd comment here that I previously read. We opted out of using the kitchen and washing facilities - we were on holiday of course! The room was very clean. TV in the sitting area, very new bathroom amenities, great shower pressure with constant hot water, very good mattresses. Electronically programmed safe for valuables. Great recommendations from concierge for food and coffee. E R Salva was our favourite morning cafe and pastry place - we went there almost twice a day! Things to mention: for the perfect gondola tour, walk across the Rialto and get into San Pollo. Hail a gondolier who looks relaxed. We had a very friendly one who was waiting in one of the campos we were walking through. Too many tourists try to hail a gondola in San Marco. Another good activity was too walk around St Mark's at 9-11pm. Contrary to the comment that Venice too touristy with bad food, as long as you stick to the recommendations, quality and taste were quite good. Good place to stay and happy to recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
There are newer reviews for Residence Corte Grimani
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Corte Grimani has it all: great location, spacious accommodations, and friendly staff! It is about a 5 minute walk to both San Marco Piazza and the Rialto Bridge, and the hotel is near many nice restaurants and shops. You get a lot of room space (as they are more like small apartments) for the rate. Nice size bathrooms, especially for Europe! All of the staff was friendly, and our room was very clean. The front desk staff gave us great suggestions for where to eat and how to get to places. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colo_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We were travelling with 2 other couples when we stayed at Corte Grimani earlier this month. Two couples stayed in 201 which is really two rooms but each has its own private bathroom. As each room has its own separate door privacy was never an issue. We did spend a lot of time in the room with the small balcony & window which looked down on the canal and seemingly continuous flow of gondolas in the canal below. The couple that had the sofa bed said it was very comfortable so this "downside" should not deter anyone.

We arrived by train from Rome and took a water taxi to the hotel. It is expensive but literally drops you off at the front door of the Grimani. When we spread the cost over the three couples it was not too bad. We saw lots of folks pulling their suitcases to and from the vaparetto stops but be aware there are a lot of bridges (no ramps, just steps) to negotiate.

We found the staff to be extremely courteous, friendly and helpful. Venice is a "walking place" and the Grimani is located perfectly for the popular sites and attractions.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with the balcony/window to oversee the canal & bridge.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrizoSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We've just left Residence Corte Grimani after a three night stay as a family of five and couldn't rate this accomodation more highly. The room itself was sufficiently spacious for our family (unusual in Europe), spotlessly clean and well equipped. Most importantly, the location could not be better - listening to passing gondoliers serenading fom our window - and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 228JulieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Location, Service, Comfort, Value. This is a great find - spotlessly clean and comfortable and a wonderful, friendly and helpful staff and so much space for the money. Why pay for a "name" hotel and pay lots of money for a small room and amenities you aren't going to use? The units which have sleep sofas are obviously designed for families but for two it's a grand suite of rooms perfect for relaxing after days of walking in a very densely crowded city. We were in unit 401 - a superior apartment. Loads of space, quiet area at night, very comfortable furnishings, great views of busy intersecting canals during the day, and easy to walk everywhere. Our friends stayed in unit 503 - a standard unit with a view of rooftops which was also spacious and comfortable. Neither of us used the full kitchen facilities but the mini-fridge was a nice amenity. Both units were light and bright. Very easy to find location, a few minutes from either the Rialto or San Marco stops and centrally located so that you can wander off in any direction to easily reach the main sights of Venice. Guido and Donatella could not have been more helpful and pleasant. Front desk and concierge services all in one. (they even led friends of our staying elsewhere to their hotel!) We really felt that the staff was glad we were there and they welcomed our feedback on their very helpful recommendations and advice. Highly recommend Corte Grimani. Many thanks again to the excellent staff for a great stay in Venice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCRBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights recently and found it to be perfect. We arrived by train from Rome to Venezia SL station and because we knew no different, we caught a water taxi (€70)! We later realised this was unnecessary. Instead, we recommend you take the ferry to the Rialto stop on line 2 and walk to the hotel from there (10 mins and we did it when we left with 2 large suitcases). This will only set you back around €7 per person. The hotel is clean and the staff are so friendly, nothing is a problem. There is a computer at reception you can use if you need to print anything. We were upgraded to the large apartment with the canal view (3rd floor) which made the experience even more special. Two bathrooms, a massive bedroom and kitchen/lounge/dining area. The location is so central it takes 1 minute to walk to st marks square, 10 mins to Rialto Bridge. We couldn't fault this hotel and strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sez83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My husband, myself, and our 15 yr old son stayed at the Hotel Corte Grimani mid June after going to Rome and Florence. There are no words to describe this wonderful hotel, in one of
the most amazing places in the world. Our room was a classic standard on the 5th floor. It was
so large I told the family not to unpack because I thought they had made a mistake. We were delighted. Compared to our hotels in Rome and Florence this was a true triple with a large bedroom and a separate area for my son with a comfortable pull out sofa. There was a partial view of the canals where we could see the gondolas. We were blown away. The staff was very kind while the most helpful people were Donatella and Anna. Thank you all.
We made it very clear we were not going to use the kitchen, and we were not charged. They painstakingly gave us directions to wherever we wanted to go, and gave us very helpful advise. We bought a 3 day Vela vaporetto pass which saves money and is a good value in an expensive area. Because of the ideal location we could walk to most of the sites, but you also get a different perspective from the water.
For breakfast we found an excellent Supermarcato instead of going to the bakery. We found fresh Italian baguettes, cheeses, etc.

Finding this hotel is not hard if you follow the directions from the hotel website exactly. If you're
not sure ask someone politely. The Italian people are very kind and gracious, and we found them
happy to help. Just don't be a loud ugly American that we tend to have a reputation for. The hotel
is right by the Armani store- just don't cross the bridge. We could not follow the maps because not all the streets (calles) have names. Look for landmarks such as a store or a church.
We found Venice to be one of the most romantic, charming cities in the world. Don't be afraid to get lost. It's half the fun to explore the picturesque and mysterious alleyways and canals. By the way, the canals did not smell when we were there in June.

As others have said, this hotel is perfectly located close to St. Mark's Square (Piazza St. Marco) and the Rialto bridge. The gondolas were close by and we loved to watch them drift by. The area was quiet and idyllic. So much to do and see. We went to Dorsoduro, to the Peggy Guggenheim Museum, to the Jewish ghetto, and so much more.

We took pictures with our I-phone, and videos with sound. My husband continues to sing a song that we heard from our hotel room that one of the singers on the gondolas sang, Ciao Venezia. There are plenty of ATM machines within walking distance. Five minutes from the hotel there is a beautiful concert hall. Five minutes in the other direction there was a cute little theatre that explained the history of Venice in English. Close by was a Gelato Fantasy shop which my son said was the best gelati in Italy. He had the Kit Kat gelato.
Finally, our last night in lovely Venice we took a gondola ride in the early evening. Expensive, but we figured when are we ever going to go this again. Our gondolier spoke English and explained all the sights to us. It was magical and well worth the cost. Even our son said this was the best part of our trip.
We had to be at the airport at 6am. so after conferring with Donatella about the different options we took the water taxi. Expensive, but stress free, and fun. This was the trip of a lifetime.
If we had the privilege to go to Venice again, we would certainly choose Hotel Corte Grimani. Ciao

Room Tip: The fifth floor is quieter
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sherri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 384 in Venice
835 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#9 of 384 in Venice
793 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 384 in Venice
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
3,739 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#23 of 384 in Venice
1,400 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 384 in Venice
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Corte Grimani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Corte Grimani

Address: Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Venice
#28 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £126 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Corte Grimani 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Corte Grimani is situated few steps to San Mark Square housed within an old 17th-century Venetian palace which has been completely restored. It's made up of 15 elegant apartments, and they are available in three different decors complete with all amenities. Shared spaces and services are those of a very refined apart hotel where guests can take advantage of the reception 24h/24h. The residence offers the very best of services such as daily housekeeping of the apartment, and a family atmosphere where the very attentive and professional staff welcome guests in a friendly and efficient manner, always providing information and suggestions to make the best of a stay in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Corte Grimani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Corte Grimani Venice
Residence Corte Grimani Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing