We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is no finer place to stay in Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Corte Grimani
Ranked #18 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“There is no finer place to stay in Venice”
Reviewed 21 February 2007

Great location, great service, best location for visiting Venice....
I am extremely late in getting this posted, sorry Donatella, franca and Guido!
First, we had an excellent experience with all of our communications with the hotel managers, Donatella and Franca. Upon our arrival, our check in was warm and detailed and a complimentary gift awaited in our apartment. This is definitely the place for you if you like excellent, non-intrusive service.
Our maid service was very meticulous...service of the likes that we did not receive in other stays at "five star" hotels. We can not recommend this property enough...

I am grateful to TripAdvisor and to previous guests who wrote their reviews, because this is how I found the hotel.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Italyl0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    743
    125
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
460
268
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2007

The three of us booked a classic apartment. There is a bedroom, a bathroom, and a kitchen/dining/living room area with a sofa bed. Everything was very spacious, and for E180 in November, it was the best value hotel of our stay in Italy. The streets outside are very quiet at night, except for the occasional singing of the gondoliere. There is no Internet access in the rooms, but at least they have a common station in the lobby that you can use for no extra charge.

The kitchen is not available for use unless you pay an extra fee (I forget the exact amount, somewhere between E30-40), which was the only unpleasant surprise for us (I didn't see the fee on the website). We were able to use the fridge to stash our drinks, though.

The bathroom is decently spacious. I enjoyed the heated towel rack (we Japanese like our bathrooms to have as many gadgets as possible ) and my non American hubby enjoyed the bidet. There was also a laundry machine in the bathroom, which we didn't use.

The location is excellent in terms of being near San Marco. The drawback to being in this area, though, is that it seems all the restaurants in this touristy area are...how can I put this delicately...crap. The further away you go from the San Marco neighborhood, the better the restaurants (at least cross the Grand Canal).

The staff are excellent. They are very friendly and helpful. Surprisingly, the hotel also had the best currency exchange rate in the area. We tried going to a couple banks nearby, but they did not exchange currency, and every other currency exchange place had a higher rate.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank traveler076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2007

After a five-day stay at the Corte Grimani, I have only positive things to say about this wonderful apartment hotel:

- The apartment (we booked the standard one) was spacious, elegantly furnished and very clean. We were especially impressed by the bathroom, which was beautifully appointed and even included a bidet and laundry machine.

- Use of a kitchen. For an additional EUR 35, a cupboard filled with basic kitchen utensils is unlocked. Sufficient for preparing simple meals. As eating out in Venice is rather expensive (and the food is not always that great - for Italian standards), we got a lot of use out of the kitchen.

- Location, some 200 m from Piazza San Marco and close to all the other main sights in Venice. The hotel is amazingly quiet considering the very central location.

- Great value. We only paid EUR 90 per night and booked through the hotel website. Even though January is low season in Venice, we still felt it represented a very good deal when compared to similar Venetian residences and hotels.

Some tips:

- We found the hotel without difficulty by using the instructions on the hotel's website. Still it would be a good idea to arrive in daylight. From Piazza Roma we took the vaporetti #1 and #82 in the direction of Rialto/Lido/Valaresso. Then we disembarked at Rialto and followed the hotel's instructions.

- Buy a 72 hours vaporetto/bus ticket for EUR 25. It's definitely worth it when you want to visit Murano, Burano, Torcello or Lido.

- For those considering self catering, we can recommend the Billa Supermarket located at the end of the Zattere across the San Basilio vaporetto stop (Dorsoduro). Great choice of hams, cheeses, antipasti vegetables, bread, olives, wine, etc. as well as the usual groceries.

  • Liked — Location and apartment
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Susan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2007

Having read the TA reviews, we decided to go for it. Great plan!

We've stayed in various hotels and apartments (privately rented)in Venice and have never quite managed to get everything right. This place absolutely did.

We had room to put our kids to bed and stay up with a bottle of Nebbiolo if we liked - or order the room service hot chocolate and pastas one night! - and space enough to eat in the diner area, while having the civilisation of a check in desk and gettgin your beds made every day. This place ticks all of our boxes and we would definitely recommend it and indeed go back.

It doesn't have a breakfast set-up as such (you can take it in your room via room service, but it's easier to look after yourselves really). And I would avoid a courtesy Murano trip - our son was really keen to see glass being blown so we asked about the trip. All was great until it came to the hard sell. Luckily we had nerves of steel from somewhere and didn't come away wiht an unwanted glass objet, but it was very uncomfortable. We were a little naive here, and ought to have anticipated a 'sell' but we just didn't look beyond the picture. I think a lot of hotels offer this service, so be warned!!!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank PedantiqueWretch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2007

This was a fantastic getaway during the offseason. It was near Christmas, so there were plenty of decorations; however, it the number of tourists was reduced by 90%, so there was time to enjoy the sights without the normal crush and waiting.

The hotel was attentive to all our needs and was centrally located near San Marco and on a inlet to the Grand Canal. The breakfast was adequate, if not effusive, but it was quiet, clean and friendly. We actually prefer these B&B type accomodations to the hustle and bustle of the typical hotels. The staff devoted plenty of time to each of our questions for directions and background.

  • Liked — Location and price/value ratio for the area.
  • Disliked — Room with a view is actually pretty limited view for 10e extra.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FarFromTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2007

This apartment hotel was great. We were travelling with young children and also parents and uncles and aunts. Everyone had their own room or apartment. Our family apartment had a lounge and full kitchen as well as huge bedroom. It was great as the children could amuse themselves and have snacks etc. It was exceptionally clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and we would definitely stay again. Only breakfast is served in the hotel in a very small dining area. We had a lovely view of the canal from our window and lots of gondolas passed by. It is very well located and near to everything. It is a samll hotel - only about 12 rooms so there are not lots of extra facilities. Very good value for money in Venice!

  • Liked — Big rooms, clean and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Small breakfast area
  • Tips/Secrets — Not all the water taxi drivers know where it is but they find it eventually. Great location
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMM1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2007

The residence is located near San Marco, very convenient. The staff is friendly, the rooms have kitchens (but a 30 Euro fee applies if you use them). Breakfast was simple and inexpensive (10 Euro per person, not included in lodging price) . The TV has only one channel in English (the ever repetitive CNN World).

The hotel advertises Internet service, but does not have connectivity in the rooms. A single work station downstairs is limited to 15 minutes of use at a time. To me this is a deal breaker. If you say "Internet" on your website, you better have it.

  • Liked — Location and friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — No Internet - though advertised
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Reuel_Tidhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,535 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#26 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#16 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Corte Grimani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Corte Grimani

Property: Residence Corte Grimani
Address: Corte Grimani, San Marco 4402 | Corte Grimani, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Venice
#28 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Corte Grimani 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Corte Grimani is situated few steps to San Mark Square housed within an old 17th-century Venetian palace which has been completely restored. It's made up of 15 elegant apartments, and they are available in three different decors complete with all amenities. Shared spaces and services are those of a very refined apart hotel where guests can take advantage of the reception 24h/24h. The residence offers the very best of services such as daily housekeeping of the apartment, and a family atmosphere where the very attentive and professional staff welcome guests in a friendly and efficient manner, always providing information and suggestions to make the best of a stay in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Corte Grimani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Corte Grimani Venice
Residence Corte Grimani Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing