We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marketing hype, a hotel not an apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Corte Grimani
Ranked #22 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marketing hype, a hotel not an apartment”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

An overpriced hotel, without curtains. Sold to us as an apartment.

We decided to stay at Corte Grimani due to being in the middle of our holiday, so we could take 3 days to recharge with a kitchen and a washing machine.
The kitchen, is a kitchenette without a spoon, knife or fork in sight. There is coffee and tea making, a fridge and a microwave.
There is no washing machine to be found or an iron/ironing board.

To top it off there are no curtains or blinds, only sheer curtains. This makes it tricky to get the kids to bed, and then they are up again at day break.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowgal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grimani, Manager at Residence Corte Grimani, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear sir,
We respond this complain because helpful for other guests. Each apartment has a kitchen and a washer/dryer, if guest asks (always someone at the reception 24 hours) we provide iron and board. For the dark in the night there are green shutters outside of every windows.
In the apartments free of charge there are plates, glasses cups little spoons, forchette and knifes and a small electric kettle and the microwave and refrigerator. There is instant coofee and the bags. If necessary to have the use of more crokery, pots and electric stove and dishwasher there is the a charge for the final cleaning. The fee for the kitchen and washer are well clear on our website and on Booking.com and Expedia.com. Even on Tripadvisor reviews there is the information on the kitchen fee.
We are sorry for your bad experience, but we always try to help guest and give all the information they need...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    126
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
468
270
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We booked the largest suite in the hotel for our family of four. The staff was amazingly helpful and friendly. The suite was clean, comfortable and HUGE. The hotel is located on a quiet canal very close to St. Mark's. Our room was on the top floor with corner views that peered down to the gondolas passing by. We could hear gondaliers singing, but the hotel is far enough away from the masses of tourists so it is otherwise very quiet. We were thrilled with the Corte Grimani and will come again.

Room Tip: Hotel next door has a nice restaurant for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
660 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

First of all, take a water taxi right to the front door of the Corte Grimardi. That is great.

What is great about that is without someone identifying the entrance to the building, your chance of finding it on your own is very, very small. Non-descript entrance would be too much credit. That is only good.

The location is amazing. Two blocks from San Marco and five minutes from Rialto (if you don't get lost first). The location is better than great.

The staff is great - helpful in absolutely every way.

The rooms are very spacious - that is great.

While the rooms are tidy, they are not appointed very nicely - quite Spartan. That is merely good.

In summary, this place is fantastic for the location and staff, with large runs that are not quite luxurious, but surely better than adequate. You can't go wrong with Corte Grimani.

REMINDER - DO NOT lose your map of Venice. You're not enjoying the city if you don't get completely lost three or four times a day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

With Corte Grimani you can not miss¡ This wonderful gem does not pretend to be anything more than what it really is: a reasonable priced (for Venice), very well located (between San Marco and the Rialto), with large and comfortable rooms and bathrooms. We had a small suite, with a rather defficient and old fashioned 'kitchenette'. At Corte Grimani you do not have any place to eat, but less than two blocs away you find dozens of alternatives. We definitely recommed it, specially when travelling with children. Water access is a big plus¡

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocolo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our family of four stayed three nights here and it was great. The location was fantastic and the apartment was spacious and clean. The water taxi was able to bring us directly to the hotel so no need to haul luggage. There was a washing machine in room to use for an extra charge and there was also food in cabinets you could purchase as well. Two minute walk to Piazza San Marco.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachaelBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Everything is perfect. Great staff, great location, good size rooms. If you are lucky enough to get a room. I did a layover on way to India and should have made for a few more days or weeks or months. Wonderful.

Room Tip: Just put it on your preferred to book list
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsShipra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modiin, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I spent 4 night at this great hotel.
We arrived around 8pm and the water taxi from the airport drops you right at the hotel front door. You can save and take the Alilaguna bus for 15 Euro PP and then you have a 5-10 min walk to the hotel. We spent the 110 Euro for the private water taxi.
The rooms are very big and the beds are very comfortable.
The sower is big and with great water and shower head.
WIFI only worked in our "living room" area but that was fine.
The staff has great recommendations on restaurants (from simple/cheap to high-end and fancy)
You will be 5 min walk from the main attractions and less than 10 min walk to the nearest public water taxi service station.
We had breakfast on the terrace of the hotel across the street for 10 Euro for a nice buffet (egg's, meat, pastry, fruit, cheese, juice, coffee ...)
There is also a central Gondola station 2 min walk from the hotel

Room Tip: We took a standard room (no canal view) and it was great since you see so much water all the time th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#10 of 386 in Venice
746 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#21 of 386 in Venice
817 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 386 in Venice
3,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#20 of 386 in Venice
972 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#25 of 386 in Venice
1,365 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#32 of 386 in Venice
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Corte Grimani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Corte Grimani

Property: Residence Corte Grimani
Address: Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Venice
#28 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Corte Grimani 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Corte Grimani is situated few steps to San Mark Square housed within an old 17th-century Venetian palace which has been completely restored. It's made up of 15 elegant apartments, and they are available in three different decors complete with all amenities. Shared spaces and services are those of a very refined apart hotel where guests can take advantage of the reception 24h/24h. The residence offers the very best of services such as daily housekeeping of the apartment, and a family atmosphere where the very attentive and professional staff welcome guests in a friendly and efficient manner, always providing information and suggestions to make the best of a stay in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Corte Grimani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Corte Grimani Venice
Residence Corte Grimani Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing