We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location and peaceful, a hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Corte Grimani
Ranked #17 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great location and peaceful, a hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2006

just come back from a weekend staying here with my wife for anniversary. we booked a superior apartment at £125 a night. v clean and comfortable. the space in these apartments is huge - one large bedroom with ensuite plus one lounge with adjoining kitchen and extra bathroom. Prob too much space for a couple but the view of one of the bridges over the canal from the lounge is beautiful. leaving the window open to watch gondolas drift by was special.

the staff were friendly and unfussy - they allowed us to use the hotel facilities (leave bags, internet, etc) after we had checked out in the morning. they do however lack food/snacks for those who arrive late like we did. Talking of which - finding the hotel is a nightmare if you arrive late at night. It is so hard to locate first time around (many locals do not know it) but that is part of its charm - it is hidden away - but a bigger sign or plaque on the hotel front would have helped. we actually went past it a couple of times before eventually finding it around midnight.

one more thing: the only TV channel in english is CNN and there is MTV. not a big issue but would have liked more choice for those moments of kicking back and relaxing in between the hard work of walking, eating and sleeping...

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — something very minor - one english TV channel
  • Tips/Secrets — make sure you get clear directions and use other buildings as a guide, street names are not always visible
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank winston_chops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    124
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
457
265
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2006

Just come back from a weekend here and it was just fantastic. The staff were great (from the welcoming email before we left the UK to deliving a bottle of wine to our apartment!|), everything was spotless and the location really could not be bettered. We sat at breakfast (lovely if you like continental), watching gondalas go past the window before a five minute stroll to St Marks Square (and not much longer to Rialto in the other direction) I became slightly worried the cost quoted was per night as I could not believe it compared to the hotel prices I had seen on the net! One tip - it was cheaper to book on their website than on hotel sites! I cannot recommend it highly enough. Get over there!

  • Liked — Clean and spacious
  • Disliked — Bath a little bit small for tall people!
  • Tips/Secrets — Enjoy!
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Blake129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2006

These are suites, not just rooms. Clean, elegant, quiet. Great bathroom, including washing machine, bidet, and view of canals. Breakfasts were very nice.

The staff, Franca, Guido, Donatella, were great. They made me feel that they were only too happy to be of assistance.

Location is excellent - very central, easy to walk everywhere.

I planned to stay 3 nights, ended up staying 5.

I am grateful to TripAdvisor and to previous guests who wrote their reviews, because this is how I found the hotel.

  • Liked — Large suites, location and helpful staff
  • Disliked — nothing negative
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank PeterKelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2006

We stayed at the Corte Grimani for three nights mid October. Walked from St. Mark's Square (after getting off the Alilaguna) - took us about 15 minutes. We could not find the hotel, and stopped in at another hotel for directions, the one directly across from Giorgio Armani. (We missed the sharp left immediately after crossing the bridge).

It is in a quiet little nook, but still centrally located and easy to walk to all the key landmarks. Probably 10 - 15 mins walk to St. Marks. It was really easy to get around.

We stepped into our hotel and received a warm reception. The hotel has an elevator, free internet in the lobby and a tv in the lobby.

We were in a Classic Apartment configuration -- for two people, it was more than enough room. We also had a small side room, which we did not use at all.

The bathrooms were nice sized with aand the water pressure was good. My only complain there is that the toiletries provided were very basic.

The bed, linens, and pillows were comfortable. The drapes don't close all the way - so it might be difficult to sleep if you need the room to be completely dark (also might be tough to sleep in). One thing we did was we used the hangers (the ones with the clips that were in the room to close them together.

The room we were in was quiet and there were no disturbances at night.

There is also a mini kitchen with a washer/dryer (not a washer and a dryer just a machine that has both in there). We did not use it but could be very convenient if you wanted to buy food and cook. We got great recommendations from the hotel on places to eat and they were always spot on.

Highly recommend the hotel!

  • Liked — The room, the location, the people at the hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing truly
  • Tips/Secrets — Save money and take the alilaguna or vaporetto.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank TravelerLXG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2006

Loved this place! I chose it because of other reviews on TripAdvisor, and they were all right! I didn't get the breakfast daily, because it seemed a little high priced, but its location can't be beat. It is definitely worth the extra money to get a room facing the canal, because the view is priceless. Rooms are huge, and amenities are ok ( no shampoo, bring your own). Clean and good room servicing. People at front desk helpful and speak good English. No internet in rooms, tho.

  • Liked — Everything, except no internet in room ( spouse needs for constant access to business)
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — book room with view of canal
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank KWerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,490 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#23 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#15 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Corte Grimani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Corte Grimani

Property: Residence Corte Grimani
Address: Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Venice
#28 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Corte Grimani 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Corte Grimani is situated few steps to San Mark Square housed within an old 17th-century Venetian palace which has been completely restored. It's made up of 15 elegant apartments, and they are available in three different decors complete with all amenities. Shared spaces and services are those of a very refined apart hotel where guests can take advantage of the reception 24h/24h. The residence offers the very best of services such as daily housekeeping of the apartment, and a family atmosphere where the very attentive and professional staff welcome guests in a friendly and efficient manner, always providing information and suggestions to make the best of a stay in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Corte Grimani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Corte Grimani Venice
Residence Corte Grimani Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing